Leepee 1st Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 My friend's bought a car from PI recently. The car is ready to be registeres, COE is ready and Loan also ready. As my friend is young, the insurance quoted by many companies are >$3500++ So my friend is thinking to get her father to buy the insurance for the car and she as the second named driver, to reduce the outlay. So my friend told the PI to register the car and not to worry about insurance as she is definately no going to buy thru PI. But the PI kept insisting the the LTA computer system does not allow a car to be registered without an insurance. Is it true that a car MUST have an insurance? or the driver must have an insurance or both? Is my understandting that car insurance is basically bought for the driver and the car model is just a factor that adds to the cost of the insurance premiums, like the age, ocupation, driving experience. Like in an accident, the other party will be claiming from the driver insurance and NOT from the car. Since the car is a dead object, there is no meaning to claim from the car insurance. Ok the reason why I ask this question is, because I know many insurance company will only issue a cover note when people buy new car. Sometimes PI only give the faxed copy to the new owner when they collect the new car. So it cannot be that the insurance information is already keyed into the LTA system before the car is registered with LTA right? I am not disputing the fact that driving a car without insurance is Ok. I am asking do LTA really need a confirmed insurance for the car at the time of registration? Anyone knows? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 yes, I think its all online these days so must have valid insurance to be on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pcslim Neutral Newbie August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 Every car needs to have a valid motor insurance before it is allowed on the road. By registering with LTA, it is asking to be allowed on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alechi 2nd Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 Just tell PI the car bought for her father lah .. then let PI register insurance under father's name lor .. cannot?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 ur fren now has 2 seprate items. the car and the coe. without the insurance how to register a car on the road u tell me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
So_nice 6th Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 no offence but ur above thread makes me wonder if u really own a car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear August 3, 2009 Author Share August 3, 2009 Ok point noted....the usual stnadard answer I expects to get. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_kirin Neutral Newbie August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 Yap i do this for a living. You cannot register the car without a valid insurance. There is no other way around that. You should know LTA is quite strict on this. If you want, you should get your dad name, age and date of birth so that they can check your insurance. In that case, all the car details also have to be in your dad's name. That includes the Loan, car ownership and insurance. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 ur fren now has 2 seprate items. the car and the coe. without the insurance how to register a car on the road u tell me? yeah u are right. its the same problem she will face after 1 yr when renew road tax, LTA will ask for insurance before she can renew the road tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarah_9 Neutral Newbie August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 Hello, your car must have insurance, before running on the road, otherwise it will be considered as violation of law. Regards, sarah_9 Online Traffic School Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kotila Clutched August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 This rule of having an insured car before reigstration is applicable to all. No exception. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scwee Clutched August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 my not so closed friend's experience... he bought a volvo...then he yaya and have arguement with the SE and insist didn't want to buy the insurance from them. on the day to collect the car, the SE advise him not to, he boh chap...drove the car out. suay suay, not long after that, he hit a cyclist. victim got injured and ambulance called. the end result - court case, licence suspended for a year bcos of no insurance. he himself have to pay for all the medical cost and other costs. he is considered very lucky not serious injury, otherwise can't imaging that how he is going to pay for his whole life. we all laugh at him...being an idiot Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 Ok point noted....the usual stnadard answer I expects to get. Thanks. In the eye of LTA, insurance is to protect 3rd party & owner/user of the vehicle. Without cover note, no registration & road tax. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 to get a car on the road, there's road tax. and as everyone should know, to renew the road tax, there must also be insufficient insurance coverage for the period of the road tax. registering new car, also need road tax for it to be allowed on the road. so yes, u need the insurance. unless ur new car is those battery-operated-kiddie-ride kind...that one exempted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vinceyeo Neutral Newbie August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 my not so closed friend's experience... he bought a volvo...then he yaya and have arguement with the SE and insist didn't want to buy the insurance from them. on the day to collect the car, the SE advise him not to, he boh chap...drove the car out. suay suay, not long after that, he hit a cyclist. victim got injured and ambulance called. the end result - court case, licence suspended for a year bcos of no insurance. he himself have to pay for all the medical cost and other costs. he is considered very lucky not serious injury, otherwise can't imaging that how he is going to pay for his whole life. we all laugh at him...being an idiot This is for real? I find it hard to believe the SE will give him the car without insurance done up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D3badge 6th Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 if you own a car, you will know you need to renew your insurance before you can renew roadtax if not illeagal. thus if car resgister with LTA mean got roadtax too liao mah?? rite?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mits_jc 5th Gear August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 typo: there must also be sufficient insurance coverage for the period of the road tax. to get a car on the road, there's road tax. and as everyone should know, to renew the road tax, there must also be insufficient insurance coverage for the period of the road tax. registering new car, also need road tax for it to be allowed on the road. so yes, u need the insurance. unless ur new car is those battery-operated-kiddie-ride kind...that one exempted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 3, 2009 Share August 3, 2009 aiyoh.... just ask urself, when u want to renew ur roadtax, what they need from u?.. isnt the answer obvious?... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...