Model pupil dies in accident

Vtim

Very sad [bigcry] , (my son is a P3 student in PPS)

my deepest condolences to the Neo family

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNew...ory_430456.html

NINE-YEAR-OLD Mindy Neo was so excited about returning to school after the one-week break that she slept early just so she could wake up feeling fresh the next morning.

But the girl, who would have been 10 next month, never made it to class on Monday after an accident involving a van while she was crossing Buangkok Drive at about 6.45am.

The Primary 4 prefect at Punggol Primary School was flung about 20m on impact and died in hospital two hours later.

The 24-year-old Indonesian maid who was with Mindy at the time was injured and is now warded in Changi Hospital with head and back injuries.

The accident is believed to have occurred when the red van turned right from from Punggol Road into Buangkok Drive. Mindy and her maid were using the pedestrian crossing at the time, although it is not clear if the traffic lights were in their favour at the time.

Mindy's parents were distraught yesterday and her father, Mr Neo Hwee Choon, 43, was in tears when he spoke to reporters before her wake yesterday morning.

Just last month, father and daughter composed a song - 'Teachers' Day Love Song' - on a piano he bought her recently.

Mindy went on to record the tune onto CDs and presented them to her teachers on Teachers' Day. Mindy's death was also a blow to her principal, teachers and classmates, who described her as 'creative, intelligent and humble'.

Police have arrested the 63-year-old van driver on suspicion of causing death through a rash or negligent act, offences which could see him jailed for a maximum sentence of five years and fined.

The police are appealing for eyewitnesses and anyone with information should call the Traffic Police on 1800-547-1818.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

[email protected]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

post-319-1253075041_thumb.jpg

I use this junction to turn right in Buangkok Drive regularly. While I'm waiting for the padestrain on the right to cross, there's always those joker would straightaway turn right when oncoming traffic is clear without consideration that padestrain are still crossing. Padestrain crossing that junction please take note, even if the light is green in your favour..

Before that there was another fatal accident a year ago involving padestrain. Same junction.

Edited by Ender

Condolences to her family....guys this is one reason why we have to stay sharp and focus when we're driving. It doesn't matter the lights were in whose favour...

Have to watch out vehicles movement at all times even it is in favour to pedestrians. Do not take for granted that vehicles will stop or give way... I personally experienced once at signalised pedestrian crossing, traffic light to drivers was red, green man light appeared, then walk across the road, 1 vehicle on the outer (right ) lane of 2 lane did not stop in time..and had an e-brake, stopped 1 m away from me.

Edited by Safetyleo

My condolences to the deceased & her family ... [smallcry][bigcry]

Last 2 weeks back, my bor, child & myself were also nearly knock down by a truck whom dashed through the red lights even though the lights were on our favour when we were crossing halfway liao ... [furious]

KNN .... [furious][furious]

Have to watch out vehicles movement at all times even it is in favour to pedestrians. Do not take for granted that vehicles will stop or give way... I personally experienced once at signalised pedestrian crossing, traffic light to drivers was red, green man light appeared, then walk across the road, 1 vehicle on the outer (right ) lane of 2 lane did not stop in time..and had an e-brake, stopped 1 m away from me.

Bro, mine was the same scenario like yours but that CB just dashed through .. [furious]

Heng was alert & shouted to my bor & child to stopped ... [furious]

I use this junction to turn right in Buangkok Drive regularly. While I'm waiting for the padestrain on the right to cross, there's always those joker would straightaway turn right when oncoming traffic is clear without consideration that padestrain are still crossing. Padestrain crossing that junction please take note, even if the light is green in your favour..

Before that there was another fatal accident a year ago involving padestrain. Same junction.

This junction is quite big and be it pedestrian or motorist, they have to be alert.

This girl's family happen to live in the same condo as I. My condolescence to the parents.

As for the driver, good luck to him.

Sad. Girl RIP.

Everyone please hold your children's hands when crossing the road.

and hold such that you face the oncoming traffic rather than your child, and that is assuming really kanna hit, you will take the brunt rather than the child. But then, if the hit is too strong and the parent pass on, the kid and family will all suffer.

Anyway, only cross when can see all cars have stopped. But watch out for bikes which may squeese between lanes.

When I was a NSF, I also nearly kanna langar by a van at a traffic junction too. Green man was in my favour for at least 10 sec.

This junction is quite big and be it pedestrian or motorist, they have to be alert.

This girl's family happen to live in the same condo as I. My condolescence to the parents.

As for the driver, good luck to him.

Previous year accident, http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...unggol+accident

Same junction,

Culprit also van Driver,

Death also padestrain,

Scenario: Also turning right, but failed to lookout for padestrain crossing.

7th month not over yet.. :o

Pardon my differing views.. if the same place happen a few times, then I would say, it's a bad road design.

Of course no one will agree because our road system is number 1.

Think about it.

1. 69 year old driving a van driver, how fast can he go. Very likely he did not see it and fail to brake in time.

2. A decent school girl who is very highly likely will be obedient and cross when the light is red.

Why can still happen?

Did'nt a road design should be robust enough to include possibility of people misjudge and it should cover all blind spot? We are designing something that could cost lives of others.

Driver need to be vigilant is a must. But keeping it 100% at all time for all drivers to do so may be asking for too much. The risk is too high.

I can be completely wrong and it's ok to disagree.

MY HEART GOES TO THE FAMILY. I HAVE A 10 yr old DAUGHTER TOO.

Edited by Quirky_ster

Where the area I stay also got quite big traffic junction. Always can hear brakes screeching very badly. Nowadays less, can hardly here any. I realised small flashing amber lights were installed flushed to the roads where pedestrian cross.

That area is quite jialat cos got MRT track pillar is causing a lot of blind spot for cars turning or doing u-turn.