Happy or unhappy with the new OPC rules

Picanto

i believe majority of you have read about the upcoming OPC rule changes in MCF. i guess most OPC owners are happy with it. how about those owners of normal plate cars? are you ok with it or do you have even better suggestions??

where is the source of the information, can you paste the url here?

the url has been deleted already. anyway, you can browse through mcf for the latest changes.

It's on LTA news.. http://app.lta.gov.sg/corp_press_content.asp?start=2181 and also on www.todayonline.com already!

Based on my 1339cc car, road tax increases from $50 to $90 per year and there is a one time $100 fee to convert to the new scheme. So, extra $500 for full saturdays and eve of 5 major holidays for 10 years of driving. If I opt to stay on the old scheme, that translates to 500/20 = 25 coupons or 2.5 coupons per year.

To convert or not, really depends on your saturday usage and also the size of your ride..

No more cheating liao lor.

i believe majority of you have read about the upcoming OPC rule changes in MCF. i guess most OPC owners are happy with it. how about those owners of normal plate cars? are you ok with it or do you have even better suggestions??

The new rule will bring more income to LTA. Those cheaters will 99.999% be eliminated once and for all.

The old scheme allows one to tear the year and month tabs, and ready to tear the day tab when LTA stop the car. My friend is cursing this new scheme, he says GAME over for him, as he cannot save $20 every day liao. He told me, in his 3 years of OPC driving, he never kena a single time being stopped.

The rule has made the job of police and collection $$$$ very easy, no need to stop OPC cars anymore, just install a camera on a bike/car, drive around Singapore whole day to take picture of OPC. Infact, no need to even physically click any button to take picture. Those smart camera (like those in NUS carpark) can READ the licence plate and log into the car computer to be downloaded at the end of the day for processing.

Which OPC cheat whould DARE to risk no buying the electronic licence anymore? My friend was cursing to me this morning!

Sometimes I really pity Singaporeans, me included. We complain OPC must be allowed on Saturday. We complain that post office got not enough day licence when one need to buy one urgently, or no nearby post office to buy the licence. So now LTA change the rule.

Every time we complain, the gov will make it look like they listen and caring to change the rule to Benefit those who requested it.

In actual fact gov always come up with a MORE stringent rule to punish and close loop holes instead.

Tell me how to teach the ah-peh or those WITHOUT computer at home or those without e-banking or nearby no AXS machine to buy the licence?

The new rule will bring more income to LTA. Those cheaters will 99.999% be eliminated once and for all.

The old scheme allows one to tear the year and month tabs, and ready to tear the day tab when LTA stop the car. My friend is cursing this new scheme, he says GAME over for him, as he cannot save $20 every day liao. He told me, in his 3 years of OPC driving, he never kena a single time being stopped.

The rule has made the job of police and collection $$$$ very easy, no need to stop OPC cars anymore, just install a camera on a bike/car, drive around Singapore whole day to take picture of OPC. Infact, no need to even physically click any button to take picture. Those smart camera (like those in NUS carpark) can READ the licence plate and log into the car computer to be downloaded at the end of the day for processing.

Which OPC cheat whould DARE to risk no buying the electronic licence anymore? My friend was cursing to me this morning!

Sometimes I really pity Singaporeans, me included. We complain OPC must be allowed on Saturday. We complain that post office got not enough day licence when one need to buy one urgently, or no nearby post office to buy the licence. So now LTA change the rule.

Every time we complain, the gov will make it look like they listen and caring to change the rule to Benefit those who requested it.

In actual fact gov always come up with a MORE stringent rule to punish and close loop holes instead.

Tell me how to teach the ah-peh or those WITHOUT computer at home or those without e-banking or nearby no AXS machine to buy the licence?

But in the LTA website point 4 says it also includes mobile-SMS service wor... Not sure how it works but ah pek can learn to sms I believe? I was previously OPC driver and never cheated (except the extra 10 mins before and after 7 timing) so I really look down on your OPC friend who have done it for 3 years... haiz...

There is a loophole.

If the person drive out OPC and throughout the journey saw no LTA or TP. He will be tempted not to buy the e-coupon. He have up to 2359hrs to decide.

There is a loophole.

If the person drive out OPC and throughout the journey saw no LTA or TP. He will be tempted not to buy the e-coupon. He have up to 2359hrs to decide.

that is if he dares to risk it. it would be good for my friend who parks at an open-air carpark across the road to drive across the road to the mscp washing bay (50m away) to wash his car. he gana caught doing it once. damn sian.

Like I say..Just invest in 1 unmarked car with the licence plate recognisation software. Drive around entire Singapore the whole day.

In fact might not even need to install camera, any OPC owner who drive pass a police car (even though the policeman is not even out to catch OPC cheat), wil OBEDIENTLY buy the e-licence immediately.

The current old rule allows cheater to know 100% that one has indeeded successful cheat, when no police stop the OPC car.

The new rule is a mental stress game for the OPC owner, very difficult to decide whether to cheat or not to cheat. There is no clear cut sign to know whether the licence number is noted down or not.

Mental stress is the worst torture a human can undergo.

Game over for OPC cheats.

Ask not for what you can't handle!!

There is a loophole.

The only obvious loop hole I can see is to manipulate the licence plate number.

The new scheme is more tiring for those who drive OPC often.

Now can just buy 50 sets of OPC coupons out inside car and use it anytime.

The new rule only allows 2 week advance purchase, each time must log in, its a hassle in fact.

But in the LTA website point 4 says it also includes mobile-SMS service wor... Not sure how it works but ah pek can learn to sms I believe? I was previously OPC driver and never cheated (except the extra 10 mins before and after 7 timing) so I really look down on your OPC friend who have done it for 3 years... haiz...

its time for the older folks to learn new technology. the govt will be more than happy if the opc scheme results in more senior citizens going to CC to learn internet.

The new rule is a mental stress game for the OPC owner, very difficult to decide whether to cheat or not to cheat. There is no clear cut sign to know whether the licence number is noted down or not.

Correction: The new rule is a mental stress game for the OPC owner cheaters, very difficult to decide whether to cheat or not to cheat. There is no clear cut sign to know whether the licence number is noted down or not.

The only obvious loop hole I can see is to manipulate the licence plate number.

The new scheme is more tiring for those who drive OPC often.

Now can just buy 50 sets of OPC coupons out inside car and use it anytime.

The new rule only allows 2 week advance purchase, each time must log in, its a hassle in fact.

Register for the SMS e-coupon. That way you have an unimited number of coupons, and it quicker to sms than to tear properly.