Leslielai 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 How many of you guys here receive sales calls on a continual basis from Pudential and its agents? They are damn thick skinned, thick in the skull and just god damned irritating. I get as many as 3 calls PER DAY and its pissing me off real bad. If any Prudential agents happen to read this, well bugger off. The world can do without you f--kers giving yourselves a fanciful title of FINANCIAL ADVISOR/CONSULTANT. What makes you think you're qualified? Just because you passed some mickey mouse papers? Stop ruining the name of finance. Sorry, just wanna vent some anger here. If this isn't appropriate please take it down. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 write an official email to their head office, requesting for ur name to be off their cold call marketing list complain to them... they may strike out ur name out from their marketing list and highlight to their cold call companies not to call u anymore however there may still be some left outs... then on ur side, if an agent or tele marketing agent call u.. get their names, details (eg. which company).... tell them not to call u.... as u are on their ''not to call'' list if they still persists, submit their details to their head office... complain again it works for me...at least with manulife... still, there are some pple who called, and are very persistant, until i told them, i am on the list, they kept apologising for this and no more calls.. the calls will cut down alittle....but not all.. at least this will be of a bit of help.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 I got the same problem when my "long-lost" classmate and ex-colleague both called me. Really got on my nerves and f@@ked them upside down. Been donkey years did not get in touch, suddenly maciam your buddy like that. To shut them off, I told them that my gf is a insurance agent as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkingidiot 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 or... you could try this trick with the next joker that calls you: How to Answer a Telemarketeer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 yah...tell them u no more money for these things or tell them, ur relatives doing this also they will shut up most of the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 actually for insurance, at least there are something that u can do about it i been getting some calls from this fitness centre bloody hell.. TURE Yoga knn.... having been calling me for every week in a row...saying what won lucky draw.. won promotional packages or having promotional packages then ask u go down...something like that hard selling one reason u can use.. u be overseas during that period of time another time i been approached by timeshare staff... a young gal asked me to pick a card or dont know what damn thing i did and was told i won the grand prize (should be what dont; know biggest discount of a draw) then was asked to go for something like a talk i did told the gal that before i was about to draw..i dont have time for such things as i going overseas the next day...so i intend to shop for my items she says 5 mins only, which is why i decided to draw... who knows..i kena such things then the boss took over and tried to convince me to go for the one hour talk that time was around 8pm..if go for the talk, it will be 9pm then i decided it's fishy...cos no free lunch in this world lah so decided not to go... the boss says..please help this gal.if not she will lose her bonus i told off the boss straight i told him.. ''look here, before i draw this thing, i told u i be going overseas tomorrow and ur gal says it will only take up 5 mins of my time, now u want me to go for a one hour talk''? what is this? pls dont waste my time, the shops are closing soon and i be leaving for Europe tomorrow... k n n... they diam diam and let me go But really, i was waiting for my gf and i got no time for them..they really spoilt my evening that nite comeon...marketers,agents and pple from insurance and esp from TURE YOGA (its not ''False Yoga'')... if u are reading this.... please give us a break if u cannot bother to update ur data base on what we told u... then dont expect us to entertain u time and again... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Worst I got is the insurance company which provides you with 6-month free insurance when you buy a new cashcard. Called me to verify my details and tried to get me to buy more insurance. When I just said, "No thanks", the line went dead immediately without even saying anything. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 (edited) TS just curious, ruining the name of finance? The same finance that brought highnotes and minibonds to the mass market? The same finance that engineered the products? The same finance that was the cause of subprime? What name does finance have now? Please enlighten. At least i know the medishield plan i have bought for my grandmother is helping with medical costs of the family now, what has finance done for us? Every occupation has its black sheep and every occupation has dirty work to do, like TP, parking wardens. I am a consultant with Prudential and proud of it. Im sure if you ask them to be put on the ignore list they will stop. Ask for their names and if they call again escalate up to the higher authority to handle them. Btw im holding a deg in BnF and undergoing CFP lvl 2. Dont insult the ones who take their work seriously and ethically. Jackasses in this line are plenty like my ex colleauge and im handling 3 complains a week after taking over her work. Sweeping all of us in 1 big statement and challenging our qualifications just shows that you are a bigot and no different from those who spam you. To be frank I wouldnt have posted but it felt almost like a personal insult to me so here I am, voicing my own opinion on the matter. Edited September 7, 2009 by Lammy84 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 i'm surprised how these ppl know my number and name i just tell them "wrong number" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 (edited) Problem with so called Finance is , it used to be a respected job where one has specialized knowledge and know-how. Currently , it is just a job full of sales people. Yes , they are driven and some might have enough knowledge and passion for their job. Given that