Vextan 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Author Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 9:13 AM, Familymanz said: to me hor..... wedding dinner/celebration... is abt "answering" to both parents and their relatives.... its never abt an affair of 2 person nia... if hv a choice.... most would have opt for wedding-honeymoon ba. true true .. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 For me as a gal, I really felt wedding dinner is really gorgeous n impt part...but hor I felt it's super super tiring thing for me...lucky thing got my hb, many frens, colliks, my bros n parents to help out...else I dun tink I can make it...gee... N my hb oso made a super memorable speech tat made me cried on stage....so touching tat I will nvr forget...n many of my gfs oso cried too...so cute de...we all cried tgt... Priceless..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porkerlover Neutral Newbie September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 It really depends on your fiance....if she's pragmatic, she wouldn't mind holding a low-key dinner and invest the money somewhere else...but if you have to hold a nice dinner, make sure you invite lots of rich friends....it helps a darn lot....you might even make a profit getting married... =o) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reuters Clutched September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 you will never know how much you have spent for the wedding prior to the dinner.. gown/suit/photoshoot (for those who went overseas) etc.. and these amount can be easily 20-30k, not including the wedding dinner.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 6:44 AM, Adrianli said: The coming Fann and Chris wedding dinner, how ah???? Hrd tat David Gan is giving $20k for the ang bao...tink u can jus gif same amt if not more...else lose face wor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 From what I see my cousins/frens that are getting married in posh places, mostly is because either or both of the families are quite well off. So far, I've not attended a wedding from my friends/relatives that are just normal working class folks throwing their wedding banquets at the hotels u mentioned. To the well to do class of people, wedding banquet is not about breaking even or things like that. Its a once-in-a-lifetime event that deserves the best for their sons & daughters. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 (edited) throwing a real wedding dinner no ang paos required. come empty handed no problem but make sure with sincere blessings and a good heart. Edited September 17, 2009 by Throttle2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 3:51 AM, Caldina said: For me, i pao ang bao based on how close i am to the bride or groom. If very close, i will give more even if venue is a restuarant or void deck. If not close, i don't care what venue. Usually i give $60-80 even if the venue is some 5 or 6 stars hotel. i always feel that if you can afford to host your wedding in some posh hotel, you can afford the losses. And please do not invite friends that you are not close, sometime just for the sake of making up numbers, if you want to make money. Same here. I will only apply "market rate" theory when I am attending weddings of colleagues and distant relatives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 9:45 AM, Throttle2 said: throwing a real wedding dinner no ang paos required. come empty handed no problem but make sure with sincere blessings and a good heart. That the original way and meaning a wedding dinner is about in the olden times Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 9:47 AM, Rickster said: That the original way and meaning a wedding dinner is about in the olden times exactly, nowadays all damn money face. always talk about covering cost or making money losing money. having a wedding or doing a business? sheesh people should plan their wedding dinner according to what they can afford taking that no one gives a single angpao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Limhm Neutral Newbie September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Yup...tat's y my bro had his wedding at Raffles Hotel...only 3 tables...all pp we knew....we can go from 1 table to another...go on stage...my boys can run freely...n we can eat at ease in the room...n some were so happy tat we drank lotsa of red wine till quite drunk... We really enjoyed such small wedding dinner....n my bro had no regrets too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 Wedding dinners are overhyped... at the end of our wedding dinner after all the guest had left, wifely and i just looked at each other and kinda mumbled at the same time, "so that's it?" Anything special worth remembering? nah.... nothing much honestly. end of the day, the dinner is just for parents and in-laws.... face issue lah like what most of the bros here said. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 9:51 AM, Throttle2 said: exactly, nowadays all damn money face. always talk about covering cost or making money losing money. having a wedding or doing a business? sheesh people should plan their wedding dinner according to what they can afford taking that no one gives a single angpao u're so right.... it's like a biz transaction now... eg - i give you 10 tables, you cannot collect the angbaos since got tables..etc... so much negotiations involved Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 9:45 AM, Throttle2 said: throwing a real wedding dinner no ang paos required. come empty handed no problem but make sure with sincere blessings and a good heart. Haha,yes.my sis invited her frens from europe,all of them gave her presents and of course they bless her sincecerly.they dun known the chinese culture here and my sis was already grateful they fly all the way here to attend . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 10:29 AM, Altivo said: Wedding dinners are overhyped... at the end of our wedding dinner after all the guest had left, wifely and i just looked at each other and kinda mumbled at the same time, "so that's it?" Anything special worth remembering? nah.... nothing much honestly. end of the day, the dinner is just for parents and in-laws.... face issue lah like what most of the bros here said. i dun know for the rest,as for me,i will always check with the rest how they find or rate rather the food . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 I'm not married and don't see myself getting into it soon though all of my friends my age had. All of them except 1 had the wedding dinner at restaurants and hotels. 9 out of 10 did it due to pressure from parents, many would just want to have a wedding tour if given the choice. Many also told me after the event that they are like animals on display in the zoo and the happy zoo-keepers running the animal shows are their parents! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 i specifically did not plan my wedding at a hotel. why? becos then , how do my guests and I walk around smoking cigars ?????? hahahahahahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear September 17, 2009 Share September 17, 2009 On 9/17/2009 at 1:40 AM, Yeshe said: Err.. these hotels i not considered as posh lah... Ritz Carlton, Fullerton, Raffles, Shangri'la... yeah Now that's nothing... The uber rich actually fly their guests to places like Phuket or some exotic place for their weddings... Air fare and hotel all paid for ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...