Pisces69 6th Gear August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 3:16 PM, Seabass_sg said: Read This, http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits...724-156713.html ============== Wah they really going all out to crucify smokers. Like that what if all the smokers here decided to vote for the Opposition? I wud like to see the reactions of our beloved gharmen then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 12:45 PM, Pisces69 said: ============= They wil never ban smoking cos they earn big revenue from the taxes. Like that they sud also ban liquor, alcohol & ANYTHING that is "not good" for SG. Very soon the gharmen declare bankruptcy. But isnt it my right to smoke like it is for me to eat Char Kway teow or laksa & all those unhealthy foods? So does that mean next time they also put heavy taxes on ANYTHING they consider as unhealthy or bad? Whos to decide what is bad? They might say bad. I say good. They say good, I say bad. Since when did they become GOD to say they know everything & decide for the rest what is good & what is bad? You smoke..the people around you affected... Eat char kuay teow or laksa..only you yourself affected.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 (edited) On 8/15/2009 at 4:03 PM, Pisces69 said: =============== If they dont tax ciggies so much & the price difference is not so much more than our neighbours, most pple wont bother to "smuggle" them in. Dont let ciggies b "dirt cheap". Just reasonable like what it costs in neighbouring countries. It seems like our gharmen only knows ONE solution to try to solve ALL our problems. Make it so expensive to deter pple from getting it. Well it didnt work. Look at our cars. The most expensive in the world & still we have such a large vehicle population. Ciggies the same. So very ex but still the sales seems to b holding or going up. So whats wrong? Simple. Our gharmen dont really have the solutions. They just wayang wayang and make big bucks in the process. Like that the leaders sure happy. Gharmen gets rich & pple see gharmen doing something to solve a problem. But does the problem get solved? U say lah. Singapore always have a health policy (and even banning of smoking in various establishments) to not promote ciggies (which is good for the general population of non-smokers, rather than just a small group of smokers) and therefore high taxes are set to discourage the general population to smoke... you always have a choice whether to pay the high price of the ciggies, should you choose to do so... the main aim is still to protect the general population from the ill-effects of smoking~ ciggies can be banned, but then people will start to complain about that again right? moving to the car population scenario... currently with the high taxes etc, our vehicle population is still so large... if there are no taxes or duties on cars, wouldn't the moment you drive out of your carpark, the jam will start coz virtually everyone can afford a car right? when you say the government do not know the solution, but then again can you propose a better one? if you were the minister of health, what can you do to protect the health interests of the general population but still allow the freedom of choice to smoke for a relatively small group of population? if you were the minister of transport, what can you propose as a better alternative to the taxes method? limit the absolute no of cars on the road, no jams anywhere but then people will criticize the government again for not allowing the car population to grow~ in most govt policies, there are never a perfect method where all parties are happy~ there will always be dissent voices but that's where the government has to weigh the pros-and-cons from a macro perspective~ which is to balance the car population carefully and keep the transport network flowing 24/7 at a satisfactory rate, but yet allow the general population to progress to own their personal transport Edited August 15, 2009 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 u should shutup. get ur facts right Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xia0taizi 1st Gear August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 On 8/15/2009 at 6:45 PM, Raining said: u should shutup. get ur facts right give intelligent replies leh. this is not edmw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear August 16, 2009 Share August 16, 2009 On 8/15/2009 at 6:45 PM, Raining said: u should shutup. get ur facts right i was wondering what rubbish beachboys posted, until i read his post. than i realised that you were the one spouting rubbish [rolleyes] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 16, 2009 Share August 16, 2009 On 8/15/2009 at 4:36 PM, Shull said: You smoke..the people around you affected... Eat char kuay teow or laksa..only you yourself affected.. ================ OK so if I smoke away from non-smokers can I smoke foreign ciggies then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 16, 2009 Share August 16, 2009 (edited) On 8/15/2009 at 5:09 PM, Beachboys said: Singapore always have a health policy (and even banning of smoking in various establishments) to not promote ciggies (which is good for the general population of non-smokers, rather than just a small group of smokers) and therefore high taxes are set to discourage the general population to smoke... So if I smoke away from non-smokers, can I smoke low duty ciggies then? If the gharmen is really so concerned about my health, they sud b willing to spend money to help me stop smoking tru so many other means. I dont see this here. There is only the "stick" but no "carrots". you always have a choice whether to pay the high price of the ciggies, should you choose to do so... the main aim is still to protect the general population from the ill-effects of smoking~ ciggies can be banned, but then people will start to complain about that again right? It is very easy to say "Just stop smoking then" but do u know that nicotine is more addictive than HEROIN? moving to the car population scenario... currently with the high taxes etc, our vehicle population is still so large... if there are no taxes or duties on cars, wouldn't the moment you drive out of your carpark, the jam will start coz virtually everyone can afford a car right? Have u asked yourself why so many pple want to own a car? Its cos our public transport system sucks. If we had a good public transport system (which sud b heavily subsidized by the gharmen of course) I will not buy a car in the 1st place. U think I dont have better places to spend >$1K a month just to own a car? when you