Bringing In Non-SG Ciggies! Beware!

Dexdj

Read in the news some time back that even if you bring singapore SDPC ciggies back thru the customs (meaning you buy in sgp and go overseas) also will kena tax...

The gar'ment really is the [thumbsup]

On 8/12/2009 at 9:01 AM, Acanthus said:

Read in the news some time back that even if you bring singapore SDPC ciggies back thru the customs (meaning you buy in sgp and go overseas) also will kena tax...

The gar'ment really is the [thumbsup]

U are right on this one.

Even if u buy one carton Spore Cig, c/w official receipt from NTUC or 7-11 or whatever..........U show to the officer upon returning back to spore. U will still be TAXED definately!

Its WIN to the power of a million WIN-WIN situation for them!!!!!! [dizzy][crazy][dead]

On 8/12/2009 at 9:06 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

U are right on this one.

Even if u buy one carton Spore Cig, c/w official receipt from NTUC or 7-11 or whatever..........U show to the officer upon returning back to spore. U will still be TAXED definately!

Its WIN to the power of a million WIN-WIN situation for them!!!!!! [dizzy][crazy][dead]

got receipt no problem

the guy mention in the papers, he lost his receipt.

On 8/12/2009 at 6:32 AM, Mcf777 said:

U may want to check with custom.

They told me before that the paid taxes (with receipt) for the cigarettes is only for own consumption.

If 3rd party having a packet, it is also consider illegal if you cant prove that the receipt is yours.

Can anyone verfiy whether is there any name or IC on the receipt?

My case happen donkey years ago. cannot remember much.

I got caught once so i asked them every damn thing that there was to ask. lol. and yes i paid the fine and tax. yes it is only for personal consumption. you must carry the receipt with you if you wish to bring the cigarettes outdoors. but no. there is no name or IC but there is a date when the receipt was issued. and as a fellow singaporean, you know that everything you do is being recorded in 'the system' and they can easily find out if you are the rightful holder of the receipt.

for those buying duty-free cigs, buy from the airport of the country which you are departing. keep the receipt and do not open the cartons. when arriving in singapore, go to ICA/customs office and say you want to pay tax for cigarettes. present them the cartons and pay aprox $8 per pack of 20 cigarettes by cash, nets or credit card. you would need to present your passport to register with 'the system'. eventually, you would realize that you would save $1 per pack that you bring in. not worth the trouble? have a look at this.

post-46393-1250070135_thumb.jpg

Very unlikely to happen as spore do not encourage smoking thus will contradict if have cig allowance.

On 8/11/2009 at 5:33 PM, Locknload said:

OT abit - If we can bring in alchohol (overseas stay of 2 days and above, except M'sian States) for personal consumption, they shd allow some allowance for ciggies as well.

unlikely to be successful as the big boss are the ones who ask the ones below them to do this work remember

On 8/12/2009 at 1:10 AM, Drumstick said:

$20?? ... here no like boleh land.

Must use more tactical method.

The best is if you know the big shots in either cisco, aetos or customs.

Record down the name and details of the officer who dun give you chance.

Pass it to the big head and them them to flunk their appraisal.

No bonous and no increament for 5 yrs.

lolz..

The answer is yes and is covered under the Customs Act. If not how they find contrabands i.e cigs, narcotics etc on smugglers who use body concealment.

On 8/12/2009 at 5:19 AM, Puteh83 said:

Anyway, are they allowed to do body search at customs?

No hide. If you hide and kanna found out, then prepared to have your car be thoroughly searched and maybe you also kanna body search. If can hide cig in car, not impossible to hide on body rite [sweatdrop]

On 8/12/2009 at 7:41 AM, Dexdj said:

contax, i think most of us, if not all, just enter with 01 opened packet (with at least 01 stick consumed) and leave in the car (dashboard, cup holders etc) where it is easily visible and accessible. And when the officer checks your ride, for me, I'd just leave it there. I noticed the very first thing they zoom in on are the smokes.. they'll open up, check and sometimes, they'll ask if you have any more smokes (non-sg ones) with you and if your answer's no, they'll most likely allow you to enter back into SG without any problems.

BUT! if you're hiding some packets somewhere in the car and/or on your body and you declared 'no sir, i do not have any more non-sg ciggies' and they found out, deep s--t bro... this sort of situation confirm stamp chop guarantee with NO MONEY BACK, pay.. just how much only (depending on how many packets they discovered).

Anyway, here's the link to Sg Customs offences listing, fyi.

Singapore Customs Offences (Tobacco & Cigarettes)

Dex

I thought the cigs at the airport departure has SDNP (Singapore Duty Not Paid) on them which are not allowed to be brought into Spore even if you wish to pay tax?

