Verve 1st Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 beat this at least he is not humping the car ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 old news la.... the kiosks are the one who provide the platform as well.... Back in 2006, I did saw 1 joker driving a heavy kitted mit lancer glx....over reverse @ one of the station near Muar... OUCH!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 wah then how to get out of it? Jack up the car using his mini jack for changing tyre? Then remove the ramp? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sammy_koh Neutral Newbie September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 its a stream my frd. guess u dun know much about cars too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 i didnt believe somebody will actually do this until i saw the pic in the first post. gosh, wtf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 (edited) Not uncommon though and the platform is provided by the kiosk... If they put it there, surely you will drive up too... Edited September 6, 2009 by Xspace Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ichibawa 5th Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 Just doing a public service. If any of you knows any friends of yours who still pump petrol in such manner please send them this reminder. http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Owners/Mai...70519-5278.html It'll ruin your car Tan Mae Lynn Sun, Dec 24, 2006 The New Paper It is dangerous to fill petrol tanks to the brim and consumers shouldn't even top off their gas tanks to the nearest dollar, advised the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). On the US government agency's website, it said extra room in the fuel tank is needed to allow the fuel to expand. It noted: 'If you top off your tank, the extra gas may evaporate into your vehicle's vapour collection system. That system may be fouled and will not work properly, causing your vehicle to run poorly and have high gas emissions.' It also highlighted that gasoline vapours are harmful to breathe as they are a source of toxic air pollutants, which are also harmful to the ozone. 'Evaporation from the spillage of gas from overfilling can occur, contributing to the air pollution problem. Remember that you pay for the gas that evaporates or is spilled on the ground,' the statement noted. And you're likely to spill when you try and overfill your petrol tank. Petrol company ExxonMobil said it does not endorse such practices. Its spokesman said: 'The auto-stop mechanism is put in place for the convenience of the user ... (who) would not need to hold on to the pump during the filling of petrol. The mechanism also helps to prevent spillage from overfilling.' Similarly, fuel specialist Philip Chee of Chevron International said it's important to have some air space in a petrol tank. If there isn't air allowance in the tank, the carbon canisters inside could get wet and become ineffective. 'If the canister becomes inoperative, the car may emit obnoxious gas and pollute the environment,' he said. A spokesman for the Automobile Association of Singapore said of the cut-off device on petrol pumps: 'As a safety measure, all filling nozzles at petrol stations have a built-in cut-off device that is intended to reduce the possibility of spillage during refuelling.' 'We do not encourage motorists to maximise savings on petrol by refuelling with their cars tilted. Not only does the overflow of petrol increase fire hazards, petrol spillage is also detrimental to the paintwork.' Pay only for what leaves nozzle You may have seen the e-mail: don't fill your tank to the brim because the excess petrol flows back into the pump. The warning is that you end up paying for it. Online forums have been rife with discussions about petrol station benefiting from such excess fuel after the automatic trigger is released whenthe tank is full. Some netizens have even posted graphics online to show how this is supposedly done. So The New Paper on Sunday checked with the experts and it turned out to be an oily urban legend, at least for Singapore. The mechanism that is installed in these petrol pumps is not found here, but in some other countries such as the United States. There, some petrol stations have pumps equipped with a return valve to prevent harmful gas vapours being released into the environment. In Singapore, the payment counter jumps only when fuel leaves the pump nozzle, and not while it is in the hose. As the sensor at the nozzle measures the amount of fuel pumped out, consumers only pay for that 'out' amount, not the 'in-hose' amount. NO RETURN VALVE There isn't a return valve in the pump hose, as suggested by some netizens. Singapore does not have this system yet. Petrol companies Exxon Mobil, Shell and Chevron all said petrol does not flow back into the station's supply storage. Spring Singapore (Standards, Productivity and Innovation Board), which checks on pump accuracy, confirmed this to be true. A spokesman for Spring explained: 'A petrol pump consists of a nozzle and hose. When the tank is full, the sensor on the nozzle will automatically cut off the supply. There is no backflow. Consumers only pay for the amount dispensed from the nozzle.' The spokesman said the board conducts these tests regularly. She said these tests involve pumping oil from the petrol pump into a standard tank measure (25-litre capacity), and checking that amount against the petrol dispenser reading. The process is repeated three times to verify that the reading corresponds to the amount dispensed by the pump. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pyramid_sg Clutched September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 Penny wise pound foolish. How much money can one save on petrol by doing all these stunts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azimezat Neutral Newbie September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 all i can say typical singaporeans.... monkey see monkey do... one idiot put curtain in the car,,, and some other idiots also put.... so just live with it let them be a laughing stock to the rest of us... or at least a good laugh for myself.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear September 6, 2009 Share September 6, 2009 Why go through all that? Get gassed like me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laserjet Neutral Newbie September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hey bro, Though your remarks are aimed at the car driver, and not at anyone in particular in MCF, its still not nice to post so many expletives in a public forum. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Familymanz 3rd Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 wah then how to get out of it? Jack up the car using his mini jack for changing tyre? Then remove the ramp? aint sure, didnt stay long enough to see the ending to the drama Was rushing to link up with the convoy heading for a colleague wedding :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Alamak , my malaysia friend just sent me this photo while her father is at the petrol station few days ago. I think this owner has kind of over-doing it and there is a possibility that he will damage the rear suspension in long run. Got $$$ buy Honda Stream ..... must chut this type of pattern to pump petrol ... So Chi Cham .... Buy Kar Chia better lah ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Got $$$ buy Honda Stream ..... must chut this type of pattern to pump petrol ... So Chi Cham .... Buy Kar Chia better lah ... Hehe its like people who stop before ERP gantry for the clock to tick so that they can pay less... Frankly if I need to resort to doing all that to save a few bucks, I rather not drive. Taking bus and mrt is a better option...macham like someone wants to dine at a fine restaurant (spelled h-i-g-h c-l-a-s-s) but don't wanna pay for mineral water....go foodcourt or kopitiam eat better :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Not uncommon though and the platform is provided by the kiosk... If they put it there, surely you will drive up too... honestly, i wouldn't. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hmmm..... maybe should put it another way..... if taking 5 to 10 secs for rocking the car, can save you 3 to 5 dollars.... Would you wanna do it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hmmm..... maybe should put it another way..... if taking 5 to 10 secs for rocking the car, can save you 3 to 5 dollars.... Would you wanna do it? Thats why they say one type of rice raise hundreds type of people. I like to think I have some basis level of class....sooOoo I will not do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 7, 2009 Share September 7, 2009 Hehe its like people who stop before ERP gantry for the clock to tick so that they can pay less... Frankly if I need to resort to doing all that to save a few bucks, I rather not drive. Taking bus and mrt is a better option...macham like someone wants to dine at a fine restaurant (spelled h-i-g-h c-l-a-s-s) but don't wanna pay for mineral water....go foodcourt or kopitiam eat better :P Ya Loh ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...