WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 (edited) * Did not include Boon Keng and Simei DBSS as they are either unavailable now or ethnic quota has been filled. Apparently, there were quite a lot of 5 rm left. For Duxton, latest news mentioned about 111 units to be released later... Any bros here have bought any units over there? Any comments? Seriously considering this option as Resale HDB "COV" is way too out of proportion, Condo prices are equally crazy... Edited September 3, 2009 by WakaWaka ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:15 AM, WakaWaka said: * Did not include Boon Keng and Simei DBSS as they are either unavailable now or ethnic quota has been filled. Apparently, there were quite a lot of 5 rm left. For Duxton, latest news mentioned about 111 units to be released later... Any bros here have bought any units over there? Any comments? Seriously considering this option as Resale HDB "COV" is way too out of proportion, Condo prices are equally crazy... Which one ethnic quota has been filled? Simei? Me over at Premiere.... still got empty 5 rooms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 i can't think of any attractiveness towards DBSS 1) High selling price - can buy old condos or even apartments in prime location with that price 2) 8k household income limit 3) No facilities 4) Higher conservancy fees 5) Parking is still at $90 per car 6) 99 yrs leasehold Most impt 7) despite paying half a million for the unit, it's essentially a HDB FLAT is that worth it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:21 AM, Altivo said: i can't think of any attractiveness towards DBSS 1) High selling price - can buy old condos or even apartments in prime location with that price 2) 8k household income limit 3) No facilities 4) Higher conservancy fees 5) Parking is still at $90 per car 6) 99 yrs leasehold Most impt 7) despite paying half a million for the unit, it's essentially a HDB FLAT is that worth it? to add on... half a million dollars for a DBSS units can only get u those 2nd or 3rd floors &/or facing the rubbish chutes ones [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:20 AM, Dj_spike said: Which one ethnic quota has been filled? Simei? Me over at Premiere.... still got empty 5 rooms Think the one at Boon Keng one ethnic quota has been filled. You got one at Premiere? How is it? Why did you shake head? Am now looking at The Peak, Natura Loft or Park Central Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:23 AM, Rickster said: to add on... half a million dollars for a DBSS units can only get u those 2nd or 3rd floors &/or facing the rubbish chutes ones [laugh] True... But if you look at HDB at the location nearby, they are only slightly cheaper... For DBSS, can save quite a bit on renovation... Condo prices are crazy nowadays unless you talk about very ulu one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:23 AM, Rickster said: to add on... half a million dollars for a DBSS units can only get u those 2nd or 3rd floors &/or facing the rubbish chutes ones [laugh] is it? didn't know that leh oh... forgot to add. Can't sell the unit in the first 5 years TS - DBSS is just like the EC scheme. None of them has reach the 5 years milestone yet. As such, the resale mkt for them is still unknown. After paying so much money for it, the last thing you want is to suffer a loss when u sell it When you mentioned "Resale HDB "COV" is way too out of proportion", are you unwilling to pay or can't afford to pay? I'm not trying to diss you but if it's the latter, then DBSS might not for you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Louisckp Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:21 AM, Altivo said: i can't think of any attractiveness towards DBSS 1) High selling price - can buy old condos or even apartments in prime location with that price 2) 8k household income limit 3) No facilities 4) Higher conservancy fees 5) Parking is still at $90 per car 6) 99 yrs leasehold Most impt 7) despite paying half a million for the unit, it's essentially a HDB FLAT is that worth it? 2) 8k household income limit - i tok they see case to case, 0.5mill how could a 8k couple income afford? how they evaluate housing loan? 3) No facilities - still got BBQ pit la but swiming pool 4) Higher conservancy fees - how much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:31 AM, Louisckp said: 2) 8k household income limit - i tok they see case to case, 0.5mill how could a 8k couple income afford? how they evaluate housing loan? 3) No facilities - still got BBQ pit la but swiming pool 4) Higher conservancy fees - how much 8K limit Can appeal, but cannot exceed to much, i heard below 8.5 should be ok... for 0.5 mil HDB loan, 30 years will work out to be about 2k per month... maybe manageable? No facilities Really a major disadvantage... