Michiko Neutral Newbie August 21, 2009 Share August 21, 2009 Hi Bro, just to check have hear of this Ultra Racing Strut Bar? Cos' I am unsure what is the benefits of having it. I saw this from http://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=11561 Have anyone heard of it ? Thank YOu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear August 21, 2009 Share August 21, 2009 Struts bars just transfer the stress onto other parts of the car. Cars are designed to flex for a purpose. Those with rear lower tie bars will note that after about 5 years, with heavy driving, the rear joint holding the bolts start to crack. Yes strut bars give better handling but at the expense of a shorter lifespan of your car chassis. Trackies want the handling, not all understand the cons of it. So you have to decide if strut bars are something you need, or just something flashy u want to shop for. Just like girls, all guys like to shop too. even if its just window shopping at accessories shops. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 21, 2009 Share August 21, 2009 bro, Ultra Racing is a brand.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 didn't know all these chocolate bars will have "side effect" later on. iam getting abit worried as i got quite a few of these chocolate bars on my car chassis. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lammy84 Neutral Newbie August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Under hard driving even if your tie bar joint doesnt crack, your wheel bearings and such will also wear and tear. Strut bars wont affect sillypore car users in any big way in terms of extra wear and tear. Our cars are only here for 10 years. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 People who go track will go for stiffer bar and brace, normal driver who like high speed cornering will also like to install 1. 3 year later sell the car and the new owner will feel the problem. some new car do come with sway bar and strut bar its just they are not very hard setting. I dun mind go for a good candy bar, they do feel diff in handling. Ofcourse every thing come with price. Try driving a subaru Legacy, with stock setup the car is very stable liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 IMO, strut bars only gave very minor improvements in handling...if you really want to cut down body roll significantly, then coilovers is the way to go.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zze121 3rd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Coilover is good, but the rear passenger backside will pain. My friend mum say: Boi ah! your car spoil huh? how come so hard when go over the hump? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mirrorimage 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Under hard driving even if your tie bar joint doesnt crack, your wheel bearings and such will also wear and tear. Strut bars wont affect sillypore car users in any big way in terms of extra wear and tear. Our cars are only here for 10 years. Will leh, SHC tt time got one post, Honda Civic ES model after 4 years, the lower tie end joints cracked. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 actually for handling and stability,coilover and bars are a must,spot weld is also good. otherwise it still won't produce optimum result in my opinion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 strut bars dun go for the carbon fibre type, cos by right it should be as firm as possible so to deliever the load from one place to the other... imho, strut bars work hand in hand wif anti roll bars for ur whole car to be stable enough... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weiming 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Did you scroll down the page you linked? There is a short description of what a strut bar does. Ultra Racing is a Malaysian brand. I am using a number of their products to stiffen my ride and it does work well in chassis stiffening. Other brands in the market include: Carbing, Alutech, Cusco etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 strut bar basically stiffens the ride.....and its good for high speeds..but not so much for comfort....maybe for girls who want comfort Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ladykillerz 4th Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 strutbars might help but not significant... coilover should be better... in term of handling, safety and stability, -> increase rims size, better tyres grip and better suspension are the main factors.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 didn't know all these chocolate bars will have "side effect" later on. iam getting abit worried as i got quite a few of these chocolate bars on my car chassis. Some cars came stock with struct bar. At least KM's Honda Accord is one of them. I doubt the joint will crack that easily if the correct bushing and maintenance is performed. If you have coilover and you lower the car damn low, you have a higher chances of your bottom chassis hitting high humps and bumps. If one is serious about the joint issue, they could have gotten the mechanic to reinforce the joints if they want to. There is a choice. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 didn't know all these chocolate bars will have "side effect" later on. iam getting abit worried as i got quite a few of these chocolate bars on my car chassis. It should not affect your ride if you take proper maintenance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 Some cars came stock with struct bar. At least KM's Honda Accord is one of them. I doubt the joint will crack that easily if the correct bushing and maintenance is performed. If you have coilover and you lower the car damn low, you have a higher chances of your bottom chassis hitting high humps and bumps. If one is serious about the joint issue, they could have gotten the mechanic to reinforce the joints if they want to. There is a choice. Regards, Hi 'Kelpie', some cars come stock with the rear undercarriage anti-roll bar but not strut bar. These stock rear undercarriage anti-roll bar are relatively thinner in diameter and flexes easily. That is why car owners who have stock rear undercarriage anti-roll bar will upgrade to a stronger and thicker diameter one. I was in a specialist workshop recently and noticed that an owner of a brand new Audi A4 even have their stock bars changed to thicker ones. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikeyeo Clutched August 22, 2009 Share August 22, 2009 It should not affect your ride if you take proper maintenance. Hi 'Yuan', you did not mention how what are the components that you have installed. There are many parts to make the chasis rigid depending on the car model. If one will to install all such as engine top strut bar, front undercarriage brace, front fenders brace, rear strut bar in the boot, rear undercarriage brace, rear undercarriage anti-roll bar, etc, the car body will be very rigid as all the body parts are in a way anchored to one another. This would ultimately make the car very stiff and very rigid especially going over humps and passengers in the car will feel very uncomfortable just like a roller-coaster ride. It is therefore very important to know what you want and just install the essential bars and braces. I would suggest that for those who have not installed such bars and braces and what to try out, I would suggest to install the rear undercarriage anti-roll bar first. You will feel instant strengthening at the rear and get use to it for at least 2 weeks and therafter, the front top strut bar. It's good to read the various functions of each bar or brace before installing them. Generally speaking and from my personal opinion, installing the front and rear undercarriage braces will make the car rather stiff as the front and rear suspensions are anchored onto the body. This will result in the ride rather stiff and bumpy. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...