The horrible colleague / office politics thread

Ahtong

for us ,we always share our food with cleaners

reason v simple, they help us maintain our area clean..though they are 'outsider' [;)]

The cleaner here change like every few mths. Depend on the management. Anyway, I not bothered at all abt the giving.

But there is a cold war in my office today. [laugh] Plus the cold weather. [laugh]

A box of mooncake given to the cleaner can cause such resentment.

I guess that can only happen on a specific gender. Bet my money on it.

A box of mooncake given to the cleaner can cause such resentment.

I guess that can only happen on a specific gender. Bet my money on it.

i'll double up on that bet.

Your business not big enough........so not enough mooncakes to share around lor. [laugh]

For the past donkey years, i always get to bring home 3 boxes. 1 each for my mom, in-law, self. ^_^

Penty of surplus around to distribute to almost everybody(inclduing cleaners). In fact still got 5 boxes rotting away at the pantry. [laugh]

Actually we didnt ask for it, its like a norm practise in our industry.

Same thing will happen with bak kua. haha

In addition, CNY time suppliers/service companies have to book well in advance to invite us for pre-CNY lunch. Eventually 2 weeks mon-fri prior CNY will be fully booked. Those kena turn down will be reminded to place booking earlier next year!!! [laugh]

Sorry to revive this thread.

Hai.....a small little incident happened and now the colleagues in my office buay song each other.

For the past two weeks, vendors have been giving us mooncakes. A little too many I would say, wat to do, too many vendors. According to company policy we should not accept corporate gifts and keep it individually. It should be shared in the office.

So this lady colleague gave one box of mooncake to the PRC toilet cleaner. The toilet cleaner is not one of our staff, she works for the building management. The rest of the ladies colleagues come to know of it and buay song liao. How can gifts from vendors be given to "outsider" instead???

Then my gossiper told me other department, received the mooncakes from their vendor, keep it within the department only. Never share with the rest of the office.

Actually I dont care abt these gifts. I did receive some boxes of mooncake too. I just pass them to my recep and told her to put it at the pantry and share with everyone. Office politics, I stay out of them!!! [:/]

BTW, I buy my own mooncakes cos I only like plain filling mooncakes with lotus seeds. :D

So this lady colleague gave one box of mooncake to the PRC toilet cleaner. The toilet cleaner is not one of our staff, she works for the building management. The rest of the ladies colleagues come to know of it and buay song liao. How can gifts from vendors be given to "outsider" instead???

Maybe they're related in some way [laugh]

Sorry to revive this thread.

Hai.....a small little incident happened and now the colleagues in my office buay song each other.

For the past two weeks, vendors have been giving us mooncakes. A little too many I would say, wat to do, too many vendors. According to company policy we should not accept corporate gifts and keep it individually. It should be shared in the office.

Then my gossiper told me other department, received the mooncakes from their vendor, keep it within the department only. Never share with the rest of the office.

Actually I dont care abt these gifts. I did receive some boxes of mooncake too. I just pass them to my recep and told her to put it at the pantry and share with everyone. Office politics, I stay out of them!!! [:/]

BTW, I buy my own mooncakes cos I only like plain filling mooncakes with lotus seeds. :D

Good for you mate. Every company has such people. I have nbr come across one that does not. When I received such gifts, I passed on to my subordinates, ask them to bring home if no one takes them from the pantry. The 1st thing we do is passed around the office. When someone from another department that dont share starts asking if they can bring home, I will cut up all into equal pieces (too ugly for anyone to bring home). If these ppl from other dept still want to take home. Go ahead. Its part of the deal. Nothing to dread about. ^_^

Your business not big enough........so not enough mooncakes to share around lor. [laugh]

For the past donkey years, i always get to bring home 3 boxes. 1 each for my mom, in-law, self. ^_^

Penty of surplus around to distribute to almost everybody(inclduing cleaners). In fact still got 5 boxes rotting away at the pantry. [laugh]

In addition, CNY time suppliers/service companies have to book well in advance to invite us for pre-CNY lunch. Eventually 2 weeks mon-fri prior CNY will be fully booked. Those kena turn down will be reminded to place booking earlier next year!!! [laugh]

Can I meet you during CNY period so that I can get a free box of bak kwa from you? TIA. :wub:

We are in the same industry. Ya, mine only small small company so maybe not so much mooncake for staff to bring home. I was fully booked out for CNY lunch for one week only. But year end will receive ard 20+ hamper and these will be lucky draw gifts during Christmas party. [laugh] My cheapo company.

But I guess this is the first time the gifts were given to an outsider thus causing an uproar among the lady colleagues here. Currently cold war still on and a few black face walking ard. [laugh]

Edited by Adrianli

sibei bo eng and bo liao. mooncake also wanna fight. promotion, bonuses i understand. mooncakes give cleaner cannot? you work in kindergarden? All ur colleagues are 5 yr old? [laugh]

Edited by Zyrofillica

We are in the same industry. Ya, mine only small small company so maybe not so much mooncake for staff to bring home. I was fully booked out for CNY lunch for one week only. But year end will receive ard 20+ hamper and these will be lucky draw gifts during Christmas party. [laugh] My cheapo company.

But I guess this is the first time the gifts were given to an outsider thus causing an uproar among the lady colleagues here. Currently cold war still on and a few black face walking ard. [laugh]

i think they have someone against each other already... took this incident to 'explode' the issue! [:(]

U will be surpirse........many working females are like that. [:|]

sibei bo eng and bo liao. mooncake also wanna fight. promotion, bonuses i understand. mooncakes give cleaner cannot? you work in kindergarden? All ur colleagues are 5 yr old? [laugh]

U will be surpirse........many working females are like that. [:|]

what i see is that this happens more among the lower ranking females. the lower ranking males don't usually bother with it.

the high ranking ones have their own games, regardless of gender. maybe like mass orgy.

Paint supplier alone oredi got 4-5 of them liao. Still got chemicals lei ? Lubs lei ? Class ? And other miscs companies......... [grin]

Cannot be 1 week only lei. Actually 1 month also not enough to cover all. [laugh]

My office collegues also cannot tahan everyday. Straight 2 weeks in a roll is max for them liao. [laugh]

But i dont like too much good food, go with 2-3 of the inviation, sian liao. i'll go back to my regular $3 lunch + teh-C. ^_^

Can anyone share stories of the most horrible colleagues you have met?

My office is still ok but how do you handle tai chi masters, backstabbers, hot air balloons, prima donnas, blur sotongs and other difficult people at work?

I usually fire them [laugh]

Paint supplier alone oredi got 4-5 of them liao. Still got chemicals lei ? Lubs lei ? Class ? And other miscs companies......... [grin]

Cannot be 1 week only lei. Actually 1 month also not enough to cover all. [laugh]

My office collegues also cannot tahan everyday. Straight 2 weeks in a roll is max for them liao. [laugh]

But i dont like too much good food, go with 2-3 of the inviation, sian liao. i'll go back to my regular $3 lunch + teh-C. ^_^

My company, they like to stick to one vendor for each product so not many free lunches lor. All the other vendors salesman knows that my company very hard to penetrate. And we do not accept giftes from such vendors. I only go out for free lunches with our major suppliers.

Wat to do, my company like to sign global contracts. The vendors must be able to provide support to us in Australia, Middle East, West Africa, Russia(Sakhalin) and Asia before they can start to talk to us.

BTW, today they all very cheery and greeted one another "Morning" so I guess the cold war is over liao. [laugh]

Edited by Adrianli

Their life is too good, walk around getting angry about moon cakes.... siao...

What industry are you in bro?