Ahtong 1st Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 Can old timers tell me how was it to live in a kampong? Is it true that kampong life is more relaxed and people were more gracious towards each other? How come kampong people can have 6 kids with no problems but now even 1 kid is so troublesome? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 Kampong life was indeed more carefree...the countryside gave you that kind of solace when you awake and you get to see and hear nature around you. Used to play gasing(top), fly kites and marbles with fellow neighbors and most were frendlier,,,dunno why. We were alwes united and helpful. Doors never locked and everyone knew each other Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 my estate is shifted from kampong one...pple v friendly.even the shop owners..sometimes buy things short of $,can wait n pay the next day.. i got 4 uncles and 4 aunties..LOL..kampong pple nothing to do in past?LOL btw heard that C speaker boss same kampong as the neighbourhood pple..dont know how true..but can see he v humble also.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 the kampong I can remember was my grandma house in malacca more than 20 years ago, so simple that you just want to do nothing! with own veg plant at backyard, go toilet need to walk across the chicken farm avoid been attack by chicken, rooster, turkey, dog... no water heater, the cold water smell and taste good! walk in mud most the time but the smell of nature was wonderful..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 How come kampong people can have 6 kids with no problems but now even 1 kid is so troublesome? People in the past are made of iron. People nowadays are made of cotton. Weak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 i've been to one of the kampong long long time ago (60/70) somewhere in toa payoh/potong pasir area, where they reared pigs, goats and some vege farms.....belongs to my uncle's wife family.. smelly toilet was a standalone shed, dig hole type the children are carefree and run about freely without shoes, dirty faces pigs running around, with pigs' sh!t everywhere raining days, the tracks turned muddy and dirt is part and parcel of daily life in kampong... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to stay in kampong at Ulu Sembawang until i was 12. Kampong lifestyle is really much more relax, we don't close doors, we can go each others house anytime to play. Good things about kampong 1) Bigger space to play 2) Closer to nature, catch spiders, dragonfly, grass hoppers, climb trees 3) Relax lifestyle Bad things about kampong 1) Mosquitos and houseflies, no choice but to bear with it. 2) Risk of getting sting by bees 3) Risk of falling into well or big drain, this is more for small kids Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kallangrally Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to stay in sembawang kampong near seaside (70s-80s), life is so carefree....morning feed chickens and ducks, after that catch spiders or mud crabs, after that can harvest fruits, rambutan/mango/mangosteen/guava/jackfruit/coconut/ang mo durian/durians etc etc.....after lunch feed chicken/ducks again..after that go catch prawns/fishes, if got low tide go dig la las, mussels or step flower crabs.... really miss those time then, if I have a choice I won't want to work outside, just be a farmer is good enough....no need see bosses face..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiwao Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to stay in one of those in old Taman Tampines donkeys years back Miss those days... Catching dragon flies, fireflies, frogs, centipedes, millipedes, monitor lizards, big fat pythons etc.. and the bugs flying around the fruit trees. Used to have durian trees that produces yellowie, firm flesh fruits, rambutan trees where the big red ants hang around. Or the sweet pomegranate plant, guava tree, lemon tree..and yes, mini chicken, duck enclosure. These can only be found up north now. Singapore, very few and far between remains. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kallangrally Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 Bad things about kampong 1) Mosquitos and houseflies, no choice but to bear with it. 2) Risk of getting sting by bees 3) Risk of falling into well or big drain, this is more for small kids hey bro, all the bad things I kena before, I get biten from mosquites everyday, stung by bees twice and twice fell into ponds..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustang 1st Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to in Kampung Jln Darat Nenas beside the old Changi Prison last time.Life in Kampung is totally different from City.There's no need to be Kiasu or Kiasi in Kg.All use common sense.For transportation my uncle owns a Mini Austin and my dad own a Triumph bike..Other than that have to walk out to Somapah bus terminal(Where the Expo is it now),But i still have a Kampung in Pontian,JB.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jackpot Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to stay in one of those in old Taman Tampines donkeys years back Miss those days... Catching dragon flies, fireflies, frogs, centipedes, millipedes, monitor lizards, big fat pythons etc.. and the bugs flying around the fruit trees. Used to have durian trees that produces yellowie, firm flesh fruits, rambutan trees where the big red ants hang around. Or the sweet pomegranate plant, guava tree, lemon tree..and yes, mini chicken, duck enclosure. These can only be found up north now. Singapore, very few and far between remains. Me also staying in old Tampines rd. I was from Yock Ming Pri Sch. That was long long time ago. Really missed those days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 my kampong have a fish pond n ppl poo into the pond. the fish eat the poo, then ppl eat the fish. this cycle repeats. its in sembawang btw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2bfree Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 I used to stay in a kampong when I was little. Went Pontian kampong stayed for a few weeks in my early 20s, went to a Thailand country side stayed for a few weeks, did some farming, in my late 20s. Between the kampong & the city life, I mus agree dat kampong life is slow-paced and stress-free. When I m there, I oni worry abt wat i want to do today, too much time to waste. Sooooo relak. Bt really, as much as I miss the kampong life style, I wldnt stay there for the rest of my life. Floods, insects swarm into the house durin rainy days, short circuit, pang sai halfway no light, cleaniness etc. Maybe I hav become too attached to the comforts of this modern world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 I stayed in Lim Chu Kang when I was a kid... Chicken farm... Sibei songs.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 Can old timers tell me how was it to live in a kampong? Is it true that kampong life is more relaxed and people were more gracious towards each other? How come kampong people can have 6 kids with no problems but now even 1 kid is so troublesome? Its the lifestyle that we want that makes us who we r and what we are doing right now. Everybody wants to live in condo and drive a car.... tis type of life sure stressful for most of the average joe in the street. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged August 16, 2009 Share August 16, 2009 kampong life?? thats where u see chicken, duck, dog and other animal s--t around and u can step onto it if u are not careful.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixat 1st Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 my estate is shifted from kampong one...pple v friendly.even the shop owners..sometimes buy things short of $,can wait n pay the next day.. i got 4 uncles and 4 aunties..LOL..kampong pple nothing to do in past?LOL btw heard that C speaker boss same kampong as the neighbourhood pple..dont know how true..but can see he v humble also.. I think really nothing much to do in kampong at night back in the old days. I just learnt that my father (No. 10 - last child in the family) is one year younger than his oldest brother's first child. My grandmother and auntie was pregnant at the same time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...