Leaking Toilet Cistern

Altivo

Tough situation to be caught in.

I used to DIY my toilet cisterns previously also, but now my place, the stupid developer chose some fanciful proprietary designs for the WCs that the internal flush system is outside cannot find one, and if want to change the system, then have to remove the whole WC from the floor (and later re-mount the whole damned thing back again when done!!

First time my MBR one leaked, i tried DIY, could not... called my bro-in-law who's a civil engr and working in main con, and he tried also cannot...

finally had to call plumber to do...

2nd time common toilet one part of the button mechanism spoilt, tot easier, took out the mechanism go hardware shop ask... that was when told it's proprietary... LL had to trace down supplier to buy who set. Cost me $85!

Lousy design and product!

u mean it's hidden in the wall?

Nope. But the crappy design... <thinking deeply... needs a phd to describe it aptly...>

First, the sitting bowl, and the water tank, are 2-piece, not 1-piece.

But the top (tank) is connected to the bottom by screws that were accessible only from the inside of the bottom part (the bowl), meaning that once the toilet bowl is mounted on the floor, cannot access the screws to tighten/loosen - unless dismount the whole darn thing from the floor!!

Had needed to do that as that time, the thing that leaked was the big rubber stopper right between the top and bottom part, in that it is not tight anymore, and water will leak out without flushing, from the tank to the bowl... and the only way to change it, will require to reach it first... and of course it can't be accessed without removing the whole bowl from the floor lor  [sweatdrop]

At least the common toilet one, is not the same problem. It's only the button mechanism when pressed, something broke so won't flush. So only need to change this flush mechanism, and no need to reach that stupid stopper between the tank and the bowl...

dunno if the above is clear or not... si bey difficult to describe this type literally screwed-up design...

Nope. But the crappy design... <thinking deeply... needs a phd to describe it aptly...>

But the top (tank) is connected to the bottom by screws that were accessible only from the inside of the bottom part (the bowl), meaning that once the toilet bowl is mounted on the floor, cannot access the screws to tighten/loosen - unless dismount the whole darn thing from the floor!!

Had needed to do that as that time, the thing that leaked was the big rubber stopper right between the top and bottom part, in that it is not tight anymore, and water will leak out without flushing, from the tank to the bowl... and the only way to change it, will require to reach it first... and of course it can't be accessed without removing the whole bowl from the floor lor  [sweatdrop]

At least the common toilet one, is not the same problem. It's only the button mechanism when pressed, something broke so won't flush. So only need to change this flush mechanism, and no need to reach that stupid stopper between the tank and the bowl...

dunno if the above is clear or not... si bey difficult to describe this type literally screwed-up design...

oh ok. the cistern is connected to the toilet bowel and can only be removed when u unmount the whole thing.

I think adrain’s Method is likely to work

Last time when I was a m113 elect, I had to work on stuff that eyes cannot see

Can only feel and visualize

Then put the tool in

to replace the parts

Not easy takes a lot of practice

You have to see whether it is more worth the while to spend money or spend time lor :(

sure bor? Thought you are a master at finding things with your hand and fingers even in the dark and put your tool just nice for things to loosen up! Without practice somemore ...... Edited by Eviilusion

Had needed to do that as that time, the thing that leaked was the big rubber stopper right between the top and bottom part, in that it is not tight anymore, and water will leak out without flushing, from the tank to the bowl... and the only way to change it, will require to reach it first... and of course it can't be accessed without removing the whole bowl from the floor lor [sweatdrop]

the tank is like that......must take it out to unscrew many of the pars. Just remember...my tank is fixed the bowl with plastic screws that have self-gripping atachments for the nut. No need to unscrew all the way.......just enough for the self--gripping fingers to loosen up. It looks like an anchor-bolt but made out of plastic.

for toilet cisterns. toto is still the best. in terms of the flush and bowl design. one flush and it works. some waster saving designs are hopeless. you need 2 long flushes to clear. which then defeats the purpose of water saving.

