How can I revive my Geforce F5500?

Lester

Hello

My old pc just had a problem with the Geforce F5500 graphic card. It was not able to start even with installation of the software. Only able to show normal VGA screen. I am still on L7VTA and XP professional.

At the main Windows page, I right click to go to 'Properties', followed advance and the chip was identified by VGAdply or something like that. I itchy finger, clicked on disble and now after starting up, at the windows page, I don't see anything at all.

What do I need to do? Will changing a new PCI display card work? Or can I get my old F5500 to work first? PLease advise. Thanks.

right click on your My computer , go to , Properties.

click on hardware tab, you should be able to see your graphics card listed inside.

Select your graphics card and try to update your drivers again.

Hi Strat

Problem now is at the windows page, all I see is black screen. Can't see anything else.

On the desk top, I right clicked, Properties>Settings>Advanced>Adaptor>Properties>General. At this tab, it shows just a VGA display instead of the FX5500. There is no option to update driver. I tried to manually install the driver that I had and the error returned was the FX5500 had stopped working. While troubleshooting, I selected 'Do not use this device(disable)'. PC prompts for restart. Restarted and the screen turns black after Window starts up. What should I do from here? I can't see the desktop to make any changes. Please help. Thanks.

Hi Strat

Problem now is at the windows page, all I see is black screen. Can't see anything else.

On the desk top, I right clicked, Properties>Settings>Advanced>Adaptor>Properties>General. At this tab, it shows just a VGA display instead of the FX5500. There is no option to update driver. I tried to manually install the driver that I had and the error returned was the FX5500 had stopped working. While troubleshooting, I selected 'Do not use this device(disable)'. PC prompts for restart. Restarted and the screen turns black after Window starts up. What should I do from here? I can't see the desktop to make any changes. Please help. Thanks.

Try sticking it into another computer. If same problem, then your graphics card shld be byebye oredi. F5500 sia. My 5 year old card is 6600.. yours must be ancient.

Hold on to it for 50 years. Can be vintage graphics card. Sell for thousands on ebay. :D

GF5500 was quite a no of yrs ago, still remember me sold off to another guy in vrz for like $80 or $90 when i bought at $200+... tink it's like 2001/2002 card... get urself another cheap pci-e card, lesser dan $60... but GF5500 running pci-e meh? tot only got AGP version? double check if not u buy wrongly dan die lor...

Hi there...try this...

power off the pc....

remove the card from the PCI slot...

power up without the pci graphic card...(somewhere along this point the pc will give errors / cannot proceed further)

power off pc

plug back card into the PCI slot and power up...

your card should now be (re)detected...

if not it means the card is spoilt or pci slot is spoilt....

do u have a on board VGA slot? maybe u can use that as a temp?

hope that helps [:)]

Hi there...try this...

power off the pc....

remove the card from the PCI slot...

power up without the pci graphic card...(somewhere along this point the pc will give errors / cannot proceed further)

power off pc

plug back card into the PCI slot and power up...

your card should now be (re)detected...

if not it means the card is spoilt or pci slot is spoilt....

do u have a on board VGA slot? maybe u can use that as a temp?

hope that helps [:)]

tis cant work if u hav an onboard graphics card... bcos if u removed the external graphic card, pc will still boot using ur onboard graphics... anyway, tis cant really solve the problem and tell TS whether his card is spoilt or not...

to TS, if u really wan to save juz a bit of money... get a fren wif a pc go to his and test ur graphic card on his com... like i said, u hav to make sure whether is it agp or pci-e card 1st... cos the pins are different...

How come you so itchy and disable your windows VGA display under properties. Your Geforce F5500 got no problem lah just that your windows got problem. Go to safe mode with your startup disc. Click enable VGA and dun mess with your system hardware setup [smash]

u might want to try this.

uninstall the graphic card driver totally from windows

set your graphics card to std VGA.

reboot.

install driver again.

Another way to try,

1] boot window in safe mode

2] Go 'Start' > 'All Programs' > 'Accessories' > 'Systems Tools' > 'Systems Restore'

3] select 'Restore my com to an earlier time'

4] select the date before your itcy finger

5] reboot com

6] see can work ?