Evillusion Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 1:50 PM, Cavver said: He in infantry ? All Infantry spec and officers (NSFs) did went thru and obtain Combat Skill badge (badge with a SAR21 rifle). For JCC or jungle survival is different level already. he has the badge with the sar21...but he is going for jcc this coming february....but my son regular....maybe different from nsf spec.......just hoping! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 1:15 PM, Eviilusion said: never ask him.....fella was from the old safec and safincos. PC also one kind lar.....We already tulan him bcos we got lost in temburong during ex nomad...one whole day lost because pc wanted to navigate! Then this case made the nco lost his mind. When we ROD...the pc had tears in his eyes sia! Temburong jungle... the only place I got lost....lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 2:02 PM, Raymondism said: Temburong jungle... the only place I got lost....lolya...temburong if got lost really chialat......ROC also will get lost wan during the topo exercise.....but not that bad as there are houses and farms everywhere. Temburong oni have trees and knolls and looked the same! Spending one night knowing we are lost in the jungle was like.....hong kan liao.....want to sleep also cannot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 What is this jcc you guys talking about? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raymondism Twincharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 2:18 PM, Eviilusion said: ya...temburong if got lost really chialat......ROC also will get lost wan during the topo exercise.....but not that bad as there are houses and farms everywhere. Temburong oni have trees and knolls and looked the same! Spending one night knowing we are lost in the jungle was like.....hong kan liao.....want to sleep also cannot! 3 day topo exercise... I exit the vegetation 100m from where I enter... 3 days cannot find any checkpoint.. lol I m one of those good w topo... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 2:30 PM, Vega said: What is this jcc you guys talking about?jungle confidence course....in temburong. On 12/16/2014 at 2:31 PM, Raymondism said: 3 day topo exercise... I exit the vegetation 100m from where I enter... 3 days cannot find any checkpoint.. lol I m one of those good w topo... at least u managed to backtracked hahaha! My balls is left heavy......ex greensleeve i topo and went 10m off course for a 100 meter. I cannot navigate using compass...hahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 2:40 PM, Eviilusion said: jungle confidence course....in temburong. Chey!!! I thought is some type of self satisfaction course!!! Lol..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 On 12/16/2014 at 2:43 PM, Vega said: Chey!!! I thought is some type of self satisfaction course!!! Lol.....wah....like that jiak chu cheng.......eeeeeww! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shadowdad 2nd Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Speaking from experience, I completed my 13years as a Maj. Basically, for officer there command role and staff role. For officer with potential, they alway end up in command role like S3, Bn 2ic, Bn commander, company commander, etc. if you did not hold command role responsibiltiy, very hard to get promoted. Also, who got promotion and all that, some how already fit. Can't share too much on this... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 12:05 AM, Shadowdad said: Speaking from experience, I completed my 13years as a Maj. Basically, for officer there command role and staff role. For officer with potential, they alway end up in command role like S3, Bn 2ic, Bn commander, company commander, etc. if you did not hold command role responsibiltiy, very hard to get promoted. Also, who got promotion and all that, some how already fit. Can't share too much on this... Its always easier to see which officer got the potential in ICT and even at officer level, there are some really chao keng officers that even the most chao keng men will despise. I recalled 1 of my NS PC, first to go up bunk and showered and changed into fresh clothing and eating night snacks when everyone else including me as the OC, still dirty with mud,camo cream and sweat and dirty after 3 days outfield packing up stores. And there I was as the OC telling the whole company before outfield that nobody showers until all the stores are accounted for and there is this joker officer in clean fresh clothing eating night snack... wtf.. wonder how he earned his commission... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 Seriously why stay in saf unless u are really a high flyer. