Yeshe Turbocharged August 13, 2009 Author Share August 13, 2009 Seriously doubt a lambo or GTR will even be bothered with a SSS......just like flies buzzing around the rhino.... What sort of satisfaction can one derive from a cheaper car getting ahead of traffic ...???? It's just a testament of one's insecurity, recklessness and immaturity.....nothing said about the car's ability. Want a real challenge....be a man....do it on a track... she is a lah!! maybe if she drive naked in her SSS, those lambo/farlalee will travel side by side and admire her ( . )( . ) if there is any ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged August 13, 2009 Author Share August 13, 2009 Not every car that goes faster or (trying to go faster) than a 'supercar' is challenging or racing. I see no issue if a smaller / less capable car tries to keep up with or overtakes a supercar (as long as it is safe and legal). Yes the lesser car might ultimately be owned by the supercar but it might have been worthwhile nonetheless. correction, the word should not be OWNED, becos the supercar probably wasnt even trying In sports just because the good sprinters / athletes are taking part do we tell the other normal kids to just give up and go home? Obviously not right? We all know our limitations and that of our cars. To benchmark against something of equal, higher or lower strength is a personal and free choice. in sports, there are different categories. have lightweight, featherweight, heavyweight, etc. so now u say wanna pit a lightweight vs a heavyweight to prove something?? worst, when the lightweight is trying so hard to outdo the heavyweight, the heavyweight wasnt even trying now u call that satisfaction? i call that stupidity or someone with inferior complexity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dc5r Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 (edited) Personally, I feel that cars with a butt (a tail end or boot) loses out around bends and corners. They always get beaten around bends. I think a few cars contends well with SSS now are; the VW Golf GT, Subaru's new STi hatchback, Audi TT, and of course the Mini Cooper. I have seen the GTR, they are like a bullet on straight roads, around bends I think the WRX, Mini, & Golf GT is still tops. u comparing the SSS with STI? Audi TT? Cooper S??? Seriously i don't feel the SSS fast at all.... and i am serious... to me it is slow... not much diff with normal car on the road leh... I wonder why SSS driver's always think that their car is fast... I ever got Jio by a Black SSS at orchard traffic light.... i was shock... But once light turns green... in my 3rd gear... he was at least 10 car length behind.... and i am not driving a super fast car here.... only a humble type R.... Told my SSS friend and he don't believe.... so he challenge me to try... his was with illegal mods.... verdict still same...10 CAR LENGTH!!! I was never shy when meeting WRX, Golf GTI not GT and Cooper S.... I should say my humble ride got no problem staying slightly in front of them.... To me GTR is damn freaking fast!!! I can't even keep up no matter how much i tried with my friend's GTR...be it straight or at corners.... So i don't think the GTR is that lousy as what u claim it to be at corners.... I wasn't trying to start any flaming.... but to me who is around 5 car length behind the GTR(he was not even at red line) feels that the GTR is freaking fast be it straight or at corners.... and you some one 10 car length behind my car claiming that it is not that fantastic and a hatchback(GT, STI and cooper) that loses or equal to me can be faster.... ??? Makes me wonder.... Are SSS drivers all like that??? My friend is...always claiming how fast his car is...how he win other cars on the road.... but i shut him down with only my 1st and 2nd gear..... his HATCHBACK SSS also cannot keep up with my BACKSIDE CTR at corners .... not even a chance. Edited August 13, 2009 by Dc5r Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Personally, I feel that cars with a butt (a tail end or boot) loses out around bends and corners. They always get beaten around bends. I think a few cars contends well with SSS now are; the VW Golf GT, Subaru's new STi hatchback, Audi TT, and of course the Mini Cooper. I have seen the GTR, they are like a bullet on straight roads, around bends I think the WRX, Mini, & Golf GT is still tops. lol....comparing TT with SSS.... Wow... You are joking right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Personally, I feel that cars with a butt (a tail end or boot) loses out around bends and corners. They always get beaten around bends. I think a few cars contends well with SSS now are; the VW Golf GT, Subaru's new STi hatchback, Audi TT, and of course the Mini Cooper. I have seen the GTR, they are like a bullet on straight roads, around bends I think the WRX, Mini, & Golf GT is still tops. I'm not too sure where you get your overwhelming respect for the butt-less......fast round the bend or corners have very little bearing on the boot/hatch style....it's all about how the car is designed overall....look at EVO, last gen STI, GTR R35, R34 skyline, s15...all have butt and are all proven track machines.... mind you.....by tracking I mean round the circuit (straight, curves, fast turns, hair pin)...not just a straightline drag strip. 