Job stability is an illusion for most

Nutsack

if i could become young again, i will definately start my own business. i do agree that one wont become rich by being employed. but once you have a family and old parents, you cannot afford the opportunity cost. so start young. good luck to TS !

My avartar is a dead give away on what i have to say. But i wont bored you with details. It seems like you have only $ on your mind now.

Just take a moment to think what you going to give up in pursue of this dream of yours. If you prefer a solitary and zero social and family life for many many years to come. Please go ahead and work hard for your goal. Just remember, TIME do not turn back! Life is bigger than $. Not the other way round.

For me, even if you guarantee me a 101% sure strike it rich business, but i have to devote 24/7 for the next 10-20 years. I'll say thank you, I'll pass. I have something even more rewarding than a sucessfull business, that is a healthy and good family life. [sunny]

Good Luck to you Bro. [grouphug]

Edited by Hiphiphoray

My avartar is a dead give away on what i have to say. But i wont bored you with details. It seems like you have only $ on your mind now.

Just take a moment to think what you going to give up in pursue of this dream of yours. If you prefer a solitary and zero social and family life for many many years to come. Please go ahead.

For me, even if you guarantee me a 101% sure strike it rich business, but i have to devote 24/7 for the next 10-20 years. I'll say thank you, I'll pass. I have something even more rewarding than a sucessfull business, that is a healthy and good family life. [sunny]

[thumbsup] I think that is sth money cannot buy

Just take a moment to think what you going to give up in pursue of this dream of yours. If you prefer a solitary and zero social and family life for many many years to come. Please go ahead and work hard for your goal. Just remember, TIME do not turn back!

The Poor people will say: For me, even if you guarantee me a 101% sure strike it rich business, but i have to devote 24/7 for the next 10-20 years. I'll say thank you, I'll pass. I have something even more rewarding than a sucessfull business, that is a healthy and good family life.

The rich people will say: Shiok ah....

Life is like going to casino playing the big or small(i dun noe wat to call it)

If u place ur bet on either side the most u got is 50-50 chance so ur winning is only X1.

but if u place ur bet on jackpot, yes it cost u lesser to play and win very big money but the chances are damm slim.

u choose

different people wants different lifestyles.

some are happy with poor lifestyles. some are happy with rich lifestyles, some just like to work....

seriously, the CEO/founder of the company I am working is probably worth BILLIONS and yet he still work so bloody hard. crazy lah. come back weekends, work work work. He just like his job.....

Of course maybe his job is better than my job as he just to fly around in a private jet, scold people, etc :)

I always believe in finding a balance, whatever it is that one does.

and never let Money alone be the deciding factor in what you do.

I always believe in finding a balance, whatever it is that one does.

and never let Money alone be the deciding factor in what you do.

[thumbsup] Correct. As impt as it is, one should look at whether having a lot of it really makes one's life better.

I add on to skunk.....be contented and happy with what you do.

No point getting rich when at the end of the day, you have to spend those riches to stay healthy.....

Better to live happy, with family and friends and have a good night's sleep than worry abt making that next million

Agree with u,i think from ur point of view (medical field),u must have seen alot.and,to TS,if u have the idea and capital,why not juz gave it a try.

Just take a moment to think what you going to give up in pursue of this dream of yours. If you prefer a solitary and zero social and family life for many many years to come. Please go ahead and work hard for your goal. Just remember, TIME do not turn back! Life is bigger than $. Not the other way round.

Good Luck to you Bro. [grouphug]

Totally agree with you.

I am not rich, but I am comfortable and that's enough.

What this allows me to do is - exercise 6 times a week, go home by 6 pm everyday and help kids with homework/play with my kids. No work on weekends and I get to spend all weekend playing with and just being with my kids/wife. I also have time to meet my wife for lunch every week, see my parents and in-laws every week.

different people wants different lifestyles.

some are happy with poor lifestyles. some are happy with rich lifestyles, some just like to work....

seriously, the CEO/founder of the company I am working is probably worth BILLIONS and yet he still work so bloody hard. crazy lah. come back weekends, work work work. He just like his job.....