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:31 AM, Louisckp said: 2) 8k household income limit - i tok they see case to case, 0.5mill how could a 8k couple income afford? how they evaluate housing loan? when I bought my resale HDB in May, the HLE said we can borrow up to 700+K based on me and wifey's income (less than 8K) HDB have confidence in me, loan me so much, but I dare not take so much Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WakaWaka Neutral Newbie September 3, 2009 Author Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:30 AM, Altivo said: is it? didn't know that leh oh... forgot to add. Can't sell the unit in the first 5 years TS - DBSS is just like the EC scheme. None of them has reach the 5 years milestone yet. As such, the resale mkt for them is still unknown. After paying so much money for it, the last thing you want is to suffer a loss when u sell it When you mentioned "Resale HDB "COV" is way too out of proportion", are you unwilling to pay or can't afford to pay? I'm not trying to diss you but if it's the latter, then DBSS might not for you A lot of EC has already TOP for more than 5 years already. Example, Bishan loft, Floridas, Park Green, The Rivervale... Most of the resale value are not spectacular due to location except Bishan loft where the location is premium... cost average about $1mil now... Thank you for your concern. But its more of unwilling rather than unable. COV for some location has reached 50k or more now... do you think it is worth it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:31 AM, Louisckp said: 2) 8k household income limit - i tok they see case to case, 0.5mill how could a 8k couple income afford? how they evaluate housing loan? 3) No facilities - still got BBQ pit la but swiming pool 4) Higher conservancy fees - how much For tampines DBSS, conservancy should be $100 if i remember correctly. Factor in car parking and that is $190 a month. Some condos are charging $250 and that includes security and facilities. How often do you BBQ? Actually, most HDB has BBQ pits at the common areas As for what TS mentioned about renovation, seriously, the price premium for a DBSS is not worth it if you wanna save on renovation. How much can a renovation cost you? 50-80k to hack and re-renovate a resale flat can get you pretty decent furnishing. if we rank DBSS, i would say DBSS is a notch above HDB but below EC. Condo would be at the top. Is it worth paying condo prices for what is essentially a HDB flat? For EC, it's just that the first 10 yrs would be run like HDB. Thereafter, it is allowed to be privatise and managed like a condo. Full facilities etc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 Wah lau.... take the low interest rate loan lah..... then put the excess which you don't need, into higher yielding bonds or something safe but gives higher interest. You then make the interest difference lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:47 AM, WakaWaka said: A lot of EC has already TOP for more than 5 years already. Example, Bishan loft, Floridas, Park Green, The Rivervale... Most of the resale value are not spectacular due to location except Bishan loft where the location is premium... cost average about $1mil now... Thank you for your concern. But its more of unwilling rather than unable. COV for some location has reached 50k or more now... do you think it is worth it? thanks for the clarification... but do think properly lah. Unless you do not intend to sell it in future, have you tot of what's the likelihood of price appreciation? I think the EC examples which you mentioned are good pointers for you to consider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:49 AM, Altivo said: For tampines DBSS, conservancy should be $100 if i remember correctly. Factor in car parking and that is $190 a month. Some condos are charging $250 and that includes security and facilities. How often do you BBQ? Actually, most HDB has BBQ pits at the common areas As for what TS mentioned about renovation, seriously, the price premium for a DBSS is not worth it if you wanna save on renovation. How much can a renovation cost you? 50-80k to hack and re-renovate a resale flat can get you pretty decent furnishing. if we rank DBSS, i would say DBSS is a notch above HDB but below EC. Condo would be at the top. Is it worth paying condo prices for what is essentially a HDB flat? For EC, it's just that the first 10 yrs would be run like HDB. Thereafter, it is allowed to be privatise and managed like a condo. Full facilities etc Five room for tampines is paying EA rates for conservance... i believe 70+ bucks with no rebates.... As for renovation, 10-15k will do up quite nice liow... this excludes furniture of coz... maybe another 15k gone... U'll still spend less than 50k... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wind30 Turbocharged September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:47 AM, WakaWaka said: A lot of EC has already TOP for more than 5 years already. Example, Bishan loft, Floridas, Park Green, The Rivervale... Most of the resale value are not spectacular due to location except Bishan loft where the location is premium... cost average about $1mil now... Thank you for your concern. But its more of unwilling rather than unable. COV for some location has reached 50k or more now... do you think it is worth it? I just sold off my unit at Nuovo EC, opp YCK mrt. average selling price for a 1389 sqft unit is around maybe 8xxk. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 okay... so it's not as bad as i thought... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear September 3, 2009 Share September 3, 2009 On 9/3/2009 at 8:25 AM, WakaWaka said: Think the one at Boon Keng one ethnic quota has been filled. You got one at Premiere? How is it? Why did you shake head? Am now looking at The Peak, Natura Loft or Park Central Not a nice sight lah... most have moved in but those empty ones still can see wire dangling on the ceiling... To me, i advise not to get those later dbss... prices are really cuthroat That time i get was b4 the sand crisis and peak of HDB prices.... so the price was still alrite.... comparable to those at punggol now... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...