Worrying for our children

Silverkris

Just had a fun talk with one of my chinese turned singapore citizen colleague, this is his story, a bit long but worth a see:

Β 

He come from Shanghai to Singapore to study at age of 18. Turned PR after finished his studies and working in Singapore, go back to Shanghai, get married as per his parents requirements and later his wife become PR too. They become Singapore Citizens (pink IC) 5 years ago and bore 2 childs, both Singapore Citizens. Nothing fanciful about his life and according to him, a lot of Chinese has turned Citizens in this way every year.

Β 

What is different is that these new citizens has a whole lot of cash that can be spent in Singapore. As he said, his grand parents was already affected by the one child policy in China, and gave birth to his father, and again, his father and mother, both single childs, left their fortune to him alone. When he migrate to Singapore, he of course bring his bank account with him. He has bought a private apartment here, but he can proudly say that his children will have no problem in applying for HDB / Condo the next time, even if the prices raise up to the million dollar level. (sure is stuck up when he says this).

Β 

Made me worry for my children all the same, how do our children fight against these children of the new citizens who has already inherited so much wealth? Just a pondering thought. and like he say, there are more and more of these new citizens that comes to Singapore every year........ hmmmmmmmm.

↑ Advertisement

Just had a fun talk with one of my chinese turned singapore citizen colleague, this is his story, a bit long but worth a see:

Β 

He come from Shanghai to Singapore to study at age of 18. Turned PR after finished his studies and working in Singapore, go back to Shanghai, get married as per his parents requirements and later his wife become PR too. They become Singapore Citizens (pink IC) 5 years ago and bore 2 childs, both Singapore Citizens. Nothing fanciful about his life and according to him, a lot of Chinese has turned Citizens in this way every year.

Β 

What is different is that these new citizens has a whole lot of cash that can be spent in Singapore. As he said, his grand parents was already affected by the one child policy in China, and gave birth to his father, and again, his father and mother, both single childs, left their fortune to him alone. When he migrate to Singapore, he of course bring his bank account with him. He has bought a private apartment here, but he can proudly say that his children will have no problem in applying for HDB / Condo the next time, even if the prices raise up to the million dollar level. (sure is stuck up when he says this).

Β 

Made me worry for my children all the same, how do our children fight against these children of the new citizens who has already inherited so much wealth? Just a pondering thought. and like he say, there are more and more of these new citizens that comes to Singapore every year........ hmmmmmmmm.

Β 

Simple, don't have children. Then no such worries.

As he said, his grand parents was already affected by the one child policy in China, and gave birth to his father, and again, his father and mother, both single childs, left their fortune to him alone.

Β 

Either u r talking crap, or he's talking crap.

Β 

The One-Child Policy was only enacted in 1979. His grandparents already affected? So his parents gave birth at 1 year old? What, he has 2 kids already? Still swimming in his balls that kind ah? Haben come out cannot count hor.

Β 

Β 

China's One Child Policy

Β 

So many millions of China's parents leave nothing for their kids except one rusty changkul to farm the rotten land, u have to choose a wealthy lineage to compare. Nothing but crap.

Β 

Β 

Yes millions of them left nothing .. and I don't think those million will get their Citizenship here or even PR.

Β 

Let say only about 1% of the Chinese are along wealthy lineage.

Β 

That is still 14 million.

Β 

and only 1% of them are attracted to Singapore and became PR

Β 

That is still 140 thousands.

Β 

I personally know of a few of such similar case. New PR/Citizen at their mid-late twenties with millions dollars worth of asset who settled in Singapore and they don't find HDB expensive at all, they probably compared with those higher-end properties in China, Hong Kong, London and may be LA.

Β 

My new neighbor is also recently came from China who just got his PR. He already has other properties elsewhere so he bought his HDB in our block and he find it quite affordable too (around 600K) just to rent out.

Β 

I guess if you make millions of dollars a year, condo and hDB in Singapore are indeed affordable.

Β 

I'm not worried about the competition. I just work on bringing up righteous, God fearing sons who are well adjusted and confident about themselves. The rest will fall into place nicely.

Β 

indeed, there is nothing to worry about.

Β 

Β 

Β 

Β 

Why must our children "fight against" them? Even without rich FT children, there are also children of rich locals. Everyone can coexist in harmony regardless of the parent's networth.

Β 

The One-Child Policy was only enacted in 1979. His grandparents already affected? So his parents gave birth at 1 year old? What, he has 2 kids already? Still swimming in his balls that kind ah? Haben come out cannot count hor.

Β 

Β 

China's One Child Policy

Β 

Β 

Is it? Sorry, but i really don't know about this policy. maybe I can question him about it..... hee hee thanks for the info.

Β 

Β 

Β 

China's One Child Policy

Β 

Β 

actually, it doesn't concern us in singapore that the majority (if this is even the case) of mainland chinese are poor. but u just need a few % of the rich ones to come here and compete with us then we GG liao.

Β 

of course if they come here stay private property, i dun give a damn. [flowerface] but pls leave the HDB for our locals

actually, it doesn't concern us in singapore that the majority (if this is even the case) of mainland chinese are poor. but u just need a few % of the rich ones to come here and compete with us then we GG liao.

Β 

another piece of rubbish. They do not need to physically come here or even get close to our island to compete against us. They are already competing against us. Have we GG at all? U die already meh? begging on the streets?

Β 

Why so little confidence in yourself and in SG?

Β 

I welcome them to come. I've already made some money off their rich. The more they come, the more i huat :) I'm only scared of their poor ones....talk damm alot but damm lazy, ride bicycle on the road so dangerous, go everywhere in pyjamas and talk damm loud. irritating ppl should just go back to their rusty changkuls and do farming.

sunkenpore...living stardard too high....couples here.... refuse to give birth...

Β 

so garmen bring in citizen here... in this manner.... bring in FT...

and screw those who serve the 2.5 years NS in this land...

screw up policy..... and people still say...P@P and ah gong is good... [thumbsdown]

i personally know many china chinese working here. Some run their own business rather well.

Β 

I am not concern with their intrusion but rather, i feared our generation is lacking behind.

Β 

They came with 1 objective, work hard, makes alot of money and have an option to return with the cash or continue to stay put or lay roots.

I find many with right attitude and hard-working towards their job. Unfortunately i cannot say so to many of our younger peers here.

Β 

Perhaps, we are really well blessed over these years, creating a pool of overly-contented new generation.

Β 

Β 

agree...the worse is their integration to our actual society is low.... i mean...during their casual time...especially sat and sun..

they only mix with their own people.... have their own activities....... they dun mix much with us...

Β 

the poor would be...they own all the money.....and after china living standard get better....

they will all go back....cos utimately they feel that they are chinese...

and we are left with all the s--t behind..

Edited by Lv3338
↑ Advertisement