NO REFUND!

Driven

A lady fren had a spat with a second hand car dealer.

She went to a second hand car dealer, found the car she wanted. She and her fren asked the dealer...has this car ever engaged in an accident. The dealer said NO.

Being ignorant, she was asked to pay 1k deposit. Den she requested a car inspection at vicom. The report was ok but she was told that this car had a accident before.

She didnt like it becos she didnt want a car that was involved in a accident before and demanded a refund. She was rejected on the request. Dealer claimed the report from inspection centre was ok and therefore no refund. Her argued and demanded an explaination why he wasnt truthful on the "accident history" and coaxed her into the purchase.

Isnt this ugly and misleading.

What can she do now. Go CASE? [thumbsdown]

Another forumer also posted a similar experience under the thread 'Dishonest Car Dealer Revealed' & the dealer posted his side of story ... [nod]

I think with no black & white on the dealer promising that the car is accident free, your female friend would be in a losing ground [:(]

Edited by Mzrmazda3

Unless she has black & white to prove that the dealer lied to her that the car did not have an accident.

Else, can only suck thumb and move on. [shakehead]

Out of curiosity, do dealers practise writing it down black and white on this? If not...all potentials buyers will be at your mercy.

Wouldnt a verbal statement/agreement stands in court? Though its verbal but still its misleading the clients. She has her fren as witness to that statement.

Out of curiosity, do dealers practise writing it down black and white on this? If not...all potentials buyers will be at your mercy.

Wouldnt a verbal statement/agreement stands in court? Though its verbal but still its misleading the clients. She has her fren as witness to that statement.

got witness also no use unless your friend wants to sue the dealer...

if this is the case, your friend must prepare to lose more than 1k...

end of day, no one will win, only the lawyers.

A lady fren had a spat with a second hand car dealer.

She went to a second hand car dealer, found the car she wanted. She and her fren asked the dealer...has this car ever engaged in an accident. The dealer said NO.

Being ignorant, she was asked to pay 1k deposit. Den she requested a car inspection at vicom. The report was ok but she was told that this car had a accident before.

She didnt like it becos she didnt want a car that was involved in a accident before and demanded a refund. She was rejected on the request. Dealer claimed the report from inspection centre was ok and therefore no refund. Her argued and demanded an explaination why he wasnt truthful on the "accident history" and coaxed her into the purchase.

Isnt this ugly and misleading.

What can she do now. Go CASE? [thumbsdown]

the report beri funni leh....how cum leeport ok but y tell got accident b4 leh???

if got accident vicom must stated got acccident mah....n can vicom tell how bad was the accident???

Bro, there is this practice to write everything down in B & W on this sort of issue [nod]

Some of these 2nd hand car dealer can talk til 'Got Dragon Got Pheonix' just to make sure that you place a booking fee & then after that chut pattern liao [gossip]

On legal side, i can't advise much ...

car dealer will then say......"now when did i say its a non accident car, got cctv or not or my voice recording??"

Like tat win liao loh.......... <_<

aiyo like that one lar..... before you buy... everything also can, everything also good, everything also nap nap kali pok, everything also swee swee boh chao jui...... pay $$$ liao.... diff story already..... [shakehead]

car dealer will then say......"now when did i say its a non accident car, got cctv or not or my voice recording??"

Like tat win liao loh.......... <_<

best is bring voice recorder when dealing wif 2nd hand car dealer....

Hi Driven,

I refer to the following as mentioned in your posting:

".....Being ignorant, she was asked to pay 1k deposit. Den she requested a car inspection at vicom. The report was ok but she was told that this car had a accident before".

I find the above rather unclear and confusing. Let me put the following qeuries in order to have a precise picture of the whole scenario:

1) Did the dealer send the car for inspection at Vicom after your lady friend requested? If there is, then there should be an official certificate from Vicom OR;

2) Did the dealer sent the car for inspection by Vicom prior to putting it up for sale?

If there is an official certificate from Vicom prior to your lady friend putting down the deposit, but if she still have doubts and be assured, she could pay for another inspection at any of the authorised inspection centres at her own cost.

The dealer cannot refuse her request as she has already paid a deposit for the car. If the dealer agrees to, she with a male friend or a man related to her go with the dealer's representative together while the latter drives the car to any inspection centres of her choice for another assessment. They have to see for themselves while the inspector assesses the car so as to ensure that there is no hidden agenda between the inspector and dealer's representative.

If the results turned out fine and an assessment certificate issued, then she has to fulfill the contractual agreement on the purchase of the car. If there were evidences of superficial bodywork accidents in the past but has made good and engine not affected, she can't cease the sales.

But should the inspection revealed that the previous accident is more than superficial which affected the engine, then she can cease the purchae agreement and request for the deposit back.

However, if the dealer refuses, she can report the matter to the police to settle the matter. Case closed if the dealer agrees to the monetary refund. But should the case be unsettled, she need to seek legal advice.

She can also concurrently lodge a complaint of the previous Vicom personnel who inspected the car who certified that the vehicle is accident free which was actually not, to the relevant authority's perusal.

The above is just my personal opinion, views and sharing it as I came across such similar situation before.

Edited by Mikeyeo

I guess the point in contention is the char bor not happy with the sale fella telling her the car swee swee boh langa, but in fact, kena ram before, so no more virgin.... though the Vicom report state the car still can drive.... maybe she pan dan or something and dont like non-vigin car....

Think the char bor [gorgeous] got to suck thumb or something else as the car is deem to be okay.... she veri hard to prove the sales say what thing to her without B&W..... and the report state the car is okay... wont fall apart once.... [drivingcar]

Edited by Nlatio

I am not sure abt ur fren's situation. But for me, the dealer will write something like this on the agreement form:

"Agreement valid pending inspection report from XXX. If condition unsatisfactory, either party can void this agreement and deposit refund."

Very hard to find a car that's 100% accident-free one. It's either minor or major accident only. Things like changing bumper is very common. Small knock only want to change whole bumper and claim the other bugger's insurance, very common scenario in our society. Like that also got a record as "have accident", tio boh? As long as it's not major one, dealers will not refund. Else they will not be able to sell a single car.

I am not sure abt ur fren's situation. But for me, the dealer will write something like this on the agreement form:

"Agreement valid pending inspection report from XXX. If condition unsatisfactory, either party can void this agreement and deposit refund."

Actually, this is not good enough. "Unsatisfactory" is a very vague word. It does not warrant a refund as long as the final inspection rating is a "PASS", regardless of whether it's rated A, B or C. A "PASS" simply means the car is fit for road usage, with no risk to any road users.

Edited by Dunno