DACH Supersonic December 20, 2018 Share December 20, 2018 I used cinnamon stick and powder...safe and effective to drive them away and not killing them Only the authentic Indian Store one not PRC version Those cinnamon powder from Daiso can? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 20, 2018 Share December 20, 2018 Those cinnamon powder from Daiso can? If Ah Neh one can but don’t buy Ah Tiong one hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 21, 2018 Share December 21, 2018 Wow, Singer oil, this is a first I have heard! Is it effective in preventing them from entering? How long can the residual effect last? Maybe a week or 2 but not lasting when rain lah. Get those thick gooey grease and smear around the perimeter is best but not the darkish kind. I had a can of teflon grease, it is clear but cannot find anywhere in the house. That would be more lasting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jysel 1st Gear December 21, 2018 Share December 21, 2018 Maybe a week or 2 but not lasting when rain lah. Get those thick gooey grease and smear around the perimeter is best but not the darkish kind. I had a can of teflon grease, it is clear but cannot find anywhere in the house. That would be more lasting. I am currently using shieldtox on the outside and bio x on the inside every week. The shieldtox will get washed away by rain, the only reliable one is bio x which is on the inside so its residual effect is more lasting. Too bad there isn't anything in the market that can withstand weather conditions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged December 21, 2018 Share December 21, 2018 I am currently using shieldtox on the outside and bio x on the inside every week. The shieldtox will get washed away by rain, the only reliable one is bio x which is on the inside so its residual effect is more lasting. Too bad there isn't anything in the market that can withstand weather conditions.If possible find the nest. Last year around this rainy season, one army of black ants shifted their ant eggs, Queen ant too and nested in my kitchen under the sink. Found the nest accidently and exterminated the whole bunch. Scary man! Yeeeew! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jysel 1st Gear December 21, 2018 Share December 21, 2018 If possible find the nest. Last year around this rainy season, one army of black ants shifted their ant eggs, Queen ant too and nested in my kitchen under the sink. Found the nest accidently and exterminated the whole bunch. Scary man! Yeeeew!Yes, we had found a nest in one of our kitchen cabinet a month ago, it's so scary till I got depressed after clearing it. While clearing it, some ants ran loose and started appearing everywhere. Called pest control, they put bait but more ants were seen. So no choice but to spray at entry points to prevents new ants from entering, while spraying at areas that we can't reach for the existing ants. It took us a month before finally everything was controlled. So we realized, prevention is better than cure. Now we religiously sprayed every week on inside and outside, coz rainy season so we expect the ants would not give up their quest for shelter yet. But after a rain, shieldtox gets washed off, and we can see a few ants outside the wall roaming about and will start searching for a way in. If they start to enter and build the trail, will definitely result in another ant nest. So now no choice but to check the outer wall daily to make sure no live ants running. It's a tedious job that take up a fair bit of my time and a lot of ppl said I am overdoing. But if I don't do this, ants will find opportunity to enter. I just hope to wait it out so that they will eventually understand that they are not welcomed here. Sigh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jysel 1st Gear April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 I have ants entering from a new point which we didn't control. Suspect from aircon trunking leading to the outside. Going to spray thick thick at the disappearing point. Why never-ending story? I even wrote to our MP coz my neighbors also get more ants recently. looks like cleanliness of the block is not well done. Sigh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Volvobrick Hypersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 My dog eats ants... but only the big juicy ones! So I don't spray.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 So difficult meh? Once up a time i use ant baits but find it messy. Now i use ant chalk , very easy and effective. Of course new colony will emerge and you just got to do the same after a while especially for landed homes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Can also use cucumber skin. Ants hate it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kb27 Supersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Ants are a nuisance. I see them in my toilet and I'll try to find the nest. Usually, it's a tiny hole in the tile grout about 2 mm wide, and it's enough for them to call home. So I spray Baygon inside the hole. And they are all gone, or so I thought. Well, not quite. A few days later they appear again. Sometimes, they even reuse the same hole as a nest. Now, I get a grout filler and patch up the hole. But they probably moved on to find another hole. It's a never ending battle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Ants in the house same like baby roaches found inside the car. Its a never ending battle de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Haha i used superglue to fill up the hole. Ants are a nuisance. I see them in my toilet and I'll try to find the nest. Usually, it's a tiny hole in the tile grout about 2 mm wide, and it's enough for them to call home. So I spray Baygon inside the hole. And they are all gone, or so I thought. Well, not quite. A few days later they appear again. Sometimes, they even reuse the same hole as a nest. Now, I get a grout filler and patch up the hole. But they probably moved on to find another hole. It's a never ending battle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Haha i used superglue to fill up the hole.First time hear using such method?! Effective or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Effective. It sealed up the hole/s very fast. Also its transparent. First time hear using such method?! Effective or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 The ant bait used to work effectively to remove the colony for at least six months but not anymore. Ants these days seem to be computer literate liao as they like to roam around handphone under charge. I think they know about the bait through www... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic April 10, 2019 Share April 10, 2019 Ants are a nuisance. I see them in my toilet and I'll try to find the nest. Usually, it's a tiny hole in the tile grout about 2 mm wide, and it's enough for them to call home. So I spray Baygon inside the hole. And they are all gone, or so I thought. Well, not quite. A few days later they appear again. Sometimes, they even reuse the same hole as a nest. Now, I get a grout filler and patch up the hole. But they probably moved on to find another hole. It's a never ending battle Yes they r hiding inside grouting or cabinet gaps. Impossible to eradicate fully. My house already q minimal, but they keep finding new spots to hide. Even the good ant bait, half the time they ignore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jysel 1st Gear April 11, 2019 Share April 11, 2019 I put 扫光光 but after 3 days they still roaming. Last time I called pest control they also put bait end up ants still roaming, wasted my $150. So I resort to spraying. Coz be it bait or spray, ants still return. So may as well spray as baits are more like trial and error. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...