Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/13/2009 at 4:45 PM, Mr_b20 said: Instructions pass down from MIW , bobian have to follow Ya...they are god damn piss with this cig problem. Heard they got some kind of special tool to check on cigs in a car, rather than using dogs ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/12/2009 at 10:55 AM, Tigershark1976 said: just for some of your info... even Singaporean duty paid Ciggy... once out of singapore, u are suppose to pay tax if u wanna bring in back to Singapore... yup my friend was tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 2:09 PM, Booboon said: the way gov handle this, there are going to piss voters off. every stick of cig also want to tax? gif me a break! ==================== They treat ciggies like smuggling drugs or guns or what. Maybe cos they losing revenue on the taxes & u know how money-faced the gharmen here is. I guess this wil all go away when the elections r coming & wil totally disappear if the opposition win more seats or take over the gharmen. Thats why I feel we need more OP to put a leash on the high-handed tactics of the P8P. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 2:16 PM, Tonyg said: I hv got a friend very Ah Beng face everytime he came back from MY to custom sure kena check upside down. Nvr gv chance. He dare not buy DVD Ciggies or even sundries when he come back to Sg. His face ppl see sure buay song. Poor guy.... ========== Then I guess I got a very innocent face cos I go in every week & hardly ever get checked. But then again, I never break the law hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 3:20 PM, Kelvinkezz said: wah so strict nowadays.... lucky i dun smoke! ============= Next time u go can bring back 1 pack for me bro? Hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 3:57 PM, Circuit said: ahahha last time v slack... got once i left one pack unopen at door.. forgot to hide.. .ahhaha unopen... when checking, he was shock and me too... hahah i got innocent face.. .i say sorry ... forgot to open.... wont do it again... he ask if theres anymore... i say tats the only one.. he can search if he wants... he jus warn me softly and let me go... heng... hahahah nowadays i hide it v well unless he tear my car apart ahahhahah ... but i only 1 to 2 packs niah not smugglers... :P self consume... anyway if strict dun bring in lor.... ============== Ya last time I also kenna several times. U get a kind officer & he quietly warn u & let u go. May GOD bless those kind souls & may those "ON" farkers burn in hell for eternity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 4:10 PM, Tarzan666 said: If i pump petrol in JB..its very common for me to see bravehearts driving SG car buying at least 5 packs after refueling petrol.. I really wonder how these people get through.. For my case..usu im not greedy, I juz buy 1 pack,open & smoke 1 stick & put on the front seat...so far so good. ============ I too just stick to the 1 pack opened & smoked 1 stick rule. So far so good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 4:17 PM, Mcf777 said: 12 yrs ago, i got fined S$1200 for 7 unopen pack when I returned from Batam. Bought the cigar in Singapore WTC ferry terminal DFS. The most strict custom check are the Causeway and the Ferry terminal. Must pay fine on the spot. No credit card. Only NETS and cash. ============= 1 time I brought back 10 unopened packs from Bintan (fishing trip), then saw the new signs abt no ciggies allowed. I tot did die. Sure kenna big time. Lucky the guy checking never say anything when he scan my bag. After that its only 1 pack opened less 1 stick for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/11/2009 at 5:21 PM, SaNibOy said: I tink sooner or later smoking wil b banned totally, like chewing gum.... ============= They wil never ban smoking cos they earn big revenue from the taxes. Like that they sud also ban liquor, alcohol & ANYTHING that is "not good" for SG. Very soon the gharmen declare bankruptcy. But isnt it my right to smoke like it is for me to eat Char Kway teow or laksa & all those unhealthy foods? So does that mean next time they also put heavy taxes on ANYTHING they consider as unhealthy or bad? Whos to decide what is bad? They might say bad. I say good. They say good, I say bad. Since when did they become GOD to say they know everything & decide for the rest what is good & what is bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/12/2009 at 10:55 AM, Tigershark1976 said: just for some of your info... even Singaporean duty paid Ciggy... once out of singapore, u are suppose to pay tax if u wanna bring in back to Singapore... ============ Yes I was warned about a few un-consumed cans of beer last time. I was told the beer although SG duty paid still need to pay duty again when bring in again. But so far I never heard of pple asked to pay AGAIN duty on SG ciggies being brought back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/12/2009 at 4:46 AM, Dexdj said: it depends on the quality of your material bro.. i wanted wool and I paid RM125 per pants.. other materials are cheaper.. they even have a high quality (so they say) wool at RM320!! wah lan eh.. for me, cheap wool would suffice lah... location's at holiday plaza top floor, plenty of tailors.. ============ Most likely it is Cashmere wool. Dunno if its genuine or not? U have the name & address of this tailor. Is he very good with his cutting & fit? I might want to try his workmanship. