Why are people still buying Civic FD?

Quantum

Something that gives more power at the expense of drivability= better??? Does that mean a jet engine strapped onto a car is best??? Better than turbo???

Any Tom Dick or Harry can stuff a BIG turbo into a Chery QQ thus their Chery QQ better than all Jap cars?

Actually there are, but not in this thread.

Another brain-washed by Honda's marketing team. "VTEC is better than turbo" echos in the void between your ears.

Some car newbies equate more BHP to better engineered cars as they do not really know much abt cars or engineering.I woul;d recommend them selling their car and getting a Jet plane as

1) It has more BHP

2)It is faster than any car

while i agree that VTEC is definitely not as good as turbo when it comes to pure power, let's look at it from another angle..will the Rexes and Evos be as good as a FD2R if their turbo is taken away?

both NA and FI has it's pros and cons..you want the cheapest way to gain the max bhp? FI is the way to go..you want more linear power delivery and easier maintenance..NA is the way..

I agree with you on this

I so agree.

Take it one step further. drive an FD2 and drive an altis.

you'll find how far honda has come.

For fastest speed, fastest handling etc, buy an evo 10, soup it up... No comparison here.

For day to day drive thats not too expensive, with decent image, decent power, good driving characteristics good looks.

Perhaps mazda comes to mind.

But is the engine smoother?

while i agree that VTEC is definitely not as good as turbo when it comes to pure power, let's look at it from another angle..will the Rexes and Evos be as good as a FD2R if their turbo is taken away?

both NA and FI has it's pros and cons..you want the cheapest way to gain the max bhp? FI is the way to go..you want more linear power delivery and easier maintenance..NA is the way..

if rex n evo turbo taken away, fd2r also need to remove their vtec? [sweatdrop]

Well the easiest way to compensate for lousy engineering skills is simply to slap on a turbo.Kudos to Honda's relentless engineering pursuits in maxing the potential for an NA engine.Thoroughbred Italian sportscars dun really rely on any form of force induction oso so does F1 as they believe in true engineering poweress instead of who has a bigger turbo etc etc....

If or when Honda decides on the turbo route,the Evos or Scoobys would nvr hold a candle or even get to smell smoke as they are neither innovators or engineering gurus.Turbo is a shortcut to getting more BHP

honda did not take the turbo route yet, how u know evo n rex WOULD NEVER hold a candle against them?

power to dream...

u really dream too much liao [lipsrsealed]

Dude ivtec is not force induction so why must take away?Pls compare apples to apples orange to orange.

Evo and rex take away their turbos still have their lousy mivec and DVVT or watever sh1t Subaru calls their valve timing..

Compare all 3 NA engines with their valve timing technology lah.... Btw Mit's Mivec was and is a big joke...

if rex n evo turbo taken away, fd2r also need to remove their vtec? [sweatdrop]

If you understand how their engines work and their technology u would know Mit & Sub never had a car that could compete against Honda B4 the turbo era

Ask yourself this Mit & Sub only became famous when their turbocharged rex & Evos came out.Before that they were only normal car manufacturers with nothing to shout abt

honda did not take the turbo route yet, how u know evo n rex WOULD NEVER hold a candle against them?

power to dream...

Honda Sohc BHP= Other Brand Dohc BHP

Honda 2.0 Dohc FD2r= WRX 2.0 Dohc TURBOCHARGE

HONDA 2.0 Dohc FD2r+TURBOCHARGE= ?????

power to dream...

U ever been to Pasir Gudang B4 and see NA Eg6 tear Evos and Wrxes like tissue paper?

Or Proton wiras with BIGGER turbos tear SGP Evos & Rexes?

power to dream...

Honda Sohc BHP= Other Brand Dohc BHP

Honda 2.0 Dohc FD2r= WRX 2.0 Dohc TURBOCHARGE

HONDA 2.0 Dohc FD2r+TURBOCHARGE= ?????

so ur fd2r + tc = ?????? what is ?????

so when ur fd2r + tc. how much hp? still FF? or 4WD? or RWD?

when will u apply for a job in honda so u can continue dreaming?

U ever been to Pasir Gudang B4 and see NA Eg6 tear Evos and Wrxes like tissue paper?

Or Proton wiras with BIGGER turbos tear SGP Evos & Rexes?

now u are talking about straight?

eg6 weight around 1000kg. + FF. put a small t25 can tear stock evo like tissue paper , who dont know?

why u never talk about how ur 300+ hpeg6 n ur 400+ hp wira going to corner?

dream finish already?

Edited by Iforu

hello, u r stretching Honda superiority too far [sweatdrop]

Honda has the best drivetrain, Mit are good at turbo and suspension

Both Honda and Mitsu has enduring household models like Civic n Lancer for many generations, and you got to respect that

Both has iconic cars like NSX and EVO - NSX is Jap supercar that is cheaper yet can beat pricier Euro supercars, and EVO was World Rally champion... need I say more... I am pointing this out as you can't take what you saw at Pasir Gudang and jump to conclusion - it is a simple track for cars with good power-to-weight

Having said that Civic FD is better car than Lancer EX I think, but also more ex...

(note: I'm just comparing the two, no doubt Datson/Nissan, Masuda n Subaru is the same as well)

Dude ivtec is not force induction so why must take away?Pls compare apples to apples orange to orange.

Evo and rex take away their turbos still have their lousy mivec and DVVT or watever sh1t Subaru calls their valve timing..

Compare all 3 NA engines with their valve timing technology lah.... Btw Mit's Mivec was and is a big joke...

Subaru is boxer engine and their car is 4 wheel drive. That shouldn't so bad/lousy as commented.

When Mivec engine initally come out and use on their Colt, is it not bad too. Look at the spec for their pickup (accel) on colt vs other car at the same level, they are faster.

used to is correct. the previous civic is built in vietnam. the current FD is not.

I did verified it when i asked the SE in KM. FYI my wife just quit her job a couple months ago, long after FD was lauched

well..then the J in JHMFD in my chassis code stands for some other thing other than Japan? [confused]