Of course maybe his job is better than my job as he just to fly around in a private jet, scold people, etc :)

you are right!!

as a business person, he carry a lot of responsibilties and he is the one taking all the risk (that why he can scold pple!). so when he goes down, thousands will be jobless.

been in a comfort zone is fine however if everyone just want to be employee, who is out there to create jobs for us, an employee who wants a 9-5, no risk, work-life balance, good welfare job?

The perennial question, to be own boss or to be bossed. Difference is being a boss you have uncertain but unlimited income. Being bossed you have a certain but limited income.

As for stability? Who is to say which is more stable nowadays. Just as it's not surprising to say which most business startups fails within the first 5 years of operations, most people will at some point in their lives as an employee face loss of job.

I think the question is not whether to be boss, or be bossed. But rather what is one's attitude towards work and live. If one continuously strives to better and improve himself, whether as boss or bossed, he will always find a way to overcome whatever adversities that comes along the way.

Agree with u,i think from ur point of view (medical field),u must have seen alot.and,to TS,if u have the idea and capital,why not juz gave it a try.

With what I have seen, encountered, counselled, no matter how rich you are, the end is still in sight....and why give yourself pain when at the end of the day it is inevitable.

TS, not to discourage you, but please go ahead and go for it....really, you only have 1 chance, thus, make the best of it.

Best wishes and hoping you will actualise your dreams one day. [thumbsup] Take care

you are right!!

as a business person, he carry a lot of responsibilties and he is the one taking all the risk (that why he can scold pple!). so when he goes down, thousands will be jobless.

been in a comfort zone is fine however if everyone just want to be employee, who is out there to create jobs for us, an employee who wants a 9-5, no risk, work-life balance, good welfare job?

The new hierarchy is no longer top-down, but convergence, thus, with partners, all will win [thumbsup]

[thumbsup] Correct. As impt as it is, one should look at whether having a lot of it really makes one's life better.

For me, it's not so much about having a lot, making lots of money. For me money is but a means to an end. I work hard for the money to provide a comfortable living for the family.

Also I would like my sons to have every reasons to be proud of me as an overcomer, one who will never rest and stay contented on one's achievements. But rather keep improving myself, and advancing myself in the areas I'm in.

I have shared previously on my plans to do some business on my own, but at the same time I'm also looking at some job changes. It's just me, as I find myself unable to stay on with a job or company for too long, as I'll feel stale and lack motivation. Always want to try something new or different. So every couple of years I'll review my career directions and plan what needs to be done to get there.

does the postgrad helps in your business? why the decision to do postgrad?

got a scholarship to do postgrad after finishing my bachelor's. took a chance & applied for scholarship. who knows really got it. no strings attached. had savings to cover my lodging for the year, and since fees are free, i took the offer.

[laugh] Easier said dan done. Unless you have a rich dad to supply you with capital to start up business....talk is cheap.

From what I know, you must not be afraid to fail & fail again(provided you have lots of $$ to do that), not afraid to loose face, work so hard that you have little or no social life.

I have know ppl who initially work for ppl(cos no capital) to save up and start business until like when they reach their mid 30s before they so call strike it out on their own with their own capital. There are times that they fail, pick themselves up, try again and that was in the mid to late '80s. Today it's even tougher.

Agreed. It's pretty tough right now. Financing most of it myself, and parents support me financially by allowing me to live with them and eat for free. but im actually doing it, not just talking. im 4 months away from launch. just have to wait for license and place to vacate so can move in. now busy with marketing and set up.

Not all people are cut out for business. I find it especially true to many singaporean, maybe its our educational system?

i always encourage younger people to first try working for few years, find out which line of business you are good at or have interest in, then try to find opportunity to start on your own. Easier said than done though.

I for one, have worked 10 years for a local company. The hammer fall when company decide it has become too taxing to pay me. i was forced to leave.

i dont know what else i can do after spending 10years in my work...worse, company threaten to sue me if i continue in similar trade (well, i sign an agreement 3 yrs after resigned not to participate in any conflicting business.) Anyway, got that settled through a lawyer. i started on my own for past 5 years, never look back since. I am also not a business person in nature. But i believe given hard work, sincerity and some help from people, it is always good to try it out on your own. And yes, do it while you are young, it will be tougher when you have family commitment, older and more difficult to adapt to new environment or simply too comfortable in your current situation.

This is exactly the type of advice I like to hear. I don't intend to take advice about starting out on my own from people who've never done it before. Thanks!