Sign of global recession continuing?

Nostalgia

Didn't mean be wet blanket but if one look at the Great Depression stock chart...during the 2nd year, it actually recover around 50% (which is what happen now)..and plunge to like a free fall and never recover till after 2nd world war...

I really hope will not happen but looking at the world economics..still doesn't look good...US printed hell lots of $$ but seem to do little and unemployment still high. In Asia, although manufacturing seem to be picking up, hopefully it's really driven by demand and not bcos to stock up for the hoildays seasons in 4th QTR ..else... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Didn't mean be wet blanket but if one look at the Great Depression stock chart...during the 2nd year, it actually recover around 50% (which is what happen now)..and plunge to like a free fall and never recover till after 2nd world war...

I really hope will not happen but looking at the world economics..still doesn't look good...US printed hell lots of $$ but seem to do little and unemployment still high. In Asia, although manufacturing seem to be picking up, hopefully it's really driven by demand and not bcos to stock up for the hoildays seasons in 4th QTR ..else... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

The DOUBLE DIP!! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Thanks for the article. Very sobering. I've wondered kately why the market is behaving so bullish-ly, but I've struggled to explain why prices are rising up so quickly. ie: $90,000+ honda civics, $1 million+ condos in the heartlands, record IT sales. I'm no economist, but I can't help but feel that this is a false dawn. Have Singaporeans really saved up so much money and have so much liquidity that they are plunging in now? How many percent of the population is that? I wonder how much of it is in loans, and how much of it is in cash. And why are prices being chased up? Are Singaporeans so kiasu, and are jumping head-in now, for fear of having missed the bottom in the last few months?

Sold my HDB and will wait for the price to moderate. It may not crash but I looking forward to a 20% dip. Those of you who have alternative accomodation, consider doing this. The current HDB prices just do not make sense. This could turn out to be an opportunity for those who dare.

Thanks for the article. Very sobering. I've wondered kately why the market is behaving so bullish-ly, but I've struggled to explain why prices are rising up so quickly. ie: $90,000+ honda civics, $1 million+ condos in the heartlands, record IT sales. I'm no economist, but I can't help but feel that this is a false dawn. Have Singaporeans really saved up so much money and have so much liquidity that they are plunging in now? How many percent of the population is that? I wonder how much of it is in loans, and how much of it is in cash. And why are prices being chased up? Are Singaporeans so kiasu, and are jumping head-in now, for fear of having missed the bottom in the last few months?

This is called social engineering.

Our economy is built upon false hopes, dirty money and exploitation of peasants.

All what it takes is for USA or China to announce a major bad news and the market will free fall. Believe there are still many things swept under the carpet yet to be unveiled since the financial crisis.

No need to check out the harbours. One look at JTC flatted factories loading bay you will know. Traditionally around this time till yr end, loading bay is filled with containers, now it's like a ghost town. [sweatdrop]

Last mth when I went for a ext corporate training, I got to know a loans (housing) approval manager from HSBC. She also cannot fathom the deluge of applications for housing loans and the way its coming in. Majority are HDB upgraders (the super rich dun need loan I suppose) .... The volumn of application as she describes - scary. [sweatdrop]

let me guess... how many are employed by gahmen civil service and armed forces combined? if we add vendors (employees) who support the gahmen with long-term contracts, the number is quite a lot. these people have almost iron rice bowls.

those who deal strictly in commercial, well...

No need to check out the harbours. One look at JTC flatted factories loading bay you will know. Traditionally around this time till yr end, loading bay is filled with containers, now it's like a ghost town. [sweatdrop]

KJE used to be very crowded with trucks, lorries and workers heading to factories in Tuas during the peak hours. Now, the traffic is quite clear in the morning. [sweatdrop]

put it simply, it's a good time to sell, not buy

Decided to let go of some NOL shares for a small profit, after reading this thread.

Edited by Albeniz