09 STI, Golf GT, TT and cooper contends well with SSS? I'll leave it to the rest of the forum guys to shoot this down... Up to this point I have an impression you based your impression of the performance of the cars on their behaviour on the street/Singapore roads...... Let me put this to you.....maybe these cars are driven by people who should have reached a stage in their lives that they are more mature financially and mentally. Thus their ability to afford (buy and upkeep) the mentioned cars (not to mention the choice of these cars over other cars such as SSS).....as well as the maturity not to street race and putting the safety of the other road users priority.... Even if they "seem" to race you...when it comes to certain critical decision making point such as to take a risk (to their machine and to others) to overtake or speed into a bend...I assume they have much more to lose.....their more expensive cars...their career...their life... to finish it off....let me give you an anecdotal example.... I was on the expressway empty 1st lane when this SSS start to poke me from behind.....I thought it wants to overtake so I filter to the 2nd lane to let it pass....who knows..he continued to poke me in the 2nd lane....I don't give a damn to people who insist on smelling my exhaust when I have already given way. So we came to a 2 lane fast sweeper (read: large curve but tight for the speed).........this SSS decides to now overtake....can see him cut into the outer lane and floored (assumed)...the acceleration is warm at best (must give credit for NA engine)......took quite a few seconds to overtake when i am continuing on my constant speed (must admit my usual speed round sweepers and bends to be a tad faster than the general SG car population)...... This SSS have the gall to swipe his butt-less backside close in front of me in an aggressive overtaking maneuver to prove a point (???)....when he cut back in...can see that the backside was very unsettled....I was almost ready to take evasive action in case he buang... I almost exploded and wanted to return the favour...but managed to cool down in nick of time.... To the SSS: I'm only at 60% of the speed that my vehicle is capable of handling around that sweeper....and you are already maxed out......I could have over taken you easily and pay you back the favour...but I think I got more to lose than you. I always assume all other drivers on the road are idiots unless proven otherwise.....I know my car can confidently handle in the bends..but I just need an idiot to drift into my lane while taking a fast corner to give me problem....so if there are other cars taking the bend/sweeper at the same time...I'll usually let the other cars have priority and I'm always ready to adopt evasive measures. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourdefrance Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Haiz.. why are we always hearing and experiencing on the road with SSS drivers having big ego? They should realise that SSS is NOT a sport car. Period. If they still don't understand, go back to the agent and ask for a specification sheet. A true sport car doesn't cost just S$50k. To further bring them down to earth, when a dealer says it is a 'sport' version, they are only interested in your wallets. Harbouring with wrong perception, they begin to prove themselves on the road, creating tremendous risk and agony to fellow road users who ask for nothing more than to reach their destinations in one piece. Next time if you are a SSS driver and see a lambo, Audi TT, Cooper S, WRX STI or Golf GTI beside you at the traffic junction, roll down your window and ask the driver whether he/she wants to race. If he/she agrees, please give your field report on the outcome here. Please don't list out perfomance cars and say SSS on par with them. We are all adults with sane mind to tell the difference and don't smoke that a cow can fly. Smack right to the heart of the title of this thread and we begin to see those mindsets revealing one by one... and I expected to read SSS scored again! damn. I remember last year a GTR driver described a Swift trying to race with his GTR and I remember he colourfully narrated that the Swift became a speck in his rear mirror.. damn funnie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Excuse me brothers. Where did I ever mentioned that an SSS was and is faster than a TT, STi hatch, or Cooper? Kindly re-read my posting.. As with any man made tool, would or can you say that an ordinary photographer with a $15K camera can take better pictures than an established photographer with 20 over years of shooting who uses a cheaper $4-6k camera?? Who is joking here, bro? lol....comparing TT with SSS.... Wow... You are joking right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 I think most of you have got English Comrehension problems... How does my statment: " I have seen the GTR, they are like a bullet on straight roads, around bends I think the WRX, Mini, & Golf GT is still tops" - equate to SSS faster than a GTR?? Haiz.. why are we always hearing and experiencing on the road with SSS drivers having big ego? They should realise that SSS is NOT a sport car. Period. If they still don't understand, go back to the agent and ask for a specification sheet. A true sport car doesn't cost just S$50k. To further bring them down to earth, when a dealer says it is a 'sport' version, they are only interested in your wallets. Harbouring with wrong perception, they begin to prove themselves on the road, creating tremendous risk and agony to fellow road users who ask for nothing more than to reach their destinations in one piece. Next time if you are a SSS driver and see a lambo, Audi TT, Cooper S, WRX STI or Golf GTI beside you at the traffic junction, roll down your window and ask the driver whether he/she wants to race. If he/she agrees, please give your field report on the outcome here. Please don't list out perfomance cars and say SSS on par with them. We are all adults with sane mind to tell the difference and don't smoke that a cow can fly. Smack right to the heart of the title of this thread and we begin to see those mindsets revealing one by one... and I expected to read SSS scored again! damn. I remember last year a GTR driver described a Swift trying to race with his GTR and I remember he colourfully narrated that the Swift became a speck in his rear mirror.. damn funnie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 That is very galant of you, and I respect that. But I wonder, where in my postings did I ever imply that an SSS is the ultimate? Factually it does handle well around corners, so hence I mentioned that those that contends WELL with it are the other hatchies I mentioned. Unless, you guys are intentionally picking bones with me? I'm not too sure where you get your overwhelming respect for the butt-less......fast round the bend or corners have very little bearing on the boot/hatch style....it's all about how the car is designed overall....look at EVO, last gen STI, GTR R35, R34 skyline, s15...all have butt and are all proven track machines.... mind you.....by tracking I mean round the circuit (straight, curves, fast turns, hair pin)...not just a straightline drag strip. 