Taichizi 1st Gear January 27, 2010 Share January 27, 2010 We are talking about food here... let's not go down the politics path... I prefer the traditional BKT which is more readily available in Malaysia... if u dun like the traditional type, juz say so... it is simply useless and nonsense to say ppl who likes herbal based BKT is Malaysian. The traditional bak kut teh "consists of meaty pork ribs simmered in a complex broth of herbs and spices (including star anise, cinnamon, cloves, dang gui, fennel seeds and garlic) for hours..." "There are numerous variants of bak kut teh with its cooking style closely influenced by the prevailing Chinese enclave of a certain geographical location. In Singapore, there are three types of bak kut teh. The most common variant is the Teochew style, which is light in color but uses more pepper in the soup..." Extracted from wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bak_kut_teh i reckon u r malaysian? only boleh land ppl say this... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Signatureincz Neutral Newbie February 7, 2010 Share February 7, 2010 Havelock there also quite nice... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pigleteve Neutral Newbie February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 i heard b4 too.. any idea what time it close? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SSOClinic Neutral Newbie February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 Where is havelock? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wanderer Clutched February 10, 2010 Share February 10, 2010 Where is havelock? It's in SG. Check your street directory lah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Absolutetint Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Rangoon Road, PSA building, Balastier road the one with aircon and got to walk up a flight of stair...the place is opp the shaw cinemas Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Absolutetint Neutral Newbie March 26, 2010 Share March 26, 2010 Or u want Klang style, try beach road....the corner coffee shop. Or Geylang Lor 13 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev33 Neutral Newbie March 27, 2010 Share March 27, 2010 Balestier rd!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonafidestack 4th Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 Klang Bak kut teh @ sultan road side. Best i have eaten so far... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ODC 1st Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 i reckon u r malaysian? only boleh land ppl say this... Pepper = Teochew Black = Hokkien Think they are the best = Malaysian LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Archon 2nd Gear August 10, 2010 Share August 10, 2010 (edited) BKT taste is different from countries It really depend how people like it in their own country and ethic group. it will determine how it will be cook. Malaysian generally prefer herbal type while singaporean like pepper hot. Edited August 10, 2010 by Archon Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Floweradvisor Clutched August 30, 2010 Share August 30, 2010 Singapore..... :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Changky 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 Masiling Blk 19...must try if not regret!!!!! There is another new stall at the other end of the established BKT stall at blk 19 at Broadway coffee shop which is worth trying. Owner used to be partner of the old stall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 try the one @ABC market... hokkien style - claypot type.. very nice herbal smell teochew style - on porcelain bowl - pepper type... both stalls side by side nia... i am a hokkien style BTK lover... and i felt BKT @malaysia are much better than ours.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermit 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 i am a hokkien style BTK lover... and i felt BKT @malaysia are much better than ours.. I second that! Suddenly got craving, and just popped over to Kiang Kee for bfast bkt last sat.. the herbal bkt here always make me thirsty thereafter.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itsec 2nd Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 (edited) my mum likes to make herbal BKT and she mentioned its not easy to do it 'sweet'.. somemore its not cheap.... most likely those outside 1.. usually wack MSG.... haiz.. Edited September 6, 2010 by Itsec Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iygnaug 1st Gear September 6, 2010 Share September 6, 2010 You mean all the way into the end of the car park? Saw from the street directory that long the Admiralty Rd there's a coffeshop and a hawker centre. Is this the coffeshop? Pls kindly advise. block 17. very nice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bobobibi Neutral Newbie September 8, 2010 Share September 8, 2010 wow. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...