Job stability is an illusion for most

Nutsack

Depends on one's definition of making it.

To some 50k/yr is a lot.

To some 2m/yr is not.

There are employees who make 2m/yr.. better than some who are self employed?

At the end of the day, be happy. [:)]

I have tried and fail in biz, was about 30 with no commitment. Should be a bit wiser now [scholar] Now an employee, will try again.

"Ever tried. Ever failed. Nevermind. Try again. Fail again. Fail Better."

I am now looking at a product that help save energy for air cons. See how it goes...... [cool]

Edited by Sunlight

I think it all boils down on how comfortable you would want your life to be. Look around us, we are surrounded by countless of material stuff everday.

What you want vs What you need.

I've seen how my parents toil through the years building up their business to be successful but in the end they kinda lost track of their own time to relax.

We all want ourselves to live comfortably with a roof under our head and able to have three meals a day.

Time is something we don't have the luxury off. Once is gone, there is no way turning back. I always admire people who are willing to risk everything to achieve their dreams.

Never give up on your dreams. DO IT and Don't Try, cos trying is only for dillusioned people who think they can when they can't.

I've made my decision and never look back for not taking up my Dad's business but instead work for a company which i longed to joined.

Opportunities only comes once, if you miss it, the chances of getting it back is slim or never.

Passion for work is the key, but never overdo it cos in the end, you might regret the time of not being able to spend with your love ones or do things which you always want to do but don't have the time.

Life is short for us. Treasure it.

i knew whats that..hydrocarbon covertor or wa..my friend doing it now .. [laugh]

wrong, not hydrocarbon. something else. [;)]

would like to know yr friend. can intro? ^_^

Look around us, we are surrounded by countless of material stuff everday.

Many people work very hard to accumulate material possessions. These material possessions give them security, status and even identity. This speaks volumes about the person deep inside them, of what they are.

The moment u feel secure about who you are, what you are, your status and identity in this world, you will no longer wish to chase after material possessions. They become something nice to have, but can seriously do without. That is the sort of Peace that no amount of money can ever give you. By that stage, you no longer worry about job stability, you are Secure even if the end of the world comes.

new stuffs?think he keen to know..

how and when to arrange?pm me..he in this industry in air conditioning system..so i believe he v interested.. [thumbsup]

u have pm [wave]

Had to say this after reading a thread about the rich and poor in our nation and how education affects your chances of ending up in either state. My controversial but honest take...

Education is just safety chute. If your main parachute doesn't open, at least you have a safety chute to depend on. But whether or not your safety chute works the way you want it to is another thing.

One thing MUST be said. Working for others is one of the worst ways to try to become rich. It is statistically proven - throughout the developed world - that being your own boss increases your chances of making big bucks.

Of course being your own boss carries greater risks than having a "stable" job. I say stable with quotation marks because I believe that that stability is only an illusion for employees cause I believe you can't really be safe when your financial well-being depends on someone else other than you.

Right now I'm at it on my own. I'm at the beginning throes of my start-up and I know i'm burdened with a high level of risk as compared to my peers who graduated with jobs. I've had friends and family tell me things like:

- "You've got good overseas qualifications, studied more than most people sure can get high starting pay one. Why go risk it?" (My housewife auntie actually told me this).

- "Just get a stable job first. Think about business ideas later. Don't rush into things when you're young." (Friend)

- "Most businesses fail one leh. So many friends I know failed already. It's very hard to make these days esp in Singapore (Friend #2)

I never took their advice. Why? They're all employees. Why would I take business advice from people who never tried to start something on their own? Some successful relatives and friends who own business say very different things when they hear about me starting out on my own:

- "Starting business? Mmm. Good. Must work hard." (Uncle to owns a few market stalls with pri sch education, but now owns landed property with 3 cars).

- "It's going to be hard. Most important thing is you must have focus." (Another uncle who's doing quite well.)

You can tell the difference in attitude. One play safe, okay can oredi. The other side's realistic about how hard it is but never say "don't try".

My philosophy is: I'm young now. Got significant savings and money from good decisions when I was a teenager. So I must give it a shot. If I fail, i've got my education and youth. May not do as well as peers but I won't starve.

Sad thing is, in the past people had less education and hence less to fall back on. But they were so much more gutsy. Today? So many of my peers are graduates but they've lost that go-for-it attitude (i partly blame our country's lack of safety nets for this).

