Fate of Chartered Semiconductor?

Albeniz

What will be the fate of Chartered after its take over by Abu Dhabi?

Would it be for the better? What are your views?

Chartered is one of the biggest employers in Singapore. Will current employees be affected?

One of my friends is a technician there. I think he is going to lose his job. He was on off-duty rotation today, when he was summoned to the office this morning, along with several of his colleagues. Waiting to hear his fate soon.

In these games these big shots play, it's the little guys who lose big... lose their ricebowls, whilst the hojinx gang probably will get a fat bonus for cutting loss of this Chartered albatross.

not too sure if the selling price is good for timisik, but getting rid of this non performing asset is good. semi-con is becoming commoditised. china with the lower cost all round, u can't beat them.

woot? even non-management level like technicians will kanna meh?

Man, i tot the managerial position employees' balls would shrink more, cos work still has to be done, by the worker class.

woot? even non-management level like technicians will kanna meh?

Man, i tot the managerial position employees' balls would shrink more, cos work still has to be done, by the worker class.

They just hired a few hundred more technicians over the weekend, so it's not possible these class of people are laid off.

not too sure if the selling price is good for timisik, but getting rid of this non performing asset is good. semi-con is becoming commoditised. china with the lower cost all round, u can't beat them.

Certain high tech manufacturing will still have to be done here, unless China improves their IP laws.

Ever wondered why Intel does not have any CPU manufacturing facilities in China despite the cheap labour there?

Chartered focuses on the wafer fab business but what I don't understand is why when global economy is booming, they report losses, and when global economy is in recession, they also report losses, like Tangs. They never managed to bridge the technology gap between themselves and the 2 Taiwanese players.

Hopefully the new shareholders can do a better job managing Chartered.

not necessary bro... as the biggest semiconductors coy in sg, i tink it still has hope only waiting for chance only... tat's oso the reason y they are still surviving...

Certain high tech manufacturing will still have to be done here, unless China improves their IP laws.

Ever wondered why Intel does not have any CPU manufacturing facilities in China despite the cheap labour there?

Intel has at least one hugh factory in Suzhen leh.

Chartered is managed by FT, very good pay already. if I were them, why should I work so hard? work hard and how much more can their pay increase, already so high! some more, their living here should be very comfortable, why ask for trouble

not necessary bro... as the biggest semiconductors coy in sg, i tink it still has hope only waiting for chance only... tat's oso the reason y they are still surviving...

Still surviving cos got government backup mah.

Of cos we all hope it can do well lar. [thumbsup]

at the end of the day... at the rate temasick seems to be selling off all out national assets... will there be any left?

One day, all of singapore may be owned, lock stock and barrel, by the FTs and their countries.

Still surviving cos got government backup mah.

Of cos we all hope it can do well lar. [thumbsup]

i read in the papers saying that teemasek approve the buyout.

of course they happy to sell. got ppl take over toxic asset [lipsrsealed]

they never consider the workers when they sell. what if the new owner want to retrench those workers?