09 STI, Golf GT, TT and cooper contends well with SSS? I'll leave it to the rest of the forum guys to shoot this down... Up to this point I have an impression you based your impression of the performance of the cars on their behaviour on the street/Singapore roads...... Let me put this to you.....maybe these cars are driven by people who should have reached a stage in their lives that they are more mature financially and mentally. Thus their ability to afford (buy and upkeep) the mentioned cars (not to mention the choice of these cars over other cars such as SSS).....as well as the maturity not to street race and putting the safety of the other road users priority.... Even if they "seem" to race you...when it comes to certain critical decision making point such as to take a risk (to their machine and to others) to overtake or speed into a bend...I assume they have much more to lose.....their more expensive cars...their career...their life... to finish it off....let me give you an anecdotal example.... I was on the expressway empty 1st lane when this SSS start to poke me from behind.....I thought it wants to overtake so I filter to the 2nd lane to let it pass....who knows..he continued to poke me in the 2nd lane....I don't give a damn to people who insist on smelling my exhaust when I have already given way. So we came to a 2 lane fast sweeper (read: large curve but tight for the speed).........this SSS decides to now overtake....can see him cut into the outer lane and floored (assumed)...the acceleration is warm at best (must give credit for NA engine)......took quite a few seconds to overtake when i am continuing on my constant speed (must admit my usual speed round sweepers and bends to be a tad faster than the general SG car population)...... This SSS have the gall to swipe his butt-less backside close in front of me in an aggressive overtaking maneuver to prove a point (???)....when he cut back in...can see that the backside was very unsettled....I was almost ready to take evasive action in case he buang... I almost exploded and wanted to return the favour...but managed to cool down in nick of time.... To the SSS: I'm only at 60% of the speed that my vehicle is capable of handling around that sweeper....and you are already maxed out......I could have over taken you easily and pay you back the favour...but I think I got more to lose than you. I always assume all other drivers on the road are idiots unless proven otherwise.....I know my car can confidently handle in the bends..but I just need an idiot to drift into my lane while taking a fast corner to give me problem....so if there are other cars taking the bend/sweeper at the same time...I'll usually let the other cars have priority and I'm always ready to adopt evasive measures. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Kindly refer to the World Wide Web for this your counter claim on SSS, not a Sport vehicle. Haiz.. why are we always hearing and experiencing on the road with SSS drivers having big ego? They should realise that SSS is NOT a sport car. Period. If they still don't understand, go back to the agent and ask for a specification sheet. A true sport car doesn't cost just S$50k. To further bring them down to earth, when a dealer says it is a 'sport' version, they are only interested in your wallets. Harbouring with wrong perception, they begin to prove themselves on the road, creating tremendous risk and agony to fellow road users who ask for nothing more than to reach their destinations in one piece. Next time if you are a SSS driver and see a lambo, Audi TT, Cooper S, WRX STI or Golf GTI beside you at the traffic junction, roll down your window and ask the driver whether he/she wants to race. If he/she agrees, please give your field report on the outcome here. Please don't list out perfomance cars and say SSS on par with them. We are all adults with sane mind to tell the difference and don't smoke that a cow can fly. Smack right to the heart of the title of this thread and we begin to see those mindsets revealing one by one... and I expected to read SSS scored again! damn. I remember last year a GTR driver described a Swift trying to race with his GTR and I remember he colourfully narrated that the Swift became a speck in his rear mirror.. damn funnie. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourdefrance Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Personally, I feel that cars with a butt (a tail end or boot) loses out around bends and corners. They always get beaten around bends. I think a few cars contends well with SSS now are; the VW Golf GT, Subaru's new STi hatchback, Audi TT, and of course the Mini Cooper. I have seen the GTR, they are like a bullet on straight roads, around bends I think the WRX, Mini, & Golf GT is still tops. Oh..so solly if our English is no better than yours. T The above is your post words for words:- You claimed that a few cars CONTENDS well with SSS now are:- Goft GT, etc. As my English is no good, I quickly checked dictionary and 'contends' means:- 'struggle in opposition'..