Renegade777 5th Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Nowadays goods vehicles very fierce. You can see many speeding here and there and alot of fatal accidents happened in connection with them. I am wondering why TP is not doing anything to these speeding vans and lorries. The good old days vans come with beeping tone and a round signal on top to discourage these drivers from speeding. Instead nowadays, all these gadgets are remove to encourage these drivers to speed. I cannot imagine the poor girl is thrown 20 metres upon impact. That stupid van must be speeding and should be given a life sentence. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Some countries (can't remember which), is red light for all traffice for all 4 direction, and green man turned on. During this time, only pedastrian cross in all direction including diagonally across the junction. Less efficient, but more on safety. That sounds like Japan to me! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hermitage 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Must have been speeding lah...69 years old doesn't mean that he drives slowly. Girl flung 20m, how come maid only light injuries ah?? Our roads are designed quite well lah, just look across to our neighbours in the north for a negative example! Here, it's usually the "human factor" that causes accidents. Then again, it might be fate...who the hell knows eh?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dh15 Clutched September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 (edited) Van and lorry drivers are crazy road users nowadays. I've seen one cabstar lorry driving more den 90km/h on ECP. i was travelling at 90-100 and he zoomed past me. Edited September 16, 2009 by Dh15 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 sometimes i find those junction with cameras are more danger.coz i encounter a lot of drivers wanted to chiong b4 it turns amber juz to beat the lights.they r not slowing down instead of speeding . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 yeah its hard to imagine a 63 year old driver driving like that....i thought the older a person is....the more careful he or she should be......if a persons reflexes are not fast enough or not careful....then thats bad...... a 9 year olds life is very innocent.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Thats bad... The van driver must have been driving fast or totally didn't see them on the pedestrian. its apparent he was driving fast la.......drive fast is okay....but if a person does not have the ability or reflexes to avoid.....then its really bad...... 9 yr old girl flung 20 meters......i can guess that maybe he was driving in excess of 90..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 its apparent he was driving fast la.......drive fast is okay....but if a person does not have the ability or reflexes to avoid.....then its really bad...... 9 yr old girl flung 20 meters......i can guess that maybe he was driving in excess of 90..... How can it be 90, when the van is doing a right turn? He would have turtle... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Pardon my differing views.. if the same place happen a few times, then I would say, it's a bad road design. Of course no one will agree because our road system is number 1. Think about it. 1. 69 year old driving a van driver, how fast can he go. Very likely he did not see it and fail to brake in time. 2. A decent school girl who is very highly likely will be obedient and cross when the light is red. Why can still happen? Did'nt a road design should be robust enough to include possibility of people misjudge and it should cover all blind spot? We are designing something that could cost lives of others. Driver need to be vigilant is a must. But keeping it 100% at all time for all drivers to do so may be asking for too much. The risk is too high. I can be completely wrong and it's ok to disagree. MY HEART GOES TO THE FAMILY. I HAVE A 10 yr old DAUGHTER TOO. no excuses. i drive a van btw. if really jialat road design and pedestrian really at fault, i cannot blame the driver for knocking down the pedestrian, but the impact should be relatively light, say collision at 20km/h. injuries limited to broken bones unless the victim really suay. fly 20 meters, i'm quite sure it's speeding liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 actually i think that van drivers are okay.....but i simply do not know how a van driver can drive in such a manner.... it is very obvious when there is a person crossing at the junction....the vehicle has to stop..... its not like the person was jaywalking...... if it is not at 90, maybe 60 to 70..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 very sad. the maid should be more carful when crossing the roads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Nowadays goods vehicles very fierce. You can see many speeding here and there and alot of fatal accidents happened in connection with them. I am wondering why TP is not doing anything to these speeding vans and lorries. The good old days vans come with beeping tone and a round signal on top to discourage these drivers from speeding. Instead nowadays, all these gadgets are remove to encourage these drivers to speed. I cannot imagine the poor girl is thrown 20 metres upon impact. That stupid van must be speeding and should be given a life sentence. TP scared tio long, so keeping a distance from these van drivers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vroomtattat 2nd Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 very sad. the maid should be more carful when crossing the roads. Some maids are One got scolded by me until she cried when she let a 5-6 years old kid cross the road 2 -3 metres in front of her while she was talking on her handphone Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 exactly...bugger should be put till he RIP hate to say this but if the penalty of this kind of traffic offence is so harsh, it might put off people from becoming lorry or van or bus drivers and in any modern economy, we need such occupations. penalties must be there to deter reckless driving but not put off anyone from driving on the road because accidents can happen to anyone no matter how careful we are... similarly, if docs can be sued easily for any forms of negligence, then this may cause them to act defensively and refuse to venture into other forms of treatment, hence the society will never progress... nonetheless, RIP to the girl. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 LTA should put up the 'Red/Green Arrows' traffic lights at all junctions. When the main lights are green, the red arrow stays and the pedestrians can cross. Then the main lights turn green, the pedestrians are red and the green arrow appears. This will minimize such accidents. Right now only see some major junctions having these red/green arrows system. Hope that it will be implemented across the island due to this accident. Hope Mindy RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnycrowe Clutched September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 LTA shld make it compulsory for turning vehicles to turn only when there is green arrow... At x-junction, when it is green light, the turning driver mus look out for opp traffic b4 turning, not only that, the driver mus look out for pedestrian crossing.... wat if he sees opp traffic clear, he makes the turn quickly then suddenly a pedestrian or cyclist appears at the crossing.... Also, even in green light, the view may be blocked by opp traffic who r turning to their right..... we have to inch forward slowly to look out for opp traffic travelling straight....... many times when u dun see any oncoming vehicles, n u start to turn, there will be a super fast car zoom past... Based on the above 2 factors, it is time to implement "Turn only when there is green arrow".... so when there is green light, turning vehicles cannot turn even though opp traffic is clear, cos there is pedestrain green man light.... only when pedestrian becomes red man, then the green arrow appear.... in this way, not only the pedestran is safe, we oso dun hav to worry abt oncoming fast vehicles gg straight.... this new system may take up more time, but it saves lives.... plenty of lives lost due to such stupid junctions oredi.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Quirky_ster Clutched September 16, 2009 Share September 16, 2009 Good to know that more ppl are seeing beyond the driver and pedestrian issue... We can fine, charge or jail the driver... but does not change a thing. Another driver may commit another incidents again for the same reason... Hope something can be done to improve on the safety. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...