COMEX 2009

Longhorn

I am looking for a DSLR and was wondering if it is worthwhile to visit Comex? or izzit all just hype? I ve never been to thesee exhibitions previously as turned off by the crowd. thx

You can hop by to COMEX if you wana squeeze with the crowds and are patient enough. There will be good discounts especially on the last day (Sunday).

If I am not wrong, Audio House and all other camera ADs are there (Nikon, Olympus). But please avoid Song Brothers. There prices are nothing special and the service stuff sucks. Once I wanted to buy a normal cam and usually they have display sets there at the booth for you to try, 1 UNKER took away the camera battery before I wana take a look at it (another customer had tried on it before me). I ask him that i wana try and he said that batt spoil la, u really wana buy anot la. [thumbsdown] Damn lame. Avoid them at all costs.

I am looking for a DSLR and was wondering if it is worthwhile to visit Comex? or izzit all just hype? I ve never been to thesee exhibitions previously as turned off by the crowd. thx

R u a current DSLR user? Which model u r looking for? If u r looking for Nikon, i still have the brochure now.

was an SLR user... Minolta..now dinosaur liao hahaha. I'm looking at Canon, either 450 or 500D. I was told the only diff is the 500 can record video. Never used Nikon, somehow got the impression that their lenses are expensive (just my own impression)

Sorry cannot help u then. I m a nikon siao. From Film SLR to Digital SLR.

You can hop by to COMEX if you wana squeeze with the crowds and are patient enough. There will be good discounts especially on the last day (Sunday).

If I am not wrong, Audio House and all other camera ADs are there (Nikon, Olympus). But please avoid Song Brothers. There prices are nothing special and the service stuff sucks. Once I wanted to buy a normal cam and usually they have display sets there at the booth for you to try, 1 UNKER took away the camera battery before I wana take a look at it (another customer had tried on it before me). I ask him that i wana try and he said that batt spoil la, u really wana buy anot la. [thumbsdown] Damn lame. Avoid them at all costs.

The name of the shop should then be called 'Bey Song Brothers' or 'Song Bo Brothers'.

Most of the time, during comex, price maybe reduce 50 to 100 or maybe they add more freebies.

And maybe special discount for buying better lens.

Additional pointer is that maybe got lucky draw.

But dun worry, you can get the same price and freebies from other shops outside. ( Maybe may need to go to comex to collect the goodies )

If you can tahan the jams, by all means go to comex.

OP and cathay prices and packages are not bad...maybe can have a look there first then go to hwz or vr zone forum look for posters for comex which they posted and do a comparison.

I just came back from Comex today. The canon 500D is selling at $1,399, yeah the same price as before. Only difference I notice is that an extra free gift: a printer. The canon booth is surrounded by crowds and I had to wait for a chance to try the display set.

Actually I've been using canon 500D for a few months, and went down today to check if they sell any lens at good prices. Sadly they are only selling cameras there, and lens are not sold separately.

As for the diff between 450D and 500D:

1) 500D has HD video recording, 450D doesn't;

2) 500D is 15 MP while 450D 12MP;

3) 500D uses DIGIC 4 processor while 450D DIGIC III, hence 500D faster in image processing;

4) Other minor differences that I can't recall (e.g. cosmetic, more AF points, etc)

I got 500D kit I and the 18-55mm lens is quickly showing its limit. I tried the 55-250mm and 18-205mm lens today. While the former seemed a bit slow in focusing, the latter couldn't focus on objects 20cm away, which is strange as my 18-55mm lens had no such problem.

Hope the above helps.

nikon booth is a waste of time. the prices are crap.

i know cos i follow the price guide online. rather get proper service from decent shops and cut the freebies and BS at this kind of fair

usually products with really gd prices would be wipe out on the first day. Then got to wait till last day where they will slash prices from 10 to 100 dollars depending on products to clear stocks, and usually they wld also throw in more freebies at this junction.