say the government do not know the solution, but then again can you propose a better one? if you were the minister of health, what can you do to protect the health interests of the general population but still allow the freedom of choice to smoke for a relatively small group of population? if you were the minister of transport, what can you propose as a better alternative to the taxes method? It is not my job to find the solutions. That is what our super highly paid ministers r there for. If I am expected to do their job for them, I sud b getting their salary too. Right? limit the absolute no of cars on the road, no jams anywhere but then people will criticize the government again for not allowing the car population to grow~ in most govt policies, there are never a perfect method where all parties are happy~ there will always be dissent voices but that's where the government has to weigh the pros-and-cons from a macro perspective~ which is to balance the car population carefully and keep the transport network flowing 24/7 at a satisfactory rate, but yet allow the general population to progress to own their personal transport If the gharmen was not earning such high surpluses every year, I can understand but it seems they have the ability to make money irrespective if there is a downturn or not. Seems strange. Now a lot of $$$ is "hidden" in "privatised" companies which belonged to the gharmen ie HDB, Public Tpt Cos etc. But in the end who really owns these companies. U go check who the main shareholders r. So now the gharmen still makes mega bucks but not in their name. Its just taking the money from under the mattress to hide in the cookie jar. Edited August 16, 2009 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 (edited) guess this is leading to a meaningless discussion already... no pt for me to continue~ will end here :) btw, i do take public transport regularly and although there are room for improvements, the general population in singapore still gets to their destination relying on our public transport system (or else you will hear uproar from students to housewives to working class to elderly folks on a daily basis)... mabbe you like to share your route so that MCF here can see where the problem lies if you were to take public transport~ Edited August 17, 2009 by Beachboys Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 On 8/15/2009 at 5:09 PM, Beachboys said: Singapore always have a health policy (and even banning of smoking in various establishments) to not promote ciggies (which is good for the general population of non-smokers, rather than just a small group of smokers) and therefore high taxes are set to discourage the general population to smoke... Seriously if gahment really geniunely concern, he would ban ciggie. get ur facts right. alrite give u some credit, govt really concern. Why not tax at $50 to discourage? I'm damm sure smokers will all drop like flies. Do you actually smoke? do you really understand the meaning behind the taxation? you always have a choice whether to pay the high price of the ciggies, should you choose to do so... the main aim is still to protect the general population from the ill-effects of smoking~ ciggies can be banned, but then people will start to complain about that again right? people complain about COE only to get slap with ERP. u think complain really works? moving to the car population scenario... currently with the high taxes etc, our vehicle population is still so large... Who releases the COE quota? Who legalise 10 yr loan so sub 2k salaried workers can buy car? Seriously its frustrating communicating with some1 whom talks as if "parroting" the newspaper without digesting what reported was true or not when you say the government do not know the solution, but then again can you propose a better one? if you were the minister of health, what can you do to protect the health interests of the general population but still allow the freedom of choice to smoke for a relatively small group of population? if you were the minister of transport, what can you propose as a better alternative to the taxes method? You have to the makings of a politician that can fight for us folks. Click http://www.youngpap.org.sg/ no sarcasim intended limit the absolute no of cars on the road, no jams anywhere but then people will criticize the government again for not allowing the car population to grow~ dear friend, the population is growing everday as we speak. Point to recap, who releases COE quota? in most govt policies, there are never a perfect method where all parties are happy~ there will always be dissent voices but that's where the government has to weigh the pros-and-cons from a macro perspective~ which is to balance the car population carefully and keep the transport network flowing 24/7 at a satisfactory rate, but yet allow the general population to progress to own their personal transport You are absolutely right. Please clickhttp://www.youngpap.org.sg/joinPap and walk your talk please Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 On 8/16/2009 at 2:04 AM, Boyboy said: i was wondering what rubbish beachboys posted, until i read his post. than i realised that you were the one spouting rubbish [rolleyes] Well, we are allowed to let our hair down occasionally mate? You havent seen the worse yet Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 (edited) On 8/12/2009 at 2:20 PM, Dexdj said: ok guys.. this just came in the news. Now they're using sniffer dogs.. today just caught one smuggler, smokes were found in his CAR. So guys, just be very careful ya? Hrrrrr.......i thot dogs are suppose to catch DRUGS carriers. Can sniff tobacco also mei Or the dogs fark-up and didnt sniff any drugs, but caught cigs smugglers instead. I smell a cover-up story. haha. Edited August 17, 2009 by Hiphiphoray Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raining Neutral Newbie August 17, 2009 Share August 17, 2009 On 8/17/2009 at 3:36 PM, Hiphiphoray said: Hrrrrr.......i thot dogs are suppose to catch DRUGS carriers. Can sniff tobacco also mei Or the dogs fark-up and didnt sniff any drugs, but caught cigs smugglers instead. I smell a cover-up story. haha. perhaps cig cartons and unopen ones have faint smells but we humans cant detect lor... but usually its tip off.. rem not a long time ago a few chaps kana caught for using the fuel meter device. amazing so many people using it for ages ( jus go their kiosks can see people all pumping 30,40,50 litres of petrol), suddenly a few just kana caught within short period of time. Scare tatics la ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...