Jonbummer Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 (edited) hey can i ask how old are u this year? it's still possible for u to be a race car driver but at wat level do u want to be competing in? with wat race car? it's put a huge grin and chuckle when the bro link the taxi driver form to the Race Driver Application i guess at present there's no know local driver doing well in any series that show it's very very tough to be one, even more so to be a successful driver have to recognize this fact u will need more than talent, determination and the will to win. to be a really successful driver, it takes a lot of time and have to start young like many others had pointed out like the "kiddo" Suriya, 17, (i'm old liao) , he's already in a Formula BMW emerging from go kart competitions in M'sia, if i'm not wrong. another case in point is 10-year-old singaporean Daim Hishammudin if u have not read abt him, here u go: http://www.bhpetrol-iru1.com/2009030530/li...t-for-singapore there's very very limited opportunities here for one to develop as a driver. hv to go beyond our shore. at the beginning, one has to start racing with their own pockets if got impressive results, then Maybe then can get sponsors it's like, if i can ask for sponsor now for my 2010 RMC season, i will get kick out of the office quite very quickly (but if there sponsor lobang, pls let me know ) many factors limit locals to be a very good drivers even for Daim i feel he needs to develop quickly cos by the time he's 15 - 16 he must be winning the RMC Seniors races which will give him a chance to race in the Rotax World Finals shld he do VERY well there, it hopefully would lead him to a higher level, possibly in Europe or Japan. but, my fren, at the end of the day, we have to be realistic and ask ourselves if it's real or reel ? why dun join us in some kart race, and u will get a feel of wat racing is about. even by watching, u will see wat it is up close. just my humble views Edited September 30, 2009 by Jonbummer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ElDiablo Clutched September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 Hahaha Alex Yoong, heard some time back somebody or some comentator mentioned Schmacher could drive faster than him in reverse gear..... Sat in a car with him before...trust me when I say he's much better than most of us in car control. He got into the car for the first time, took a lap at a fair pace and by the next lap he was already pushing the car to its limits with crazy power slides and beautiful control. The car was the Ariel Atom3. He's a racer and grew up racing. You've got to be a certain level to even be considered for Formula 1 la think we can all agree to that...so as much as his brief stint in F1 earned him a lot of ridicule he deserves just a tad bit more respect that this. If Schumy could drive faster than him in reverse, he'd be running circles around us in reverse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyr0 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2009 Share September 30, 2009 true true. we can laugh at this alex but we gotta take a look at ourselves first. I think most of us will DNF (did not finish) in any race. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aimnfire 4th Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 unless u are rich or start young (at least 8 years old) in go cart and build your name from there racing as a hobby very expensive racing as a rice bowl for us asian and especially singaporeans is like mission very impossible u have a better luck if u are a south east asian other than singapore (thai, mal, indo, viet) cause these country have their own track to test your skill and machine thats where the scouts hang around my experience as a biker who use to ride at pasir gudang, sepang and batu 3 shah alam is that the scouts will approach u if u are really good (good does not mean winning race but how well you block your rivals from overtaking u and how u force your rival into error while they are ahead of u. cause if these 2 skills u got other drivers/riders will break into cold sweat when they approach u or when they see u coming). once the scouts knew i am a singaporean they back out immediately cause they prefer to train their countrymen. of course local workshop have approach me but their condition is CMI. they will only tune my bikes, but spare parts i need to fork out myself. but that was in the 90s...dunno now how is the situation like. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loosecannon Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 you have to start young with go kart to build up your racecraft and experience . unfortunaly , racing cost money . you can cut cost buy using second hand stuff and doing your own maintaince .it about 1 hr racing / 2 hrs of maintaince time . it will build a healthy respect to from wrecking your kart . along the way pick up some contact along the way to bigger cars ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 dont forget, u must be anything but non-asian....other than being japanese. it weird if ppl shouting 'tan ah kow! tan ah kow!' instead of 'hamilton! hamilton!' Not true...you may have Ris Low cheering "HayMeeTng !! HayMeeTng !! Go RAD Farlahlee !!".....watts diff from Tan Ah Kow ? [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 I am also interested to be one. But without sponsors, i guess its gonna be hard unless i am good and someone spots me. Like the f1 drivers. For someone who already has a license...too late to go the young karting....then F3000....F2000 etc route. You can start by taking part in the local carpark race...if you have deep pocket helps. But if not, just get the experiene. If you are good...there are those small time sponsers like Jeep Chee etc to take you in as their team driver....but still you are expected to pay for some of the cost yourself. Then if you feeling adventerous...go race in PG series. But without MAJOR sponsers...it will be beri beri hard. But if you are that good....somehow or rather...you would be able to find a sponser. Look at Leslie Chang....his passion for racing even took him to take part in a official WRC race in a Subaru Vivo RX-R....and he paid for most part of the cost to take part...and its not cheap....the car...with spare Prodrive engines and parts...cost a BOMB !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bakauz19 Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 drive to anywhere in Singapore in under 20mins and don't get caught by TP. sorry....jus a joke if drive from woodlands to sembawang also <20min but too near how to speed ....sorry maybe if u say from changi to jurong maybe acceptable Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 I think when our Changi racetrack comes, we will have a better chance of grooming young race drivers. But it will still take a very long time. Racing is a culture. It doesn't happen overnight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forrestcat 2nd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 (edited) [smash] [laugh] Perhaps FIA should organize a F1 event for taxis only. Imagine German taxi drivers vs Japanese taxi drivers vs S'pore taxi drivers.... Edited October 1, 2009 by Forrestcat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Perhaps FIA should organize a F1 event for taxis only. Imagine German taxi drivers vs Japanese taxi drivers vs S'pore taxi drivers.... I think we sure own them. Hahaha. Maybe NY taxi drivers can compete. Or China. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 Perhaps FIA should organize a F1 event for taxis only. Imagine German taxi drivers vs Japanese taxi drivers vs S'pore taxi drivers.... eh... no more anti roboliao arh!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 I think when our Changi racetrack comes, we will have a better chance of grooming young race drivers. But it will still take a very long time. Racing is a culture. It doesn't happen overnight. and alot of moola.... imagine how much the forged pistons will cost. not mentioning other essentials to build a sturdy engine Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cufflinkcraze Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 i believe one has to have the financial means to be a race driver.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cufflinkcraze Neutral Newbie October 1, 2009 Share October 1, 2009 family's support to back you up..nurture from young.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...