Why are people still buying Civic FD?

Quantum

So did your wife also say that my car also made in Vietnam???

But i was told mine is the FD2R JDM aka FD2 Type R Japan Domestic Model. MIV?

Think your wife is the only one in car industry to know this BIG secret of Honda :D:D:D

MIV?? Haha. Might as well say that the old Civic is MBB - Made By Banglas. [lipsrsealed] [lipsrsealed]

Edited by Alfisti168

if u like driving, then u will like honda. there is this synergy that u cant describe in every car make.

when i drive a toyota, i felt like never need to service the car, very minimal maintenance.

when i drive a honda, i felt like i can always go faster without the fear of breakdown.

when i drive a subaru, i felt like dont test my patience on the road or i will smoke u.

when i drive a merc, I felt like the world is kind and slow pace until i get out of the car.

Honda Civics are traditionally good cars in the Honda family. Just like corollas (or altis) to Toyota, 3-series to BMW, they cater to a wide range of clients, thus when launched, they usually have a certain x-factor or value-add to distinguish itself from the pack. some of these x-factors can last a long time and can be adopted by other manufacturers, thus losing its gleam after a few months/years.

anyway alot of ppl has the misconception that civil is MIJ when it is actually MIV - made in vietnam. The only civil that is MIJ is the hybrid

You mean the whole car or just parts of it?

anyway alot of ppl has the misconception that civil is MIJ when it is actually MIV - made in vietnam. The only civil that is MIJ is the hybrid

u sure or not .. got concleat ploof? later Kah sue u then u know [lipsrsealed]

people always say.. " kiang tio ho, mai gey kiang" [scholar]

what does FD stand for...

new comer

Actually it doesn't stand for anything. All current series of Honda Civics have serial number starting with JMFD something.... So it's called FD series.

Hi All,

I just booked a Honda Civic 1.6AT recently at about $82k. Due for delivery in early Feb 2010.

Came with free solar film and coilmats.

Anyone have suggestions on how I can further improve the aesthetics of the car?

Also, can drivers please share their experience on the fuel consumption for this model.

Thanks in advance.

Well any car can corner well when it's 4wd.Even a bullock cart can corner better if all wheels are powered.But is there any purpose in having a fulltime draggy 4X4 tranmission in normal scenarios?

Why not you try crawling around on all 4 limbs instead of walking of 2 legs and see how it feels?Crawling on all 4s won't trip or fall down compared to walking of 2 feet but which is more taxing???

Perhaps you should write to F1's Bernie and suggest to him that all F1 cars be turbocharged and 4wd as it's more POWERRRRR and the team with the biggest turbo wins

lol,i agree with you Tanly :)

Everyone knows Civic FD is extremely overpriced, [thumbsdown] talk about value for money Avante or Frote at same category, talk about power and luxurious, same price can get Conti car [thumbsup]

but on our road Civic FDs become more and more, it's the trend to take over altis to rank the most popular car in Singapore [:(]

Because Honda has a good reputation of being reliable.

My 7 year old Civic, after 120,000km (with regular servicing, as claimed by the original owner) has only one premature part failure recently, the air conditioning compressor. More to that, it still feels very well put together, as if it didn't age much at all.

Don't forget some civics on the road are already running on their second COE, how many 1980's Korean/Conti cars do you see on the road today? As of now the only conti car I feel that is as reliable as a Honda is Mercedes, but my uncle's W210 constantly had problems with its engine, it might be an isolated case.

Pior to the Civic, I was driving a really really unreliable '95 Hyundai Accent. One fine day, when it just couldn't start, I decided to scrap that P.O.S and work harder to buy something that actually WORKS whenever I WANT IT TO (toyota, honda, basically most japanese brands). Until I see lots 20 year old Hyundai's and Kia's plying the road will I even consider buying a Korean marque again.

And for the feel factor?

A civic makes me feel youthful

A corolla makes me feel more mature

That POS accent made me feel like a cheapskate and want to smash it

A Rio.. reminds me of the POS accent in a different body

A Lancer makes me feel like I'm driving in a second-class evo (a good thing actually, but I dislike the '04 Lancer's looks)

A Mazda3 doesn't have any effect on me, its just.. a car. Zoomzoom maybe but.. I just don't feel the zoom.

Conti cars (at least those around the civic's current price) Jetta, Astra.. I don't know, I never even liked conti-cars in the first place save for the Monaro VXR/ VXR8. Other than that I find that premium Euro cars are just bought for the snob factor. Merc, BMW, Jag, Audi, VW, etc... but the "mainstream" conti cars are like... blah? Jap in a Conti body.

My next car though might just be from either VW or Skoda, but I'll be looking into running costs as well. Maybe even the BMW 1-series just for its RWD setup. Oh well, if they redesign it that is.

The koreans being crappy in the past doesn't mean they will not improve in the future. Perhaps setting aside your prejudice and go take a better look at them now will make you change your mind.

Personally I will never buy a bread and butter civic. For the price there are tons of better alternatives around.

Why not you try crawling around on all 4 limbs instead of walking of 2 legs and see how it feels?Crawling on all 4s won't trip or fall down compared to walking of 2 feet but which is more taxing???

Bro Bugatti Veyron is 4WD leh, lol, but I agree with one thing, 2WD is more fun to drive, be it FWD for lift-off tucking in or RWD for I-got-money-to-burn tyres....