E Coupe

Woofie

looks fairly good on print.

but can come across like a shorter stouter CLS

if worse can come across as having similar edges as a Teana

usual messy Mercy instrumention panels

very interesting seats and usable space.

will find out more

better not flog it too much, in case grow to like it and become my next car, for all I know. hee hee

Edited by Throttle2

I just attended the E class launch on Friday evening.The E Class coupe is a really nice car.The E class coupe comes in 2 variants. The E250 CGI Blue Efficiency and the E350.

The E250 comes with a 1.8L in line 4 engine. Output of 204 HP and Torque of 310 Nm. Century sprint of 7.6 sec.

The E350 comes with a 3.5L V6 engine. Output of 272 HP and Torque of 350Nm. Century sprint of 6.4 sec.

The exterior of the car looks very different from the E class 4 door saloon. It looks like a mini CLS. The front lights look kind of funny with the squarish front lights but it somehow grows on you once you look at the car at different angles. It definitely looks nicer in real life than in the pictures. This car has a very low drag coefficient. The wonder of this car is that is that it doesn't have a centre beam at the windows so the back passengers will have a very good view of the front. It also does away with any blind spots for the driver.

Sitting in the car feels like heaven. The seats are a 2+2 configuration and are very comfortable. Even the back seats have enough head room for adults which is lacking in most coupes. Getting into the back is easy. You just have to pull the lever on the front seat and it will automatically move in front for you to get in. Once you're in , all you have to do is pull the front seat back and it will automatically go back to its original position. The side of the driver's seat feels very much like sitting the the C class except that the steering comes in 3 spoke and has paddle shifts. It has a Audio 20 with integral CD changer and has a 8 speakers.

I haven't test driven the E coupe yet but will let you know when I get the chance.

I just attended the E class launch on Friday evening.The E Class coupe is a really nice car.The E class coupe comes in 2 variants. The E250 CGI Blue Efficiency and the E350.

The E250 comes with a 1.8L in line 4 engine. Output of 204 HP and Torque of 310 Nm. Century sprint of 7.6 sec.

The E350 comes with a 3.5L V6 engine. Output of 272 HP and Torque of 350Nm. Century sprint of 6.4 sec.

The exterior of the car looks very different from the E class 4 door saloon. It looks like a mini CLS. The front lights look kind of funny with the squarish front lights but it somehow grows on you once you look at the car at different angles. It definitely looks nicer in real life than in the pictures. This car has a very low drag coefficient. The wonder of this car is that is that it doesn't have a centre beam at the windows so the back passengers will have a very good view of the front. It also does away with any blind spots for the driver.

Sitting in the car feels like heaven. The seats are a 2+2 configuration and are very comfortable. Even the back seats have enough head room for adults which is lacking in most coupes. Getting into the back is easy. You just have to pull the lever on the front seat and it will automatically move in front for you to get in. Once you're in , all you have to do is pull the front seat back and it will automatically go back to its original position. The side of the driver's seat feels very much like sitting the the C class except that the steering comes in 3 spoke and has paddle shifts. It has a Audio 20 with integral CD changer and has a 8 speakers.

I haven't test driven the E coupe yet but will let you know when I get the chance.

oh, E250 only 1.8l?

wasted, i feel they should have done a 2.5l instead.

good review.

My dad is placing an order for a 350 coupe to replace his clk320...he's probably going with a PI model though. Was at the launch at C & C and we gave the car a once over. We both like it. I think the dash and cluster design is a little too 'previous generation' and the harman kardon system sucks big time but overall its a nice car and we both like it. I agree with most of what was mentioned by pyramid. The exterior styling and seats are what i consider its top points (driving aside).C & C was asking about 280K for the fully optioned model with glass sunroof, amg kit, harman kardon system and some other stuff. PI offering same spec for about 230K. Cycle and PI models will have roughly the same OMV, about 66K. Its a no brainer to me. I cant stomach the ridiculous margin the AD is asking for