On 8/12/2009 at 9:42 AM, Amortifiedpenguin said:

I got caught once so i asked them every damn thing that there was to ask. lol. and yes i paid the fine and tax. yes it is only for personal consumption. you must carry the receipt with you if you wish to bring the cigarettes outdoors. but no. there is no name or IC but there is a date when the receipt was issued. and as a fellow singaporean, you know that everything you do is being recorded in 'the system' and they can easily find out if you are the rightful holder of the receipt.

for those buying duty-free cigs, buy from the airport of the country which you are departing. keep the receipt and do not open the cartons. when arriving in singapore, go to ICA/customs office and say you want to pay tax for cigarettes. present them the cartons and pay aprox $8 per pack of 20 cigarettes by cash, nets or credit card. you would need to present your passport to register with 'the system'. eventually, you would realize that you would save $1 per pack that you bring in. not worth the trouble? have a look at this.

On 8/12/2009 at 11:07 AM, Seabass_sg said:

I thought the cigs at the airport departure has SDNP (Singapore Duty Not Paid) on them which are not allowed to be brought into Spore even if you wish to pay tax?

buy from the airport that you are returning from not buy from sg fly there then fly back.

lets say i go to beijing, on my way there i can buy one carton from sg airport to bring to consume during my trip without tax. BUT on the way back, I finish up that carton (or give it away) and i go to beijing airport to buy 5 cartons of cigarettes. these 5 cartons, i bring on the flight and declare and pay for tax at singapore changi airport. then it would be legit. but never ever try to walk through the green lane without paying. they may have people after the lane doing random spot checks on your luggage. just go to the red lane. after that come thank me for cigarettes that are $1 cheaper or with limited edition packaging. (my friend brought back 3 pack of Marlboro Red F1 carbon fiber packs from Japan when the F1 was being held there, it cost ~SGD$50 BEFORE tax)

On 8/12/2009 at 9:42 AM, Amortifiedpenguin said:

Wowwwwwwwww.........cool!!!!

A F1 packaging. [inlove][inlove][inlove]

On 8/11/2009 at 2:09 PM, Jeffang said:

then this lady keep saying she don't smoke, just come back from genting... is her boyfriend on the bus ask her to carry...

then office ask her to call her boyfriend to come in... then when she on the phone... her bf seem like dont care tell her the bus going off soon...

then she start to cry... think the bf cut off her phone... she try to call again and his phone is off...

she tell the officer her bf off the phone... then the officer ask her to call her parent come, then she dont want to let her parent know...

the bf is a bustard [thumbsdown]

ok guys.. this just came in the news. Now they're using sniffer dogs.. today just caught one smuggler, smokes were found in his CAR. So guys, just be very careful ya?

Dex

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Aug 12, 2009

Dog sniffed out illegal ciggies

By Victoria Vaughan

A POLICE dog sniffed out the dirty deeds of cigarette smugglers for the first time during an operation between the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority and the Police K-9 Unit.

Five-year-old Car, proved to be top dog when he got a whiff of the contraband tobacco at the Woodlands Checkpoint operation conducted last week.

The black labrador alerted officers to the presence of more than 1,300 packets of illegal cigarettes stashed inside a car, worth more than $13,000 and about $10,000 in unpaid duty and GST.

This is the first time one of the tobacco detecting dogs, which are trained over a month, has sniffed out such a find.

Car was called in when a Singapore registered vehicle was stopped for checks and the police officer noticed the driver looked nervous.

During the search, Car targeted the vehicle's door panels, back seat and spare tyre compartment. A manual search was carried out by the officers and the game was up.

The 34-year-old Singaporean driver, was convicted and jailed six months for attempting to smuggle duty-unpaid cigarettes.

Alamak, customs really going overboard with the cigs thing. It is not like contraband or something. At the end of the day, it is all about money, money and money.

On 8/13/2009 at 4:04 PM, Amsyl said:

Alamak, customs really going overboard with the cigs thing. It is not like contraband or something. At the end of the day, it is all about money, money and money.

Instructions pass down from MIW , bobian have to follow

Wah kaoz....animal abuse sia.

U mean the dog work 8hrs shift just like the officers on the ground ? [dizzy][crazy]

On 8/12/2009 at 2:20 PM, Dexdj said:

ok guys.. this just came in the news. Now they're using sniffer dogs.. today just caught one smuggler, smokes were found in his CAR. So guys, just be very careful ya?

Dex

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Aug 12, 2009

Dog sniffed out illegal ciggies

By Victoria Vaughan

A POLICE dog sniffed out the dirty deeds of cigarette smugglers for the first time during an operation between the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority and the Police K-9 Unit.

Five-year-old Car, proved to be top dog when he got a whiff of the contraband tobacco at the Woodlands Checkpoint operation conducted last week.

The black labrador alerted officers to the presence of more than 1,300 packets of illegal cigarettes stashed inside a car, worth more than $13,000 and about $10,000 in unpaid duty and GST.

This is the first time one of the tobacco detecting dogs, which are trained over a month, has sniffed out such a find.

Car was called in when a Singapore registered vehicle was stopped for checks and the police officer noticed the driver looked nervous.

During the search, Car targeted the vehicle's door panels, back seat and spare tyre compartment. A manual search was carried out by the officers and the game was up.

The 34-year-old Singaporean driver, was convicted and jailed six months for attempting to smuggle duty-unpaid cigarettes.