Picanto 3rd Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 if our democratic govt allow us to vote whether gst should be increase, would you want gst increase because the govt give gst credits in the form of $$ or would you vote against it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtravagant Clutched August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 Against lor. . . GST credits is only a temporary relief. . . but the increase will be a permanent basis. . . what you trying to find out from this bro? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 nowadays when you spend, dont forget the amount you pay is actually inclusive of 7% gst hor. if say you go restaurant eat, the bill comes up to $100, you have to pay $10 for service charge, plus $7 for GST. put it another way, if your total yearly expense comes up to $50,000 , every year you are paying $3500 of GST. So you tell me, GST credit of a few hundred dollars is what ? Clearly we are being used to fleece money again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 (edited) nowadays when you spend, dont forget the amount you pay is actually inclusive of 7% gst hor. if say you go restaurant eat, the bill comes up to $100, you have to pay $10 for service charge, plus $7 for GST. put it another way, if your total yearly expense comes up to $50,000 , every year you are paying $3500 of GST. So you tell me, GST credit of a few hundred dollars is what ? Clearly we are being used to fleece money again. I think the purpose of GST or VAT(in other countries) is to "standardise" the taxes. For eg. Let's say the food you eat at the restaurant, the raw materials and meat all come from outside SG, the pork imported from M'sia : pork tax, beef from Australia: beef tax, vege from China: vege tax, etc etc. Imagine all these taxes are of different amounts according to the imports and the consumer will ultimately bare this amount. You could be paying a lot more dan the current $107 even when the GST is not implemented.. Edited August 5, 2009 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Altivo 3rd Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 (edited) GST is an indirect tax and it is just another way for the gahmen to collect revenue which was loss as a result of a reduction to personal income tax in simple terms 1) Cut in personal income tax = more disposable income 2) More disposable income = more in spending/consumption 3) more in spending/consumption = increase in revenue via GST so it's basically left pocket out and right pocket in Edited August 5, 2009 by Altivo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 5, 2009 Author Share August 5, 2009 if our democratic govt allow us to vote whether gst should be increase, would you want gst increase because the govt give gst credits in the form of $$ or would you vote against it? i would like to know who is happy with the gst increase. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cjgoh Neutral Newbie August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 if our democratic govt allow us to vote whether gst should be increase, would you want gst increase because the govt give gst credits in the form of $$ or would you vote against it? I'll totally vote them out altogether, and get over with every nitty gritty policies of theirs...! Self-serving elites! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jalibhoy Neutral Newbie August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 vote wisely guys, vote with your head, not your pocket (just in case they decide to buy their votes again with the New Singiapore Shares) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 i would like to know who is happy with the gst increase. The govt people is happy, so that they have more money for disposal. Bonus and salary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 I'll totally vote them out altogether, and get over with every nitty gritty policies of theirs...! Self-serving elites! Which govt can you name that is not self serving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 vote wisely guys, vote with your head, not your pocket (just in case they decide to buy their votes again with the New Singiapore Shares) While I agree, which of the lesser evil will you choose? a: Bad but allows you to live peacefully? b: Perceive good but no track records to prove? You staking your peaceful life? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyckh 5th Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 And which is the highest paid government in the universe? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 While I agree, which of the lesser evil will you choose? a: Bad but allows you to live peacefully? b: Perceive good but no track records to prove? You staking your peaceful life? That's why we are celebrating 44 years national day this year Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickensoup 1st Gear August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 And which is the highest paid government in the universe? Everyone knows Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 5, 2009 Author Share August 5, 2009 ok....ok.... alll the post by MCF forumers do not like the gst increase. i guess if i ask any man in the street, they also feel the same way. the reason why the govt continue with this unpopular increase in gst is because they know that the citizens will still vote for them i know they will still win the next election. but i fear gst will be further increase again after the win leh....... really fustrated at times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacrv Neutral Newbie August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 ok....ok.... alll the post by MCF forumers do not like the gst increase. i guess if i ask any man in the street, they also feel the same way. the reason why the govt continue with this unpopular increase in gst is because they know that the citizens will still vote for them i know they will still win the next election. but i fear gst will be further increase again after the win leh....... really fustrated at times. remember reading somewhere that gst will subsequently increase to 15% Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic August 5, 2009 Share August 5, 2009 And yet some of you guys are the same people who claim not enough is being done for the poor. Where will the government get the money to help if not from taxes? Personally, I think taxes should be kept at a minimal and government interference and assistance should be minimal as well. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 5, 2009 Author Share August 5, 2009 And yet some of you guys are the same people who claim not enough is being done for the poor. Where will the government get the money to help if not from taxes? Personally, I think taxes should be kept at a minimal and government interference and assistance should be minimal as well. beside taxes, they make a lot of money selling OVERPRICED HDB flats, COEs, ERP etc. dun look down on their $$ making ability. its beyond the common man understanding. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...