Child Seats: Which model suitable?

Mechwira

this is how I transport my twin boys (3rd and 4th) from the MPV to my HDB unit [laugh]

bro ...

PRICELESS Pics! make sure u dont lost those pics ... tell ur kids when they r older - see u were transported on top of ntuc trolleys :)

wah ... twins ... how u managed handling them at nite?

i am using the Inglesina Marco Polo [thumbsup], good for infant till 3~4yrs old

its not that i hao lian or what but somehow i dont trust those cheap car seat where you can get it from some super market or those super cheap china/malaysia made seat cus i always believe in paying for quality product esp when its involve in child (esp your own kid) safety.

another advice is if possible, try not to get 2nd hand, cus you dont know the history of the car seat. if the car seat been in a serious accident, it may suffer some internal damage where you might not be able to notice/see and *touch wood* if you to meet a serious accident, the car seat may not be able to function the way it should function and when you regret, it will be too late ... and also, if your particular about hygiene, you may not know if the car seat is clean or not (my kid stain the carseat 2x with her poo and 1x her vomit)

also, if you intend to buy those "hand carry" type, its good that you may want to consider those travel system like quinny, peg perego, inglesina, etc ... it can double up as your stroller

bro... i'm currently using Maxi Cosi Cabrio Fix in the car. This can be attached to the stroller directly which i find it convenient as i do not have to take the bb out of the car seat and then put him on the stroller. [rolleyes]

walan

2 ntuc trolley somemore

[rolleyes]

one for the twins, the other was for bringing up all the sundries (once a month) that we just bought during that day.

bro ...

PRICELESS Pics! make sure u dont lost those pics ... tell ur kids when they r older - see u were transported on top of ntuc trolleys :)

yah men, the twins (4yrs+) were laughting when I show them this picture last night [thumbsup]

will compiled all my family and kids digi photo onto a DVD+RW DL for safe keeping [thumbsup]

in the storeroom waiting for kid #5 ar?

still driving ur Jet?

no lar, 4 already cannot tahan liao [sweatdrop]

unless I kanna the CNY Toto, then maybe will aim for #5 [laugh]

yah, still driving the Jet

Edited by Vtim

bro ...

during the 1st 2 yrs, a bit siong for me, as I work from home, so automatically, I have to wake up every few hours and make milk for them, initially, both having different timing, so it was like once every almost every 2 hrs I have make milk for either one of them, after a week or so, I cannot take it, so if anyone of them need milk, I just make 2 bottle and just feed both of them at the sametime [sweatdrop]

My wife interested. Where you buy kids from NTUC Fairprice? Which isle? She don't want to go through birthing process. [flowerface]

wah, how I wish it was that simple also [laugh]

Well, it is really good to see MCF people carrying for their children. I have seen a friend that does not want baby seat because it will occupy 1 seat in the car. Heard that he needs this seat to fetch friends. I wonder how he fetch his kid when he is alone?

There's a baby fair @ taka can check out. Think u shld go for up to 8 year old type. There are in the market for reversible for less than 1 year old and forward facing for more than 1 year. Cost ard $700 plus but u'll b using 4 7~8 year so it's worth it. Note if u have side air bags u cannot place child seat there unless air bag cab be deactivated.

2nd hand, better not get them from unknown ppl, neber know got crash or drop b4.

Sorry to bring up a old thread.

Just wanna share something I believe to be important.

Bought a brand new Maxi Cosi Priori XP child seat during the Motherhood Fair in June this year.

The seat is meant for 9mth -3.5yrs.. so a good 3yrs of usage at least.

After I got the seat, I found out that it was manufactured in May 2005.

A quick search from the web led me to these 2 websites.

http://www.childrestraintsafety.com/manufa...expiration.html

http://www.childrestraints.co.nz/manufacture-expiry.php

Bottomline.

All child seats have a lifespan due to degradation of the plastic.

Most are only good for 5yrs from date of MANUFACTURING.

So my brand new car seat will, by this definition, be a "expired" seat.

I have gotten in contact with the retailer and the local distributor but have yet to get any response on the safety of the seat.

Buyer beware.............