And my opinion to others who snigger at me when I don't do well (IF things don't turn out the way I hope)? I dare to try. I'll never have to say "if only..." when I'm older. If I fail, i'll try again. And again, and again, until I know time's running out and money's all gone.

Money isn't everything to me. It's whether I dare to try to be as happy as I can be. If I end up as an employee ten years down the road after failing, I'll still be happier than if I never tried at all and end up working in an office anyway even with higher pay.

So if you wanna make it rich, start out on your own. If you're working for someone else, chances of you being rich is very remote. And your job is not truly stable because you being employed depends on another person. If you throw a stone into a crowd of wealthy folk, chances are the person you hit owns his/her own business.

Yes .... agree with you .... life is short .... so give it a shot.

But trust me ..... when people tell you "Must work hard" .... believe me ... your impression of "Work hard" could be very far from what they are trying to say.

One thing .... there are "employees" who are also having good income .... but of course ... their salary is dependable on the company.

Having said that .... it all voice down to one thing .... "What do you want?".

So it is about "To each his/her own".

Those people that tell you to play safe are right in their perspective. They definitely have seen many people that failed. They chose the security ... or supposing security which they now have.

So now ... it is all up to you to proof them right .... or proof them wrong ... but those are secondary.

Anyway .... All the best to you .... really sincerely.

actually the best time to chiong is when young..when u have nothing...this is advice from my friends..

reason is there's nothing or commitment to pull u back..wan chiong go 100%..dont half half..if not..failure sure 100% in the end..

especially if got spouse or gf to give u support morally..the posibilities to success is v high.

2 of my friends whom married v early..18-19, both their wife v v supportive..gone thru hard times with them..now its payback time,tai tai life..

overall,its the commitment that pullback or drive u thru...

just my tots..goodluck and huat ah!

Yes ... this I agree.

But ... "Late better than never".

So ... it's all about how willing you are in pursuing your passion.

For me, family is always first. As long as comfortable can liaoz.. Dun need to drive Ferrari or GTR..

I also think alike. But still cannot ignore the fact everything costs money.

Next year my younger of two sons will go into nursery school. Quarterly fees about $500, school bus is $120. Elder son will be K2, fees also about the same. That's just one area. And there's other expenses including care of my own parents, and parent-in-laws. So being to sole-breadwinner and so many people wanting a piece of me, it's very hard not to be a bit money minded.

In fact in my career decisions I always put money as one of the most important decision factors.

Hi guys,

I'm Gary, i read up on MCF most of the time. Seldom did post anything.

This thread suits my cup of tea just fine.

Been reading that some people prefers to have a good social life, a good family and everything.. Thus, they decide to stick with something 9 - 5.

Then there are those who go for what they truly want, making their mark regardless of age or circumstance.

I've met many people, i've seen quite a lot of people.

This thread to me only reinforces to me that 97% of the human population prefers to have a job and they have about 3% of the total financial equivalents on this earth.

Then there are people like Nutsack, they belong to the remaining 3% of the human population, at least mentally, whom controls 97% of the total financial equivalents on this earth.

From the posts.. we can see most people obviously prefer family, social life, security. Makes a lot of sense to me =) There is nothing wrong with that.

Hows everything going for you nutsack? if you still login to mcf

i stuck around engineering for 8 years until end of last year...

volunteered "unofficially" to get the R package so i can make up my mind to venture into finance (stock)

give myself 1 year to try out something that i really like instead of slogging through that overworked underpaid engineering job

[sly][sly]

so far things have been doing reasonably ok...

i have my own share of fail/success stories in business. frankly to me singapore is not entrepreneur friendly.

there are lots of initiatives by govt but by and large miss the core issues.

eg i for one feel that bankruptcy rules should be tweaked to be less hostile to failed entrepreneurs as opposed to overspenders, and once discharged the slate should be wiped clean. here the stigma remains till you die.

also singapore will never be a welfare state but i have actually seen many instances of people overseas who slog during the early stages of business assured there will always be food on the table thanks to welfare. allows them to be less hasty.

btw any budding business ppl should not miss two good shows on ch74...

1. Risking it all

2. Dragon's Den

You can have a successful career and an equally successful business at the same time. All it takes is a little bit effort in time management.

i have my own share of fail/success stories in business. frankly to me singapore is not entrepreneur friendly.

there are lots of initiatives by govt but by and large miss the core issues.

What 'core issues'?

Sinkland is entrepreneur friendly to those who have 'connections' [:p]