(for those whose England not so powderful- this is the online dictionary webpage: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/contend) which means STI hatch back, Audi TT and Golf GT must 'struggle to oppose' WELL with SSS NOW (not before); which also means last time they didn't even can hold a candle near a SSS.. but now can if abit of struggle..maybe.. (pardon me if I get the wrong meaning for 'now') Your first paragraph is about cars with butt losses out around bends and corners, whereas your last paragraph is an insinuation that GTR (with butt hor) cannot beat WRX, Mini & Golf GT at corners. By reading your above thread in its entirety and whole context only serves to a conclusion for average persons with average English proficiency:- 1. Few cars in the world except WRX, Mini & Golf GT STRUGGLE NOW to be on par with SSS; 2. GTR cannot beat WRX, MINi Golf GT at corners; in fact cars with butt ALWAYS get beaten around corners; and 3. If you deduce (1) + (2)- it means that GTR can't beat SSS lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Why is everyone so defensive and argumentative? Take a chill pill guys. Relax. This is only a forum and people say what they want....... Oh..so solly if our English is no better than yours. T The above is your post words for words:- You claimed that a few cars CONTENDS well with SSS now are:- Goft GT, etc. As my English is no good, I quickly checked dictionary and 'contends' means:- 'struggle in opposition'..(for those whose England not so powderful- this is the online dictionary webpage: http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/contend) which means STI hatch back, Audi TT and Golf GT must 'struggle to oppose' WELL with SSS NOW (not before); which also means last time they didn't even can hold a candle near a SSS.. but now can if abit of struggle..maybe.. (pardon me if I get the wrong meaning for 'now') Your first paragraph is about cars with butt losses out around bends and corners, whereas your last paragraph is an insinuation that GTR (with butt hor) cannot beat WRX, Mini & Golf GT at corners. By reading your above thread in its entirety and whole context only serves to a conclusion for average persons with average English proficiency:- 1. Few cars in the world except WRX, Mini & Golf GT STRUGGLE NOW to be on par with SSS; 2. GTR cannot beat WRX, MINi Golf GT at corners; in fact cars with butt ALWAYS get beaten around corners; and 3. If you deduce (1) + (2)- it means that GTR can't beat SSS lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Excuse me brothers. Where did I ever mentioned that an SSS was and is faster than a TT, STi hatch, or Cooper? Kindly re-read my posting.. As with any man made tool, would or can you say that an ordinary photographer with a $15K camera can take better pictures than an established photographer with 20 over years of shooting who uses a cheaper $4-6k camera?? Who is joking here, bro? Then make your posting clearer bro, it's your driving skills that's good. Making use of you allegory.... -> Assuming you with X experience of driving...driving a Y$ car...can attain performance of Z. ->What the bros here are saying is it's still ONLY a Y$ car...if with your X years of driving, you drive a Y+100,000 real sports car, you can attain performance of Z+1. ->In other words anyone with the same X experience of driving and driving a Y+100,000 real sports car and OUTDONE OUTRIDE you on your Y$ car ANYTIME, ANYDAY, ANY ROAD...simply because his performance of Z+1 is greater than your performance of Z. Fair enough or not? I myself drive a Civic (YES VTEC!!!) and you drive a SSS. Do we have something in common? (ermmm I like to think my VTEC can make you eat my dust anytime but thats for another discussion). Yes we do have something in common, we are not the most popular of car owners in general. So keep your attitude in check, so what if you outride some folks with a bigger more expensive car? You are posting in a car forum here where you will ALWAYS find people with higher performance than you and have better driving skills. End of the day, its your attitude that stick out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourdefrance Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Why is everyone so defensive and argumentative? Take a chill pill guys. Relax. This is only a forum and people say what they want....... Thanks for the advice. I am always chilled but how we hate PC warriors stating groundless and ill-informed public statements and thereafter hoping to get out of it by say "oh.. i meant this and i meant that" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tourdefrance Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Kindly refer to the World Wide Web for this your counter claim on SSS, not a Sport vehicle. Do you mean Super Suzuki Swift? Hell! No way it is a sport car! I don't think we even bother to google about it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 Do you mean Super Suzuki Swift? Hell! No way it is a sport car! I don't think we even bother to google about it. su su ki swiss pork??? n yes! its not that fast. and in no way a sportcar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kallangrally Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 sss is probably a "sport edition" car at most, but we also have Lancer "Sports" edition, Vios "sports" edition, latio "sports" edition....these are your so-called sports car, we can throw one rock one hit one of those at PIE anytime .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Onesoul Neutral Newbie August 13, 2009 Share August 13, 2009 (edited) just curious to find out, how about a turbo-charged SSS with upgraded gear-box and given its light body and stuff? could it be fast enough? im no suzuki's driver nor fan...just wanna find out for my own knowledge thanks. Edited August 13, 2009 by Onesoul ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...