Edited by Mkl22

sure bor? Thought you are a master at finding things with your hand and fingers even in the dark and put your tool just nice for things to loosen up! Without practice somemore ......ðððððð

Hahahahaha!!!!!

Tom-Araya-headbanging.gif?resize=500%2C3

so how did you resolve the issue ?

I think I am having the exact same problem as you … except I might only need to remove the water closet and not the bowl.

mine is the Baron W-203A

not going to be easy … got to find some a lot of  time to do it.

and a person of my size … going to be even tougher to move about in such small spaces.

post-2854-0-66086900-1556777900.jpg

Edited by Ysc3

so how did you resolve the issue ?

I think I am having the exact same problem as you … except I might only need to remove the water closet and not the bowl.

mine is the Baron W-203A

not going to be easy … got to find some a lot of  time to do it.

and a person of my size … going to be even tougher to move about in such small spaces.

Ouch... I feel for you, if you're really having the same problem as i had.

Initially wanted to save money and asked my CE-trained bro-in-law who's a builder/developer to come help me changed. 2 of us tried v long cannot solve it and gave up...

Then had to call a plumber to come and removed the whole WC from the ground, unscrew and disconnect the top from the bottom piece, replaced the rubber, then put back and mount the whole WC back onto the floor...

Confirmed not something that can DIY... [sweatdrop]

Ouch... I feel for you, if you're really having the same problem as i had.

Initially wanted to save money and asked my CE-trained bro-in-law who's a builder/developer to come help me changed. 2 of us tried v long cannot solve it and gave up...

Then had to call a plumber to come and removed the whole WC from the ground, unscrew and disconnect the top from the bottom piece, replaced the rubber, then put back and mount the whole WC back onto the floor...

Confirmed not something that can DIY... [sweatdrop]

Mine looks like doable.. Coz mine is a two piece unit. I just need to remove the top water closet, which looks like being held by 4 screws.

I just DIY changed a new set of flush valve recently. Not easy as the working space is very tight as it's facing the wall behind. The original toilet bowl hole is also very big and I can't find a valve with the same size. Tried several times, in the end gotten another rubber support and managed to solve the issue after many tries. Will do it again as I love to DIY things.

Oh thot this thread abt @soya

Wahahaa....u better dun fart in the toilet ah. Skali ppl comprain to polis window shake lah, sgsecure send alert lah, SAF kena blame lah. Lol

+1 for a fellow DIYer. [laugh]

I also changed mine before.

I removed the original spoilt flush valve, brought it to the hardware shop, find the model that best match the original one in terms of dimensions, bring back and then change.

This way it saves the headache of not being able to find the correct sized parts and the multiple trips.

Take a picture of the cistern interior and the hole as well. Show it to the hardware shop uncle (not those Home-fix kind), they are usually quite knowledgeable about what are the correct parts/model to replace.

I just DIY changed a new set of flush valve recently. Not easy as the working space is very tight as it's facing the wall behind. The original toilet bowl hole is also very big and I can't find a valve with the same size. Tried several times, in the end gotten another rubber support and managed to solve the issue after many tries. Will do it again as I love to DIY things.

+1 for a fellow DIYer. [laugh]

I also changed mine before.

I removed the original spoilt flush valve, brought it to the hardware shop, find the model that best match the original one in terms of dimensions, bring back and then change.

This way it saves the headache of not being able to find the correct sized parts and the multiple trips.

Take a picture of the cistern interior and the hole as well. Show it to the hardware shop uncle (not those Home-fix kind), they are usually quite knowledgeable about what are the correct parts/model to replace.

I went to a lot of places, most are standard sizes, mine WC is bigger one, can't find anywhere, that's why took some time to solve the issue

I find that for such things, best to go Kelantan Lane area, their hardware selection is mind-boggling.

I went to a lot of places, most are standard sizes, mine WC is bigger one, can't find anywhere, that's why took some time to solve the issue