Volvobrick Supersonic January 18, 2015 Share January 18, 2015 Most can be changed to aftermarket types for $20-40. Factor in labour, transport, $90 is reasonable enough. Of course if you DIY you have change for a good dinner! I finally resolved the hard-to-find one-piece type flush valve. Took months to hunt down a suitable part. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyman Neutral Newbie February 26, 2015 Share February 26, 2015 I believe all new and past hdb owner have potex toilet and flushing system installed.If your water keep on flowing from tank to toilet bowl then your dounut shape gasket below the plunger must have spoiled. I manage to found silicone type replacement for potex brand at this place and walaa it stop flowing endlessly.I found mine at rivervale plaze near punggol a hardware shop called hardware 88 trading, i can't believe i can find the exact fix.Anyone thinking of changing without buying a whole cistern can consider.Homefix also have silicone gasket but not suitable for potex cistern as it was too thin and single layer. Another type of leak is the 50cent size washer inside the ball float arm that will cause the refill to flow non stop easy to buy and fix too. . potex a sanitary brand from malaysia installed on new hbd flats a decade ago.i help you hope next time you guys can help me back too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic February 26, 2015 Share February 26, 2015 I believe all new and past hdb owner have potex toilet and flushing system installed.If your water keep on flowing from tank to toilet bowl then your dounut shape gasket below the plunger must have spoiled. I manage to found silicone type replacement for potex brand at this place and walaa it stop flowing endlessly. I found mine at rivervale plaze near punggol a hardware shop called hardware 88 trading, i can't believe i can find the exact fix.Anyone thinking of changing without buying a whole cistern can consider.Homefix also have silicone gasket but not suitable for potex cistern as it was too thin and single layer. Another type of leak is the 50cent size washer inside the ball float arm that will cause the refill to flow non stop easy to buy and fix too. . potex a sanitary brand from malaysia installed on new hbd flats a decade ago.i help you hope next time you guys can help me back too. Thanks for the information but is there a need to be so obvious about that? This is a forum for sharing - I am sure if someone can help, they will... No need to spell it out like that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 (edited) Overflow? That time was just due to the overflow outlet base not being tightened enough. I tightened it and it stopped. But now it's leaking from another place. ZZZ i also don't know where cos i can't really see the leaking spot (the cistern is right beside my countertop), And the leaking is intermittent. It was leaking slowly quite a bit on monday night, my wife bugged me to open up the cistern to take a look. I opened it up and after that the leaking stopped. Then returns on-off. Sorry I must clarify it's not leaking into the bowl. but leaking onto the floor behind the tank. Most probably something at the base of the tank is leaking. Edited October 8, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 That time was just due to the overflow outlet base not being tightened enough. I tightened it and it stopped. But now it's leaking from another place. ZZZ i also don't know where cos i can't really see the leaking spot (the cistern is right beside my countertop), And the leaking is intermittent. It was leaking slowly quite a bit on monday night, my wife bugged me to open up the cistern to take a look. I opened it up and after that the leaking stopped. Then returns on-off. Sorry I must clarify it's not leaking into the bowl. but leaking onto the floor behind the tank. Most probably something at the base of the tank is leaking. haha DIY man to the rescue what you need is grease just go hardwareshop buy a can of grease. damn cheap one. no need to buy the rubber seal. rubber seal corrode all the time one. just use grease as long as where leak, 1) remove the seal [this is the hard part], 2) then clean up the seal surface, 3) also clean those surface which comes into contact with the seal 4) gor a generous amount of grease on both side of the seal 5) preferably gor grease on those surface which comes into contact with the seal should work this grease method is last time I army learn one last time those m113 need to river crossing, so need to make sure water don't come in nobody go and change the seal one, too siong liao so people gor the grease gao gao on the seal consperm work 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 haha DIY man to the rescue what you need is grease just go hardwareshop buy a can of grease. damn cheap one. no need to buy the rubber seal. rubber seal corrode all the time one. just use grease as long as where leak, 1) remove the seal [this is the hard part], 2) then clean up the seal surface, 3) also clean those surface which comes into contact with the seal 4) gor a generous amount of grease on both side of the seal 5) preferably gor grease on those surface which comes into contact with the seal should work this grease method is last time I army learn one last time those m113 need to river crossing, so need to make sure water don't come in nobody go and change the seal one, too siong liao so people gor the grease gao gao on the seal consperm work Thanks. The main issue is that the leak is intermittent. So really hard to assess the problem. Like my wife said, now it's gone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 My solution is easy. Buy rolls of the white teflon tape, go round all the threaded parts and screw them back on. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Thanks. The main issue is that the leak is intermittent. So really hard to assess the problem. Like my wife said, now it's gone. water leak got trace one just need to use hand to feel the water path then know where leak liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 water leak got trace one just need to use hand to feel the water path then know where leak liao Haha ok. It only leaks when I'm not around ... Will try to really look at the problem tomorrow when I have time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Haha ok. It only leaks when I'm not around ... Will try to really look at the problem tomorrow when I have time. someitime is not leak is people anyhow pee must use scientific methods to isolate fault Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Go buy this tablet. And you can easily trace where the leak come from. The water leaked out will be blue in colour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Go buy this tablet. And you can easily trace where the leak come from. The water leaked out will be blue in colour. solid idea!!! [thumbsup] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Haha ok. It only leaks when I'm not around ... Will try to really look at the problem tomorrow when I have time. Water leak into the bowl, leak at the flushing mechanism. Water leak outside, leak should be at the water inlet part. The rubber that seal the opening is "dead". Usually that is the case. But, it is very difficult to unscrew the water inlet pipe. You need to right tool. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 solid idea!!! [thumbsup] aiyoh just pour a bit of ribena can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 aiyoh just pour a bit of ribena can liao riberna very expensive leh unless is expired liao one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 aiyoh just pour a bit of ribena can liao Unless u want ants to come. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 Unless u want ants to come. ha forgot about that part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic October 8, 2015 Share October 8, 2015 For quite some time all this Condo's all are using very fancy brands and styling; I also kenna too and it was an American Brand (i cant remember now) and my plumber suggested that just buy a new one from Sim Siang Choon so long as the measurements are close enough (especially the outlet pipe) and because it was American the base was kind of big and luckily I got one which fitted reasonably well over though I had to make almost 3 trips to SSC and some other sellers as the exposed tiles had changed discoloured or stains on the edges of the base ; I think all in it cost me no more than $500 (was a china brand) but no choice as water was overflowing every now and then from the cistern Aiyah!! in the old days it seemed all the cisterns use the ball like thing with the plastic stick and so easy like less than $10/- could DIY ; now like cannot even understand head or tail of how the thing works even ; All in the name of technology and water saving ; Last time wanted to save water - we just put in a 1 litre coke or glass bottle inside the cistern to sink down on the floor of the cistern and some how it turned brown after a year and we just wash it with a brush but it served the purpose , I guess so for sure. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...