Car Tyre Puncture Repair

Keith976

On 7/31/2009 at 1:22 AM, Gnomish said:

well i went to a place few days ago that charged me $20 to repair a tyre... am I robert liao?

Was the repair the plug type or patch from inside? It's super expensive if it was the former, but ok for the latter.

On 7/31/2009 at 3:20 AM, BoneStock said:

just go stamford...cheap and good [thumbsup]

the last i tried them was $6 i think

Bro,this stamford is at loyang? sell other car accesories like autobacs rite? i heard of them long ago but cannot seem to find their location,can u tell me their add pls? thx alot bro :)

  On 7/31/2009 at 5:16 AM, Silver_blade said:

Was the repair the plug type or patch from inside? It's super expensive if it was the former, but ok for the latter.

Even if it's patch from inside, $20 is still too ex bro.

The rate for internal patching should not be more than $10 and the rate for plug type should not be more than $8. Unless it's during those weird timing.

Just my opinion.

repair from inside is not the preferred method

Is the only method recommended by tyre manufacture.

as for price not more than $10 for internal method [sweatdrop]

brother you can recommend where to go for my friend 20" and his rim is those forged type (ray engineering)

for outside method i know can range from few $

DIY you can buy a kit from Autobacs for $20-40.

You buy it not because you wanna save money but to have the ability to repair your tyre when you are on a roadtrip where the petrol station may not have a tyre shop and the nearest one is many kms away.

It's a relatively easy process. You must also have a pair of pliers on hand.

Should note that you cannot repair a puncture that is too close to the sidewall or on the sidewall itself. you will have to replace the tyre completely.

If you don't know what you are doing, best to get a professional to do so.

well...well...well...standing under the sun/rain, jacking up the car, remove the tyre, plug out the foreign object/s, plug in the patch, dip into water to test for any bubbles, pump air, install tyre back, remove the jack....all these are considered labour charge or do u think is free???? even aircon man or electrician come out to your house just to inspect without any parts replacement will already incur labour + transport charges liao....seriously...if that few $$$ cannot afford to repair puncture then might as well sell off the car and take public transport....pounds foolish penny wise...again how many times will you get puncture on your car unless u damn suay or u have offended someone else for some drivers, they dun get their tyres puncture throughout the lifespan of the tyres.....

ST charge cheaper becos repairing puncture is a probably neglible cost to them as they can earn back from accessories, servicing and selling of tyres/rims....those promo kinda of buy 3 get 1 free type, where on earth got free things....is already factored in liao...it is only whether want to earn less or earn more only...who want to do waste money business

  On 7/31/2009 at 7:57 AM, Roberttan said:

as for price not more than $10 for internal method [sweatdrop]

brother you can recommend where to go for my friend 20" and his rim is those forged type (ray engineering)

for outside method i know can range from few $

Jialat.. Mine was the plug type repair and I'll be going on a road trip to genting next week.. [sweatdrop]

is yours those long orange plug type? if yes, did you see the tyreman cut corners by snipping the plug into half and only use half of it? some shops do that inorder to save cost, and maximise profit but soon the car owners will find their patch comes off and leak again. best is to ask the tyreshop to use the entire plug. Stupid and unwise to use half of the plug and tthen to see customers coming back and complain, and repatch again.

On 7/31/2009 at 7:57 AM, Roberttan said:

Yup. That is what all major tyres manufacturers recommend. In fact, in some countries, it is illegal to use the plug-method as a perm repair....can only be used as a temp/short journey repair.

On 7/31/2009 at 1:22 AM, Gnomish said:

well i went to a place few days ago that charged me $20 to repair a tyre... am I robert liao?

CONFIRM. U have been chopped!

Unless.....they did some other things for u like rotating/balancing etc.

On 7/31/2009 at 9:12 AM, Ender said:

Jialat.. Mine was the plug type repair and I'll be going on a road trip to genting next week.. [sweatdrop]

just make sure your tyre does leak air over the next few days... if it does rectify it before going.

On 7/31/2009 at 1:36 AM, Adrianli said:

I had my tyre puncture repair twice at Hankook Sembawang, only S$8.

If u DIY, u would also need a air pump + repair kit + a few drops of sweat. [sweatdrop]

after the repair, can go above 100km/h safely?

I have had my tyres repaired many times throughout my driving, all using the plug type. The yellowish type is better. I have not encountered any problem at all! Just don't forget to check the pressure after the repair!

Mine has no problem since it was plugged more than a month ago, only $6. But the guy set the wrong pressure and I have to go back 5 mins later to get the tyre pumped to the correct pressure. [mad]

Just checked the tyre pressure after repair.

On 7/31/2009 at 7:40 AM, Fcw75 said:

Even if it's patch from inside, $20 is still too ex bro.

The rate for internal patching should not be more than $10 and the rate for plug type should not be more than $8. Unless it's during those weird timing.

Just my opinion.

Hi Fcw75,

Can PM me where is the shop which repair by internal patching and cost less then $10 ???

Thanks A Million....... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]