Why is stopping after the stop line an immediate failure?

Ev0lutionz

in a sense it's to test your skills at stopping on the dot. you would claim you can, but can you do it?

sometimes stop line, esp turnings from minor lanes to major ones, have no buffer. so if you stop beyond that you'd probably get hit.

as for others, they've passed already. tiring to stop nicely and gently all the time. so most would choose to stop smoothly esp when carrying passengers.

Edited by Karebu

That's why it's call a Stop Line. You're supposed to stop before that line! :excl:

During my days of L-plate at Ubi, my instructor told me that I must stop before the line even when the pedestrians are on the kerb beside the zebra crossing in the test-centre. Else definitely I.F.

But he also told me once I got my licence is that do what you want but don't get caught! [lipsrsealed]

inculcate values to learner drivers. If they choose not to heed it after they pass then thats their problem. TP can choose to fine you if they want for crossing the stop line. But seldom TP do that unless you are a himbo who winds down the window and BOOOMZ him

I cant remember,but i find it stupid.especially if u r driving near those driving centers or if u r driving behind those L platers.kuku,everytime must stop at stop line.i dun remember its an offence,usually,we juz check and move on,dun need to cum to a complete stop!i dun blame those L platers,but those pple who set these rules [furious] .honestly,how many drivers here even bother to stop even without oncoming traffics?

If i recall correctly, some offences that were immediate failure also can give you demerit points after you pass. One example would be stopping on the zebra crossing. Stop in yellow box got demerit points?

inculcate values to learner drivers. If they choose not to heed it after they pass then thats their problem. TP can choose to fine you if they want for crossing the stop line. But seldom TP do that unless you are a himbo who winds down the window and BOOOMZ him

Im not very sure how many drivers or heard their frens ever kana by TP for not stopping at the stop line.but i encounter a lot of times even TP themselves juz zoom past when there r no on cuming traffics.

you know a foreigner once told me that SG has the strictest tests for both bikes and cars. and yet so many accidents happen, especially for the former.

but learning and applying is a whole lot different story lah. i guess it's 'our' unique way of doing things. on paper everything covered properly liao, you screw up cannot blame the system loh.

I cant remember,but i find it stupid.especially if u r driving near those driving centers or if u r driving behind those L platers.kuku,everytime must stop at stop line.i dun remember its an offence,usually,we juz check and move on,dun need to cum to a complete stop!i dun blame those L platers,but those pple who set these rules [furious] .honestly,how many drivers here even bother to stop even without oncoming traffics?

In practice it's not practical of course, but the law is the law.

In the US, not stopping is a serious offence, and they are very strict about this.

in indo they also fine people for not stopping at stop line.

quite funny here eh? they even repainted the pedestrian lines (broken lines now) to 'help' drivers stop better. i think the implementation of fines is alot cheaper? anw i don't think not stopping on the dot at stop lines is a big cause of accidents, pertaining to pedestrian crossings.

you know a foreigner once told me that SG has the strictest tests for both bikes and cars. and yet so many accidents happen, especially for the former.

but learning and applying is a whole lot different story lah. i guess it's 'our' unique way of doing things. on paper everything covered properly liao, you screw up cannot blame the system loh.

i think u also need to see the stop line or ur car front wheels cant touch the stop line.but most roads u need to edge out more than u need to,coz if not cant even see the oncoming cars [sweatdrop] .

well the rule if you can remb is to come to complete stop just before stop line. then if its minor to major road, edge out abit from there if traffic is heavy. you can edge and cross it, but most importantly you need to come to complete stop first

who the hell would come to a complete stop when there is a clear view of the main road and there are totally no cars in sight?

Only people taking tests would do that . . .