Mechwira 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hi all. I have a on the way in jan. i've been looking around at all the baby stuff i need, and i find myself a little confused by child seats. Most models i see seem too large to fit a newborn; they look like their size is meant to accommodate above a year old where the child can at least be propped upright. their seat straps also look like will be way too loose. Or am i wrong about this? Do these seats really one size fits all including newborns? Anyone with experience to share much appreciated. Also interested in secondhand child seats with reasonable price if anybody willing to let go, particularly a clean example that the owner confirms can fit a newborn. Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 get a 2nd hand, reverse bassinet which can last for at least the initial 6 months. infant neck & back are not strong enough for other seat. dun be con by those ad which claim the car seat is suitable from newborne to 4yo. Need to pass on my existing bassinet somewhere in early next year as well, else can pass to ya. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Author Share September 7, 2009 get a 2nd hand, reverse bassinet which can last for at least the initial 6 months. infant neck & back are not strong enough for other seat. dun be con by those ad which claim the car seat is suitable from newborne to 4yo. Need to pass on my existing bassinet somewhere in early next year as well, else can pass to ya. :) thanks for your clarification, very glad you warned me that claims about able to fit newborne to 4yo not necessarily true. this was exactly my worry, coz all the seats i see at kiddy palace and john little really look oversized for newborn. and yeah its exactly the neck and back support of these oversized seats that worry me. sorry to sound really noob, but wats a reverse bassinet? maybe a pic to enlighten me? or maybe can share where you bought yours and for how much? thanks again. btw, my infant arrives early jan, so i dun think able to wait for you to let go heh heh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 sorry, I meant reverse facing bassinet. my kiddo are 6yo & 2yo liao.... bassinet passing on to someone else rah. hahaha. u should be able to buy a decent 2nd hand pcs for abt $50. Go surf parenting forum like idobaby This is the one Im refering to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 This one $38 nia.... can consider :) http://singapore.locanto.sg/ID_102184511/E...by-carrier.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 This one look new.... go bargain for cheaper price :) http://singapore.locanto.sg/ID_101922364/GRACO-CAR-SEAT.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Author Share September 7, 2009 eh thanks for the pic man, yeah now thats one that looks like its meant for newborn. now i know what kind to look for really glad i didn buy those 'sitting' car seats, might have ended up hurting my baby. and thanks for the links too. certainly on the lookout for secondhand, provided they're clean. anyone else with useful input like particular models and price and place to buy for first hand still welcome. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aquace21 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 I heard there is one type that can turn the angle of the seat in such a way that it is facing you, so that placing the baby/child on the seat is so convenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bern2 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Please do note that baby car seats have a limited warranty and lifespan. This is due to the plastic deteriorating over time. (quite standard for all plastics including plastic baby bottles) Do check out the use by date normally printed somewhere on the frame itself before you buy. This is for both new and used types. Also, do not use back a baby/child seat after an accident. As mentioned above, rearward facing is best for newborn till around 1 year old. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tantinghui32 Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 like the one in Post #4 , thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 I got mine from Tesco, brand new at RM$89. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Powerhouse Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 (edited) Hi, I have the similar type as post in #4, if your child is arriving into the world,2010 Jan, My child will not be able to fit in and will be selling away anyway. PM me if you are interested. Thanks Oh by the way, Congrats to you and your wife. Edited September 7, 2009 by Powerhouse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartbreakkidz Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Glad to see such a helpful forummer around,thumbs up for u bro :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Author Share September 7, 2009 Please do note that baby car seats have a limited warranty and lifespan. This is due to the plastic deteriorating over time. (quite standard for all plastics including plastic baby bottles) Do check out the use by date normally printed somewhere on the frame itself before you buy. This is for both new and used types. Also, do not use back a baby/child seat after an accident. As mentioned above, rearward facing is best for newborn till around 1 year old. thanks for the heads-up, i know not to use post-accident safety equipment, but didn know the lifespan will be printed on the child seat. will check if i buy secondhand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mechwira 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Author Share September 7, 2009 Hi, I have the similar type as post in #4, if your child is arriving into the world,2010 Jan, My child will not be able to fit in and will be selling away anyway. PM me if you are interested. Thanks Oh by the way, Congrats to you and your wife. thanks for the offer, i assume you still using it now till jan, so i cant purchase it from you now. i will kiv your offer but of coz if you find another buyer go ahead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Peregrine Clutched September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Good to see a parent-to-be already looking to get an appropriate baby safety seat before the arrival of baby. And the prompt and helpful replies. Indeed it is wiser and safer to bring home baby in such a seat than carry in arms for the first car trip home from hospital. If you are looking for new one, perhaps there might be some on offer at departmental stores sales, like Takashima Baby Fair (now till 13 Sep 09) There was a short writeup in last Satrurday's (5 Sep 09) Straits Times Classified page C8 on "Buckle up the kids" that is worth reading. It includes How car seat works, Child seat compatibility and More safety tips. You may find it helpful to look up a discussion thread on car safety seats for children at: http://www.civicfd-sg.com/viewtopic.php?t=6195 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hi all. I have a on the way in jan. i've been looking around at all the baby stuff i need, and i find myself a little confused by child seats. Most models i see seem too large to fit a newborn; they look like their size is meant to accommodate above a year old where the child can at least be propped upright. their seat straps also look like will be way too loose. Or am i wrong about this? Do these seats really one size fits all including newborns? Anyone with experience to share much appreciated. Also interested in secondhand child seats with reasonable price if anybody willing to let go, particularly a clean example that the owner confirms can fit a newborn. Thanks in advance. for infant and newborn, you should be getting this, infant child seat, can carry it around and comes with a docking based which can leave inside the car, it is sold seperately or comes as part of a Travel System from Graco. I used them for all my 4 kids, no regrets http://www.gracobaby.com/search%20results/...search=7U01WYN3 here is one of mine, still in the store room Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 this is how I transport my twin boys (3rd and 4th) from the MPV to my HDB unit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...