Edited by Blackreplica

My dad is placing an order for a 350 coupe to replace his clk320...he's probably going with a PI model though. Was at the launch at C & C and we gave the car a once over. We both like it. I think the dash and cluster design is a little too 'previous generation' and the harman kardon system sucks big time but overall its a nice car and we both like it. I agree with most of what was mentioned by pyramid. The exterior styling and seats are what i consider its top points (driving aside).C & C was asking about 280K for the fully optioned model with glass sunroof, amg kit, harman kardon system and some other stuff. PI offering same spec for about 230K. Cycle and PI models will have roughly the same OMV, about 66K. Its a no brainer to me. I cant stomach the ridiculous margin the AD is asking for

just wondering can PI really service the Mercy when required?

next time intro your Dad to me. maybe i buy over from him when he is sian with it. hee hee

Edited by Throttle2

next time intro your Dad to me. maybe i buy over from him when he is sian with it. hee hee

hi bro

there are many reputable workshops specialising in merc.

for example MBM.

Today my sgmerc bro had a bad exp with C&C. bloody SE say need to wait 1 month for a courtesy car $*&*&%*&%*&%

bro

dash and instrument panel last gen?

it should be same or similar to my w204 one with the LCD screen but i think its a generation or 2 ahead of the Beemer VW or Audi small screen in the middle.

hi bro

there are many reputable workshops specialising in merc.

for example MBM.

Today my sgmerc bro had a bad exp with C&C. bloody SE say need to wait 1 month for a courtesy car $*&*&%*&%*&%

in that case, the E350 could be a real contender as my next car.......

yeah

a bro got a lemon c200

alot of probs.

SE also unwilling to help.

sian diao. He told me he will never get another merc from c&c

yeah

a bro got a lemon c200

alot of probs.

SE also unwilling to help.

sian diao. He told me he will never get another merc from c&c

wah C&C so c--k one meh?

yes bro

bang table at PML easier. always works there. Not at C&C

sgmerc bro went down to the cafe and asked for the GM end up bang table kena a E200 courtesy car meant for another customer after hours of hard wrangling

yes bro

bang table at PML easier. always works there. Not at C&C

sgmerc bro went down to the cafe and asked for the GM end up bang table kena a E200 courtesy car meant for another customer after hours of hard wrangling

wah like that really no point buying from Agent c&C...........

bro

dash and instrument panel last gen?

it should be same or similar to my w204 one with the LCD screen but i think its a generation or 2 ahead of the Beemer VW or Audi small screen in the middle.

No its not exactly the same as the last gen....but i called it 'very last gen' because thats the feeling it gives. I was never a fan of the merc instrument cluster....it looks too busy..too much useless information on the display on the speedo..

My father also owns a 2008 (now considered previous generation) BMW 730i. I like the BMW cluster better but i find the traditional orange lighting....well...kinda gay. I cant think of a better word. But its superior to the merc.

To me its not about the quantity of information provided...a serious car should provide just what you need, anything else is just an unwelcome distraction. To me lah, at least

Dunno how the VW and Audi screens compare though. not much experience with them

Anyway he just placed his order with a PI...fully spec'd E350 coupe white exterior about 235K all in. November or december delivery. Good luck to C & C if they think they can push units out the door at more than 280K. Its not like a guy who buys a ferrari, 50K or nearly 20% difference doesnt matter. with cars like this, it should matter....

Edited by Blackreplica

I would trust workshops like MBM wheelpower as much as the agent, if not more so. Merc engines are pretty standard stuff...tough as nails workhorses...aside from direct injection on the newer engines, there's really nothing special about them. so servicing outside should be ok

hahah if you want a 2004(or maybe 2005) clk320, i can hook you up with him....but if you want his 350...i think you might need to wait a while. He has 2 cars, but he keeps them for at least 5 years.unless its a crap car or he bought it second hand then he dumps it pretty quick, but then again if it was crap or third hand you wouldnt want it would you......LOL

Edited by Blackreplica

hi, can i ask which pi did you use, and which pi's you considered while doing the purchase, cheers