Ngck 3rd Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 (edited) Hi guys, While driving yesterday morning, i saw someone driving and pulling a trailer behind. Its just a normal car. not some lorry. although the trailer was empty I wonder how he got pass the authorities and got it approve as there seems to be a number plate behind it. Something similar to this. Edited August 13, 2009 by Ngck ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 I have seen these too around industrial estates. I had been wondering the same thing, they are registered as TBC and so fourth as a normal rear trailer. If its legal then I certainly wouldnt mind getting one. Can strap a bike or two and go dirt riding in thailand. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyojin 1st Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 i spoke to a local trailer distributor about the legality. his response to me was: "did anybody say cannot? everybody just assumes so, because they haven't seen one. LTA will approve." useful for those with dedicated track cars or race bikes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear August 13, 2009 Author Share August 13, 2009 move house also can use. very useful for bulky items the only strange part is that it is strap to a normal car (Subaru station wagon) and traveling on normal roads (upper changi road) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear August 13, 2009 Author Share August 13, 2009 Are the trailers available to rent? Legally any paper work to do? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SupperTime Clutched August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Just a quick question, since the trailer requires a numberplate, does it need any tax payable and such as well ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear August 14, 2009 Author Share August 14, 2009 nothing on LTA website leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 i spoke to a local trailer distributor about the legality. his response to me was: "did anybody say cannot? everybody just assumes so, because they haven't seen one. LTA will approve." useful for those with dedicated track cars or race bikes. Of course he will say "LTA will approve"...so he can sell u one LOL The fact is, towing a trailer is not allowed in SG by normal cars. This is because tow-balls are not allowed, they're in the same category as tow-hooks, which are forbidden (don't ask me why, strange reasons). I called and asked before already, because i wanted to buy a boat and tow it around hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear August 14, 2009 Author Share August 14, 2009 Of course he will say "LTA will approve"...so he can sell u one LOL The fact is, towing a trailer is not allowed in SG by normal cars. This is because tow-balls are not allowed, they're in the same category as tow-hooks, which are forbidden (don't ask me why, strange reasons). I called and asked before already, because i wanted to buy a boat and tow it around hehe so that guy towing illegally lor. Maybe angmo so why dunno the rules Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 so that guy towing illegally lor. Maybe angmo so why dunno the rules yes, maybe illegally, either that or he has special permission, one-off purpose i think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 yes, maybe illegally, either that or he has special permission, one-off purpose i think. I think so too , the other thing came to my mind is - how and where to park in a public carpark ? Reverse parking will be similiar to those container trailer . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 confirm should have legal papers. There are a few people towing trailers to put bring their non road legal dirt bikes over the causeway or to the tuas track. not sure which cars are allowed to tow, but i think suvs, station wagons are allowed as they generally have to haul a larger weight compared to a normal sedan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 16, 2009 Share August 16, 2009 Of course he will say "LTA will approve"...so he can sell u one LOL The fact is, towing a trailer is not allowed in SG by normal cars. This is because tow-balls are not allowed, they're in the same category as tow-hooks, which are forbidden (don't ask me why, strange reasons). I called and asked before already, because i wanted to buy a boat and tow it around hehe ============== Ya I think u got it right. SG dont allow towing trailers. Only towing of break-down vehicles for short distances to safe places r allowed. Otherwise u wil see lorries towing a couple of trailers all fully loaded with foreign workers. Transport companies wil go bust in no time & we all know who owns the transport companies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kleivard 1st Gear July 3, 2010 Share July 3, 2010 Of course he will say "LTA will approve"...so he can sell u one LOL The fact is, towing a trailer is not allowed in SG by normal cars. This is because tow-balls are not allowed, they're in the same category as tow-hooks, which are forbidden (don't ask me why, strange reasons). I called and asked before already, because i wanted to buy a boat and tow it around hehe Don't be silly, Towing of trailer are ALLOW in Sg is just that not many people doin it. You will need to make sure it pass all LTA regulation and proper documents required. Tow ball are not allow when the vehicle is not towing a trailer(LTA regulation: No object to be sticking out of the vehicle body) but do you know that when not towing the trailer our tow ball bracket can be easily remove with just a quick release pin? I'm just a SX4 owner towing a bike trailer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 3, 2010 Share July 3, 2010 This is kind of interesting. What is the registration plate of the towing vehicle? Go to be class 5 than can tow right. So for example an SUV also want to tow, it has to be registrated and drive as tow truck. The trailer also must be registed a trailer. If easy to get towing papers, and no need class 5, I will think about it seriously. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kleivard 1st Gear July 3, 2010 Share July 3, 2010 (edited) Trailer need to be register as TRC plate and need an insurance and also need to go for inspection yearly. A class3 driver will be able to tow as Class 3 driver are allow to drive not more than 3 tons (Example Vehicle weight =1500kg / trailer weight = 300kg) it is still below 3tons. But driving a trailer in SG are really not practical as there will be no parking space in HDB/URA carparks.Trailer owner normally don't drive a trailer around SG street but only when they are goin to msia together with the motorbike loaded and it is NOT allow to carry any PAX. most vehicle are able to tow depend on the vehicle towing capacity. Vehicle like Honda JASS/Fit are able to tow a trailer with gross weight not more than 750kg Edited July 3, 2010 by Kleivard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lamemonster Clutched July 3, 2010 Share July 3, 2010 This is kind of interesting. What is the registration plate of the towing vehicle? Go to be class 5 than can tow right. So for example an SUV also want to tow, it has to be registrated and drive as tow truck. The trailer also must be registed a trailer. If easy to get towing papers, and no need class 5, I will think about it seriously. Bro, No need class 5... but must have class 4 and need to attend course (i think now need).. Number plate no need to re-register.... like tow truck.. must put same number as the front tow vehicle can lao.... i think tonnage also in the terms ... tow vehicle must be above 1.5ton than can tow... my 2cents Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 3, 2010 Share July 3, 2010 Bro thanks, Why MOM & LTA did not think of this for small company worker tpt? Foremen or boss can drive workers in MPV (1.5ton) and tow a wagon(1.5ton) if they have cargos/tools or barang2 to carry to jobsite. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...