Russian Watches

Verve

wonder if any owners of russian watches can give me feedback on whether its worth the plunge

or if would appreciate if those watch experts can come in to share to.

thinking of getting another watch but budget only 1.5k so thinking of steering away from the branded ones.

are these russian watches even worth 1-2k, i seen some that are even 5k.

how about reliability, or is it just a marketing gimmick

definitely not worth it. no doubt with capitalism creeping into russia, the watches are much more well made and the materials are of higher quality but it is still a marketing gimick.

pay hundreds for them already very high, paying thousands will be crazy.

I had up to 6 russian watches about 15 years ago, ranging from Boctoks, vostoks to Poljots.

all are mechanical and all cost less than $60 each.

now that you know how much i paid, you still want to buy?

bro T2, that was 15 years ago. . .

at that point of time bus ride was ard 30-50cents. . . [laugh] [laugh]

just kidding. . .

IMHO, i dun think its worth it if the cost is more than 1.5k. . .

just another marketing strategy. . . [lipsrsealed]

$60 wow thats a far cry from the 1.5k to 5k i saw, looks like i'll give it a miss

If go for Russian, then maybe you want to consider cheap and good ones of German heritage, now owned by American, and produced in China? I am talking about Ingersol...google and see the history from India's father Ghandi to Titanic (yes, Titanic the ship). I own one for a year already. Very satisfied and chio.

Cheap cheap aboout $300 to $500 only, full auto and warranty. (I am not dealer, so no shop recommendation here.)

bro T2, that was 15 years ago. . .

at that point of time bus ride was ard 30-50cents. . . [laugh] [laugh]

just kidding. . .

IMHO, i dun think its worth it if the cost is more than 1.5k. . .

just another marketing strategy. . . [lipsrsealed]

yes that was 15 yrs ago.

so now lets say $60 X 15 = $900 ho boh? thats already absurd.

should not be in the thousands lah.

but i do agree that they have improved tremendously over the years .

actually if you are talking about watch as function, yes $20 will do.

what i am looking for is a quality watch at a reasonable price

specifically

1) Auto or mechanical watch with a reasonably good mechanism

2) good build quality on the outside - (no brand ok but must not look like a cheap seiko and etc)

3) watch with some character

If go for Russian, then maybe you want to consider cheap and good ones of German heritage, now owned by American, and produced in China? I am talking about Ingersol...google and see the history from India's father Ghandi to Titanic (yes, Titanic the ship). I own one for a year already. Very satisfied and chio.

Cheap cheap aboout $300 to $500 only, full auto and warranty. (I am not dealer, so no shop recommendation here.)

Singapore got sell ingersoll meh ?? where can i find them?

i understand no shop recommendation, but where are they retailing - maybe will take a look

Go Jurong Point, VxxCent Watch. The watch is sold in the sister branch in the same building under another name. If keen, go to VxxCent and ask...sorry, that's all I can say....lest kena flamed for advertising (I am not related to the shop).

A few hundred dollars is the most i will pay for russian watches.

Think there is a shop at Millenia Walk selling Russian watches.

Edited by Clubace

some seikos are nice but the flush smooth polished metal finish gives me a feel that this is a mass manufature product. the styling seems very japanese, or maybe its just me.

in early summer 1972, onboard aeroflot(soviet cccp airline)fr paya lebar airport on the way to 1of the eastern european countries, transit in mockwa=moscow, cccp, i bot a slim mechanical wrist watch brand rocketa.

iirc, it was 12robor. US$1=0.60kupek=O.6O of 1robor. US$ was far below the value of cccp currency.

at that point of time, US$1=S$3.34***some thing like that. 1sterling pound=S$6.9o-7.***

after the "perestroika"=changes, US$1=2,OOO++robor, even russians themselves joke that the paper quality of their currency is far much better than blotter paper in the market.

so, no need to buy blotter paper, cheaper to use their currency as blotter papers. [thumbsup]

when east/weat germany unified, the trabhan-fibreglass car produced in east germany wanted to sell them almost the same price as bmw/merc, KNN, betul betul typical eat potatoes dont know price of rice.

even if the russian can produce quality cars, lexus is always lexus, nvm toyota is trying to create another seperate image of their own. merc/bmw are still merc/bmw.

prestige is some thing that no 1can use $$$ to create overnite.

i wud trust a $2O baby G-shock over any "kion-sun"=communist product like watches mfed in ex-cccp states :D .

wonder if any owners of russian watches can give me feedback on whether its worth the plunge

or if would appreciate if those watch experts can come in to share to.

thinking of getting another watch but budget only 1.5k so thinking of steering away from the branded ones.

are these russian watches even worth 1-2k, i seen some that are even 5k.

how about reliability, or is it just a marketing gimmick

IMHO, with a budget of $1.5K, i rather go for Ball watches. Good quality with 3 years warranty. Alternatively, you can go for RXW hommage watch for that budget as well.