• Other Tales of the Flying Fox, 飞狐外传
    • Heaven Sword and Dragon Sabre, 倚天屠龙记
    • A Deadly Secret,连城诀
    • Demi-Gods and Semi-Devils, 天龍八部
    • Ode to Gallantry, 侠客行
    • The Smiling, Proud Wanderer, 笑傲江湖
    • The Deer and the Cauldron, 鹿鼎记

On 9/29/2009 at 7:19 AM, Hamburger said:

mi on e contrary.....鹿鼎记 is my least favourite as e hero is not man enuh [shakehead]

Not man enough how he handle seven wife [laugh][laugh]

On 9/29/2009 at 8:22 AM, Mustank said:

i never read. i only watch [blush]

i am a big fan [inlove]

i love all the wu gong stuff manz....they are so boomz [laugh]

then you should play 9Dragons......

On 9/29/2009 at 6:24 AM, Noobcar said:

I am a fans but only on the TVB series thingy. My chinese .......... no need to say u also know la. Try to read b4 but my chinese just cant make it. Any of his novel that are not being serialized yet?

I really encourage you to read. The TVB series is nice but cant match the orignal novel at all. There are always limitation to transform the idea/ story from book to reality into filming.

On 9/29/2009 at 8:22 AM, Mustank said:

i never read. i only watch [blush]

i am a big fan [inlove]

i love all the wu gong stuff manz....they are so boomz [laugh]

you use boomz ah, wait very high RIS leh, scarly she "shu" u,

don't know whether she patent this word or not.... :D

On 9/29/2009 at 6:28 AM, Tohto said:

I am a fan of him, some of novels had read at least 3-4 times.

My flavor as below.

1.天龍八部

2.笑傲江湖

3.鹿鼎记

Yeah! I also like wat you mentioned. One more is 倚天屠龙记!

Btw, dunno if you know that the only main leading character that died in his story is "Xiao Fen" in 天龍八部. [bigcry]

On 9/29/2009 at 6:37 AM, Scion said:

yep... loyal fan here...

have his whole collection (14 novels)

lucky to see him in person last time i went to HK...

my fav:

1. yi tian tu long ji

2. xiao ao jiang hu

3. shen diao xia lv

[flowerface]

I dun like 神雕侠侣, dun like Xiao Long nu kanna XXX by the Yi Zhi Ping. Why not Yang Kuo. haha..

Also dun like the part in the Jie Qing Ku, story dragged too long liao..

On 9/29/2009 at 6:45 AM, Nostalgia said:

[wave]

Big fan here.

Started out with 'E's and 'F's in Chinese in Secondary school. When my parents made me study instead of watching the 'then new' TVB series 射雕英雄传 (anyone remember 翁美玲?) on VCR, I secretly bought the books from Bras Brasah Complex and have been hooked ever since. And since the novels then were printed in Hong Kong in vertical format, I learnt to read traditional Chinese as well as Simplified, and went on to score 'A's for 'O' and 'A' level Chinese.

I have read every single series, many of them multiple times, but my favourites remain 射雕英雄传 and 鹿鼎记.

Incidentally, some may remember the scene in 射雕英雄传 where 郭靖 and 黄蓉 were in the secret room in the village where 郭靖 was conceived, and every one in the world they knew walked into the little house? According to some of the biographies, this scene is a reflection of the author's background in traditional opera, where scenes like this to showcase the characters frequently appeared.

Bro,

I dun understand..

I know tat part in Nui Jia Chun where they hide inside the small chamber cos 郭靖 was badly injured by Ou Yang Feng (Yang Kang poke him with a dagger also).

On 9/29/2009 at 8:31 AM, Yaloryalor said:

Yeah! I also like wat you mentioned. One more is 倚天屠龙记!

Btw, dunno if you know that the only main leading character that died in his story is "Xiao Fen" in 天龍八部. [bigcry]

Yes, the ending of 'Xiao Fen' was so sad [bigcry][bigcry]

When he kill his own wife 'Ah Zhu', even more sad, I read already also want to [bigcry][bigcry]

Edited by Tohto

On 9/29/2009 at 8:38 AM, Yaloryalor said:

Bro,

I dun understand..

I know tat part in Nui Jia Chun where they hide inside the small chamber cos 郭靖 was badly injured by Ou Yang Feng (Yang Kang poke him with a dagger also).

That's what I mean. In Niu Jia Chun, while they were in the small chamber, everyone they know show up in the house, and could be observed through the spyhole. That's like a scene in Chinese Opera. macham wayang.

On 9/29/2009 at 7:09 AM, Contax said:

Quite similiar here.

I started reading his work since I'm in Primary 3 and completed all of it when I'm Primary 6.

I have scored and done extremely well for all my chinese assessment / exercise and exam throughout my PSLE/O Level/A Level.

[thumbsup][thumbsup]

On 9/29/2009 at 8:42 AM, Nostalgia said:

That's what I mean. In Niu Jia Chun, while they were in the small chamber, everyone they know show up in the house, and could be observed through the spyhole. That's like a scene in Chinese Opera. macham wayang.

the book is more interesting, in order to cure the guy, both of them have to wear minimum....the rest up to your imagination liao !

mi on e contrary.....鹿鼎记 is my least favourite as e hero is not man enuh [shakehead]

鹿鼎记 is the last novel that Jing Yong wrote. Maybe he want to have some differences in his hero way of writing.

actually i only got to know the word boomz during lunch time [laugh][smash] i found it to be funny [thumbsup] what a great word [scholar]

someone should upload this on the dictionary manz....kabooomz [scholar]

Actually, he is fun and believable because he is much more human, with human failings, needs, cowardice.

The comedy in that series comes from the contrast between all the nobility and heroes he gets in contact with, his actions being governed by all the quirks of someone from a poor, uneducated, not too socially acceptable upbringing. He is simply not as one-dimensional as the 'superman' type characters in the other novels.

Jin Yong himself said he did not consider 鹿鼎记 to be a wuxia novel, so much as a comic novel or satire that happens to have a wuxia background.

Edited by Nostalgia

On 9/29/2009 at 8:41 AM, Tohto said:

Yes, the ending of 'Xiao Fen' was so sad [bigcry][bigcry]

When he kill his own wife 'Ah Zhu', even more sad, I read already also want to [bigcry][bigcry]

Yalor..

The funny part is the Xu Zhu was son of the Shao Lin Fang Zhan and Feng er Nian. [sweatdrop]

The 3 main characters are all have high power in their countries.

Duan Yu is the Prince of Da Li

Xu Zhu is the son in law of Xia

Xiao Fen is the Nan Yuan King of Liao