Can TP issue summon w/o stopping you & rec car plate no?

Elmo

Drove past a TP today. From rear view mirror, saw him immediately whip out his notebook and started scribbling and staring at the back of my car.

I don't know what could have been the offense or whether he recorded my car or the other cars beside me.

But the question is: Can the TP just issue a summon to me when he did not stop me?

Yes, recently just received a summon cos my dad failed to comply with directional sign at paya lebar. He was not stopped by any police officers. So the TP must have written down the car plate number as he zoomed past.

On 8/26/2009 at 9:13 AM, Tally said:

Yes, recently just received a summon cos my dad failed to comply with directional sign at paya lebar. He was not stopped by any police officers. So the TP must have written down the car plate number as he zoomed past.

Whoa....like tt a TP can say anything he likes.

Like that everyday sure have 'something' to summon, right?

Didn't your dad try to appeal?

Yes, they can. Reference to below,

Visit My Website

NP403 (Notice of Traffic Offence)

If you have committed a traffic offence and no police officer has stopped and booked you on the spot, you could still receive a NP 403 (Notice of Traffic Offence) by post for the offence that you have committed.

Edited by Safetyleo

Yes. Unfortunately, I frown on such practices. Like sneaky and shady method of executing the rules. Was parking at a zig zag double yellow line once to buy food at 4am (no cars at all), then i came right back saw a NPP police car stopped behind me. I quickly waved and smile to them i'm driving off already. Thinking of so nice of the officers to give chance.... fast forward 2 weeks later, mail lai liao. Was damn tulan!! Rush down to TP HQ to appeal.

Reminds of friends who are nice in front of you, but stab you in the back.

After this lesson, i take down all police car number plates suspecting of them summoning me so i can appeal appropriately and "po" their number out.

On 8/26/2009 at 9:27 AM, Zxcvb said:

Yes. Unfortunately, I frown on such practices. Like sneaky and shady method of executing the rules. Was parking at a zig zag double yellow line once to buy food at 4am (no cars at all), then i came right back saw a NPP police car stopped behind me. I quickly waved and smile to them i'm driving off already. Thinking of so nice of the officers to give chance.... fast forward 2 weeks later, mail lai liao. Was damn tulan!! Rush down to TP HQ to appeal.

After this lesson, i take down all police car number plates suspecting of them summoning me so i can appeal appropriately and "po" their number out.

you are really testing the system...double zig zag yellow line some more.... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

It's the worse place you can choose to park your car.....

dude, 4am on a weekday leh. you go lau pa sat eat supper between 12am to 5am also wun get summon. this one confirm chopped.

On 8/26/2009 at 9:22 AM, Safetyleo said:

Yes, they can. Reference to below,

Visit My Website

NP403 (Notice of Traffic Offence)

If you have committed a traffic offence and no police officer has stopped and booked you on the spot, you could still receive a NP 403 (Notice of Traffic Offence) by post for the offence that you have committed.

Thanks for the info! Didn't know got such a long list of 'buffet' items.

Think I kena liao. But still wondering what could it be for.

[smallcry] Just have to chk my mailbox for the next few days......

come on man, got commit offence means no need to say already. i also kena before, parked my bike at e-way road shoulder to wait for kaki before going JB together, dam suay mata arrived, write down our numbers, drove off and 2 weeks later magic letter arrived in my mail. obviously i not happy to be booked, but bottomline i comitted an offence, what right do i have to be angry at the officer?

everybody insists mata must 'give chance'.

its a different matter if you realli never do anything wrong and these ppl realli anyhow booked you to fill some quota or something. that one is called sneaky injustice and what have you.

Of course my dad's first reaction was kpkb. But like true singaporean, after that, also LL pay up the $70 grand bucks.. :)

Bro,what is the use of copying their number? is like complaining a kid to his parent,in the end parent still take care of their kid mah,surely help their own ppl one de.

if u committed the offence, means committed. if everyone starts giving this reasons as a shield, like tat we can park at mscp for free. 4am mah, no vehicles and empty. so why not?

do recall several yrs back when drove across the two yellow box with a double straight lines in between of the yellow boxes, no TP or notice any vehicles but 2 wks later receive a register mail for collection.Got 4 demerit pts plus S$130 fine if i not wrong to recall.....KPKB also no use but just pay n pay...LPPL [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

On 8/26/2009 at 9:45 AM, Mechwira said:

come on man, got commit offence means no need to say already. i also kena before, parked my bike at e-way road shoulder to wait for kaki before going JB together, dam suay mata arrived, write down our numbers, drove off and 2 weeks later magic letter arrived in my mail. obviously i not happy to be booked, but bottomline i comitted an offence, what right do i have to be angry at the officer?

everybody insists mata must 'give chance'.

its a different matter if you realli never do anything wrong and these ppl realli anyhow booked you to fill some quota or something. that one is called sneaky injustice and what have you.

BKE just before the bridge into the custom? i aways saw people stopping at the expressway shoulder just after entering singapore. wondering any summons action taken against them. always tempted to stop here to change driver .

On 8/27/2009 at 12:33 AM, Dafansu said:

BKE just before the bridge into the custom? i aways saw people stopping at the expressway shoulder just after entering singapore. wondering any summons action taken against them. always tempted to stop here to change driver .

no, next one, the BKE/SLE merge, under the SLE bridge where cars coming from BKE ad SLE meet if heading to checkpoint. apparently this is monitored. the one you talking about, i feel so frequently used to stop it might be an obvious 'booking point'. but i wouldn know the risk of the spot you mention since i never bother stop that spot.

  On 8/26/2009 at 9:54 AM, Tally said:

Of course my dad's first reaction was kpkb. But like true singaporean, after that, also LL pay up the $70 grand bucks.. :)

$70k? What kind of penalty is that?