Sylphy vs. Allion (1.5A)

Diesel

Allion vs. Sylphy (1.5A)  

186 members have voted

1. 1. Which is your choice?

• Totyota Allion
    • Nissan Sylphy

Hi Moible1,

I had install my ultra racing strut bar & lower arm bar at this shop at JB and change my coil spring to lower down my pREMIo.

Address is at No. 35 Jalan Ros Merah 2/5, Taman Johor Jaya, 81100 Johor Bahru. (www.boostzone.com.my)

Regards

aNTHONy

P.S. If you are a driving a premio just let them know to follow (allion model) strut bar for ultra racing.

Thanks bro, will make a trip down when time permits. Btw how much he charged you?? Dun wanna kanna chopped jialat jialat..

I driving an Allion. [thumbsup]

of cos heavier when full tank hahahhas.. allion full tank is 60 litres of petrol leh >< mai siao siao lolss....

just a random query to all allion owners.. allion's S mode beside the D is second gear ratio? or sports ratio? i always tot it's second gear ratio but one day i floor at S, i saw the rpm drops slightly after certain speed =S now im confused if it's Second gear ratio? or sports mode hahahahhaas...

Not too sure... I seldom played with it...

My advise is dun play with it too often... CVT very unpredictable...

Hehe...

Allion being 1.5, I was impressed by its size and the spacious back seats. As it is heavier I guess compared to other jap models, when I sat in an Allion, it always gave me a sense of assurance.

That's the magic of CVT gearbox.

magic XD I did some online research it shows that's no such thing as gearing ratio in cvt. Meaning those S and B mode in our cvt box is only to maximize the engine power keeping the rpm high. It also induce higher engine brake coming with the power thus the second and first gear 'feeling' . Meaning it's actually a unhealth sports mode which does not really damage the engine even when it roars at 5-6k rpm but rather prolong bursting of power will damage the cvt box. This means that using the S mode to burst power for faster overtaking is fine, but nt use the S mode to drag for too long.. In addition to wad I read, cvt is able to keep our engine at a constant power thus maximizing the fuel consumption.. Tts why cvt cars are very fuel efficient. However, cvt is limited to low bhp cars in the past due to the limitations. This is no longer true anymore now. Best example if anyone doubts the reliability of allion, the toyota crown. It uses super cvt I too :) dunno how true is my readings but, they make sense to me XD any one correct me if I'm wrong hahahas.. I'm always interested to learn abt cars:)

HI all members: i intends to get a Sylphy 1.5.

pls let me have yr feedbacks on this car.

thanks

I have been driving this car for the past 3 yrs.

I do enjoy this car becos of the spacious interior, quiet engine, smooth ride and relatively average FC 12.5 km per litre.

Some ppl will say 1.5L engine not enough power, but it really depends what you want for performance. If you expect this car to outrun a Honda Fit, it may (depending how you drive it). This car is most ideal for smooth cruising, enjoying the quiet ride in city driving like Singapore. However, I can achieve constant 140km/h - 150km/h on NSH.

The only complaint I have is the suspension. It is really soft esp on the rear (Nissan cited it is for comfort for passengers behind which I agree cos most of my passengers enjoy the soft suspension)

I will consider to change to a harder shock absorbers once these set worn out.

Well, it really boils to what are your expectations.

Sporty : Honda & Mazda & Mitsubishi

Everyday car : Toyota

Comfort : Nissan

Test all these cars out and do a personal evaluation yrself (w/o SE hard selling)

Cheers & enjoy your car shopping (I LOVE CAR SHOPPING, SO MUCH FUN) [:p]

it's a [thumbsup] car. not many small cc (for those who want rd tax & maintenance savings) car around with the same level of refinement, comfort & luxurious feel.

can consider the Allion as well [sly]

Hi all: thks for yr feedback.

the new car comes with yokohama Aspec tyres. is it ok in terms of wet grip and noise level? did you all change the rim & tyres?

the car only comes with AT instead of CVT. noisy in changing of gear under AT?

don't see a lot of sylphy 1.5 on the road.

appreciate yr feedback again.

My experience with Aspec dB is [thumbsdown] skidded a few times in the wet when i fitted them on my 1st car.

Otherwise it's quiet & comfortable, complementing the luxury feel of the Sylphy [flowerface]

I had asked for 16" rims with tyres from my PI, as expected gave me some cheapo Falkens manufactured mid-2008 <_<

Intend to change the whole set once tyres wear off [flowerface]

I've test-driven the Sylphy a few times and feel that if driven normally/gently, is very smooth & can't really feel the gear shifts [thumbsup]

But once revved the engine noise i feel is pretty intrusive, but the car picked up correspondingly as well, so not too bad.

I'm seeing more Sylphys on the road nowadays, compared to the 1st 2 yrs it was launched, have always liked this car for it's comfort & luxurious feel [thumbsup] but i think now it's gaining potential buyers' votes

My experience with Aspec dB is [thumbsdown] skidded a few times in the wet when i fitted them on my 1st car.

Otherwise it's quiet & comfortable, complementing the luxury feel of the Sylphy [flowerface]

I had asked for 16" rims with tyres from my PI, as expected gave me some cheapo Falkens manufactured mid-2008 <_<

Intend to change the whole set once tyres wear off [flowerface]

I've test-driven the Sylphy a few times and feel that if driven normally/gently, is very smooth & can't really feel the gear shifts [thumbsup]

But once revved the engine noise i feel is pretty intrusive, but the car picked up correspondingly as well, so not too bad.

I'm seeing more Sylphys on the road nowadays, compared to the 1st 2 yrs it was launched, have always liked this car for it's comfort & luxurious feel [thumbsup] but i think now it's gaining potential buyers' votes

;

Hi Diesel: thks for yr prompt response.

any suggestion what tyre to change and should i upgrade to 16" ?

i'm not too into tyres, so long they are new & no leak i'm [thumbsup]

Collect the car as it is & drive it 1st, then change whatever u want, more economical [flowerface]

;

Hi Diesel: thks for yr prompt response.

any suggestion what tyre to change and should i upgrade to 16" ?

I changed the Yokohama to Bridgestone GR80 becos I almost skidded w Yokohama stock tyres in a heavy rainfall.

Been using this GR80 for almost 2 yrs and is serving me well (both dry & wet as well as quietness)

Try it.

Hi Guys Im new here.

Is a second hand car with 9 years to go but only 1k COE pathetic to buy? Please advice.

I changed the Yokohama to Bridgestone GR80 becos I almost skidded w Yokohama stock tyres in a heavy rainfall.

Been using this GR80 for almost 2 yrs and is serving me well (both dry & wet as well as quietness)

Try it.

Thks.

thought of changing to Michelin tyres. are you on 15" or 16" rim?

anyone have recommendation to install led scuff plate for allion ? >< hahahhas.. roughly wads the price wise.. for all 4 doors..

It is about $140~160 depending on shops include installation.

Planning to get it. But i realised my mum like to step on the side b4 she got off the car.

Scare installed later lots of scratches. Heart will become painful so dropped the idea.

But i got chrome handles on my allion!

DSC07138.jpg