a job name (financial adviser) so dignified can be done by a person with 4 O's while other financial jobs like accountants and "financial" analyst needs a minimal degree. How do you define capability and capacity to give proper advice? MAS is looking into it but it is too little and too late. In my field , i have seen too many young people taking up too much credit for various reasons , many of which called in the finance line, mostly sales related. Note here , these people are so called financially trained and professionals , yet the simple acts of over leveraging is so evident that sometimes it makes me wonder should they be in the gaming industry instead? My insurance agent is in the biz for more than 20 years spoke of it recently. The current batch of insurance agents or so called FINANCIAL ADVISERS aren't proficient in their knowledge to be qualified for that name. Many of them can't even explain what is the difference between what are sales speech and actual financial know-how. My insurance agent still sticks to his job name as an insurance agent as it simply describes what he is doing. I used to ask a few simple question which would usually baffle them. Are you able to explain to me why should i be buying from you instead of my usual adviser (usually they will give you crap and tell you i can offer better service etc. etc) . If so can you write me a guarantee form with signature for which if you decide to leave , you would have pay for all my cost of buying those insurance as i would have lost your excellent service and my opportunity cost of buying with an adviser which has being in the business for so long. I do apologize if i offended anyone from the financial sales industry. What I'm trying to do is just voice some concerns coming from the back office as well as some views as a consumer. Edited September 7, 2009 by CH_CO Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 True Yoga and her sister company True Spa called me countless times also. And i actually went for their free massage at True Spa. 1st time i went, had a good massage and spent some time listening to their sales talk but nothing came out of it. A few months later, i was surprised that they called me again. So went 2nd time. This time, after the wonderful massage (really good), i walked from the massage room straight to the exit. Heard some ladies shouting "Sir! Sir! Don't go yet! Sir! Haven't finish yet SIR!!!" But I bo chap just continue walking. Now waiting for them to call me again. hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drive_carcar Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Most of them are just trying to make an honest living by selling insurance. If you are not interested just tell them so, and do it nicely. Remember, what goes around comes around. Now they need you, one day you need somebody else. The somebody else may just be the one who will pay you back for being nasty to people. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Firebo14 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 They're there for your money.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Byond 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Well, maybe they want to give u special leh... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 8, 2009 Share September 8, 2009 for me i usually let them finish their opening speech, then i tell them nicely and firmly that i am not interested and i dont have the time. i do think that they are after all just making a living, an a tough one, so i dont get rude at them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear September 8, 2009 Share September 8, 2009 Hehe...actually the best way to get rid of them...is...answer the call....leave the hp on the table...and 5 minutes later if the agent is still talking...leave it on the table again....until he/she hang up. hehe I have free incoming and the agent can talk to the air for all i care. I am sure you will hardly get a call again....better than saying you are not interested cos they will still call you again another few weeks later. If its from those call centre folks...usually..they get $$$ if they manage to get pass the opening speech....usually 1 minute. I will just listen....and 40 seconds later hang up without saying anything Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear September 8, 2009 Share September 8, 2009 How many of you guys here receive sales calls on a continual basis from Pudential and its agents? They are damn thick skinned, thick in the skull and just god damned irritating. I get as many as 3 calls PER DAY and its pissing me off real bad. If any Prudential agents happen to read this, well bugger off. The world can do without you f--kers giving yourselves a fanciful title of FINANCIAL ADVISOR/CONSULTANT. What makes you think you're qualified? Just because you passed some mickey mouse papers? Stop ruining the name of finance. Sorry, just wanna vent some anger here. If this isn't appropriate please take it down. I was one of their kinder customers per se, after 2 times i decided to meet with the agent to see what he has to say. So on the appointed date and time i waited at their Fuji Xerox office. Yeap, i waited... and waited and waited. For 1 hour he didnt show. No phone calls no nothing. I went home. 2 days later i got another agent calling me asking me if i'm interested.... blah blah blah. I fcuked the fella over the phone and told her that her agents stood me up and she still got the cheek to call me again. Prudential people if you're listening to me now i tell you once and for all - Wake up your fcuking idea, rule #1 you do not ever stand up a potential client. What a retarded move by a major corporation. Never again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 8, 2009 Share September 8, 2009 (edited) Very well said. The term financial advisor is used too loosely. How can someone who has just passed a set of SIMPLE papers be qualified to be called that?? Wat a joke! As a matter of fact, they are just salesmen. To add in, I've 11 friends who are financial advisors. Out of this 11, only 1 is really successful, 1 is doing OK. The other 9, cannot even manage their own finances properly. I'm not talking about young punks that just graduated, these frens of mine are all in their late 20s to early 30s. Edited September 8, 2009 by Rickster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...