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 (edited) post deleted by Pisces69. Edited August 14, 2009 by Pisces69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 3:39 AM, Hiphiphoray said: Wah kaoz....animal abuse sia. U mean the dog work 8hrs shift just like the officers on the ground ? ============= Since when did they ever care about any type of abuse to pple or animals? As long as can make $$$ u just have to do it lah. Otherwise they bring in cheap foreign labour & replace u. Dont b surprised next time we see foreign talent dogs doing the sniffing. Cheaper than our local canines. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 12:22 PM, Pisces69 said: ==================== They treat ciggies like smuggling drugs or guns or what. Maybe cos they losing revenue on the taxes & u know how money-faced the gharmen here is. I guess this wil all go away when the elections r coming & wil totally disappear if the opposition win more seats or take over the gharmen. Thats why I feel we need more OP to put a leash on the high-handed tactics of the P8P. customs & excise duties on various goods/items are practised in most (if not all) countries... (green lane / red lane declaration) nothing to do with our ruling government~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 2:07 PM, Beachboys said: customs & excise duties on various goods/items are practised in most (if not all) countries... (green lane / red lane declaration) nothing to do with our ruling government~ =========== Yes all countries do have taxes but our cigg tax is very high compared to other SE Asian countries & the way they ruthlessly hunt down pple who bring in excess ciggies is downright brutal. Today they say ciggies is bad for our health so they impose very high taxes. Tomorrow they say Char kway teow or laksa is also very bad for the health & also impose high taxes to eat it. There is no end to what wil b heavily taxed next. They wil do it so long as they think they can get away with it. Its our ruling gharmen who decides what & how much to tax its citizens & the penalties imposed for rule breakers. So it has everything to do with our ruling gharmen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seabass_sg Neutral Newbie August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 Read This, http://news.asiaone.com/News/the%2BStraits...724-156713.html On 8/14/2009 at 12:50 PM, Pisces69 said: ============ Yes I was warned about a few un-consumed cans of beer last time. I was told the beer although SG duty paid still need to pay duty again when bring in again. But so far I never heard of pple asked to pay AGAIN duty on SG ciggies being brought back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beachboys Clutched August 14, 2009 Share August 14, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 3:10 PM, Pisces69 said: =========== Yes all countries do have taxes but our cigg tax is very high compared to other SE Asian countries & the way they ruthlessly hunt down pple who bring in excess ciggies is downright brutal. Today they say ciggies is bad for our health so they impose very high taxes. Tomorrow they say Char kway teow or laksa is also very bad for the health & also impose high taxes to eat it. There is no end to what wil b heavily taxed next. They wil do it so long as they think they can get away with it. Its our ruling gharmen who decides what & how much to tax its citizens & the penalties imposed for rule breakers. So it has everything to do with our ruling gharmen. if they allow unpaid ciggies to flourish and consumers to seek out such ciggies, wouldn't that be unfair to those who pay for the legal ciggies? if ciggies are not taxed and dirt-cheap, who will the people blame when a generation of young smokers become addicted to it? there are always 2 sides to govt policies, i am not a avid govt supporter, but one can't just criticize without offering alternatives... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear August 15, 2009 Share August 15, 2009 On 8/14/2009 at 4:01 PM, Beachboys said: if they allow unpaid ciggies to flourish and consumers to seek out such ciggies, wouldn't that be unfair to those who pay for the legal ciggies? if ciggies are not taxed and dirt-cheap, who will the people blame when a generation of young smokers become addicted to it? there are always 2 sides to govt policies, i am not a avid govt supporter, but one can't just criticize without offering alternatives... =============== If they dont tax ciggies so much & the price difference is not so much more than our neighbours, most pple wont bother to "smuggle" them in. Dont let ciggies b "dirt cheap". Just reasonable like what it costs in neighbouring countries. It seems like our gharmen only knows ONE solution to try to solve ALL our problems. Make it so expensive to deter pple from getting it. Well it didnt work. Look at our cars. The most expensive in the world & still we have such a large vehicle population. Ciggies the same. So very ex but still the sales seems to b holding or going up. So whats wrong? Simple. Our gharmen dont really have the solutions. They just wayang wayang and make big bucks in the process. Like that the leaders sure happy. Gharmen gets rich & pple see gharmen doing something to solve a problem. But does the problem get solved? U say lah. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...