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 12:59 AM, Lala81 said: Seriously why stay in saf unless u are really a high flyer. I have seen ppl who stay there for all the wrong reasons. Owe ppl money. Fastest way to get a lump sum of money to pay their debts is to sign on. You will see them get into all sorts of trouble hoping to be kicked out but it will never happen. Those who can't find a job outside. They play hide and seek in camp. And when you find them they are relaxing one corner...sleeping. That's why now they are smarter. Dun give out money so soon. Everything based on performance. CMI means out they go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 12:05 AM, Shadowdad said: Speaking from experience, I completed my 13years as a Maj. Basically, for officer there command role and staff role. For officer with potential, they alway end up in command role like S3, Bn 2ic, Bn commander, company commander, etc. if you did not hold command role responsibiltiy, very hard to get promoted. Also, who got promotion and all that, some how already fit. Can't share too much on this... if one is a top scholar, everything is swee swee for you even some screw ups along the way. I no officer but come from a formation where scholars are of plenty but command roles are scarce. Some top scholars, even holding more junior roles back then, has no respect for their higher rank commanders (non scholars) and their tour is very short before get posted to Mindef. during my 2.5 yrs as a NSF, I see OC appointment holders rank of a LTA(farmers), CPT(2nd grade scholars) and Maj(President scholar). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kac 4th Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 1:06 AM, Vega said: if one is a top scholar, everything is swee swee for you even some screw ups along the way. I no officer but come from a formation where scholars are of plenty but command roles are scarce. Some top scholars, even holding more junior roles back then, has no respect for their higher rank commanders (non scholars) and their tour is very short before get posted to Mindef. during my 2.5 yrs as a NSF, I see OC appointment holders rank of a LTA(farmers), CPT(2nd grade scholars) and Maj(President scholar). Scholars as you said, have a career path already charted for them assuming they don't screw up.. Same thing for police... You have to take a double take when you see a early 30 (years old) DAC when most farmer officers are probably ASP2 / DSP 1 at this stage of their career even assuming they start at ASP1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 12:59 AM, Lala81 said: Seriously why stay in saf unless u are really a high flyer. Some people just want a stable income and relaxing job. They don't mind lower pay in exchange. Last time when i was in NS my BSM was like that lo. I heard that he's getting around 5k but then he has been in the SAF for like 20+ years already. His jobs always very simple. Most of the time in office doing personal stuff and at the mess playing pool with us. lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 1:14 AM, Kac said: Scholars as you said, have a career path already charted for them assuming they don't screw up.. Same thing for police... You have to take a double take when you see a early 30 (years old) DAC when most farmer officers are probably ASP2 / DSP 1 at this stage of their career even assuming they start at ASP1.. ask you har, if a officer drink driving and crashed his MID vehicle (total loss), consider screw up or no har? what is the normal punishment for this kind of crime? On 12/18/2014 at 1:20 AM, Nzy said: Some people just want a stable income and relaxing job. They don't mind lower pay in exchange. Last time when i was in NS my BSM was like that lo. I heard that he's getting around 5k but then he has been in the SAF for like 20+ years already. His jobs always very simple. Most of the time in office doing personal stuff and at the mess playing pool with us. lol. yalor. during my time, I see those senior NCO all fat fat one. can't pass ippt and soc and always drinking beer until eyes red red at the NCO mess. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 On 12/18/2014 at 12:35 AM, Fishy said: Its always easier to see which officer got the potential in ICT and even at officer level, there are some really chao keng officers that even the most chao keng men will despise. I recalled 1 of my NS PC, first to go up bunk and showered and changed into fresh clothing and eating night snacks when everyone else including me as the OC, still dirty with mud,camo cream and sweat and dirty after 3 days outfield packing up stores. And there I was as the OC telling the whole company before outfield that nobody showers until all the stores are accounted for and there is this joker officer in clean fresh clothing eating night snack... wtf.. wonder how he earned his commission... Efficiency! Sir! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 18, 2014 Share December 18, 2014 (edited) On 12/18/2014 at 2:04 AM, Bavarian said: Efficiency! Sir! Why do I get the feeling that you are that chao keng PC??? Edited December 18, 2014 by Fishy ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...