Scion Turbocharged July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 i'm not xenophobia, but i dun quite fully agree with our gahmen's FT policy either [sly] inspired by the thread "i hate green smelly things", i hereby create this thread of things that are uniquely singapore and may never be understood by foreigners unless they are born here... they may know ION orchard or vivo but they may not know these places national theatre (demolished) singapore national library (demolished) they go to NDP parades but they may not know last time NCC wore temasek green uniform and how to sing: "C130 rolling down the strip, air-born rangers taking little trip. stand up hook up shuffle to the door, jump right down at the count of four" "training to be a soldier, to fight for our land. once in our life, two years of our time. have you ever wonder, why we must serve? because we love our land, and want it to be free, to be free!" they think singapore is safe, but in the late 80s and early 90s, 街头党 roamed the schools "ah ah sa luk gao (3 6 9), sin ka por, bo beh zao!" (forgot the actual song) they know sun yanzi, JJ lim, tanya... but they may not know 新谣 "巫启贤 - 邂逅" "梁文福 - 历史考试前夕" "姜鄠 - 恋之憩" and many more... good or bad, these is singapore culture... and only true blue singaporeans will feel attached to it... feel free to contribute... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Headshok 1st Gear July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 (edited) the 369 cheer must have the ah beng techno song behind it. haha this song Edited July 27, 2009 by Headshok Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celery511 Neutral Newbie July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 (edited) Wow Those were the memorable old days., they r gone ., not coming back anymore. Sad Edited July 27, 2009 by Celery511 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 And how many knows that the Van Kleef Aquarium was beside the National Theatre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 how many know the rocket in bedok interchange ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 I knoe...our favourite meeting place during secondary school.. coz its near bus interchange.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 no disrespect bro, but being born here, i do know all that you mentioned above, but i feel no attachment to those things. i have been to the above places. do i feel reminiscent of them? no. am i sorry to see them go? don't know and don't really care. i don't know what it is that makes you feel nostalgic for the past, and i don't know what makes me think nothing about these icons/memories. maybe i got no good to keep memories for these things. some things even locals don't understand, even when born and bred here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 Talking about classic......I have picture to show as well Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stingerquek Clutched July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 And these are the places with full of childhood memories. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 Talking about classic......I have picture to show as well Really missed the old CK Tang man..... remember playing with the six-million-dollar-man toy figure there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stivo Neutral Newbie July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 you guys are so old school :) its is sad to know that young people do not appreciate our past.. some things needs to be preserved ..not all but some... why do u reckon those who can afford will try to have a getaway whenever it is a holiday? sometimes trees and greens are more pleasant than futuristic buildings.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 27, 2009 Share July 27, 2009 And these are the places with full of childhood memories. NCO clob still there rite? opposite raffles hotel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Simplesilver 1st Gear July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 Hahaha. The drive-in theatre!! That's super old stuff man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace Clutched July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 NCO clob still there rite? opposite raffles hotel? I still remember going to the a small pub in NCO club with my army buddy during my army day but that was more than 10 years ago. Seeing that bring back some nice memories Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 28, 2009 Author Share July 28, 2009 no disrespect bro, but being born here, i do know all that you mentioned above, but i feel no attachment to those things. i have been to the above places. do i feel reminiscent of them? no. am i sorry to see them go? don't know and don't really care. i don't know what it is that makes you feel nostalgic for the past, and i don't know what makes me think nothing about these icons/memories. maybe i got no good to keep memories for these things. some things even locals don't understand, even when born and bred here. no lah bro... i'm not referring to places only... songs, food also included... i'm just trying to identify the so-called singapore culture... u may not feel attached to it, but at least u know these things since young... i just feel sad that singapore, as a modern city, is changing so fast and with loads of foreigners flocking in, the definition of a singaporean is getting more and more vague liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dudz Neutral Newbie July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 no disrespect bro, but being born here, i do know all that you mentioned above, but i feel no attachment to those things. i have been to the above places. do i feel reminiscent of them? no. am i sorry to see them go? don't know and don't really care. i don't know what it is that makes you feel nostalgic for the past, and i don't know what makes me think nothing about these icons/memories. maybe i got no good to keep memories for these things. some things even locals don't understand, even when born and bred here. Last time when those things were there, i eveyday see also don't feel anything. but now it is gone I feel sad. Those are "common memerories". Like I saw those pics posted by the bros, bring back memory of my parents bringing me to the aquarium and the national theatre. The kallang gas work that was torn down. I remember when i took a bus with my grandma that went past that area and she pointed out to me what that was. I guess the significance of these buildings or scenary or songs or watever, invoke memories. Unique to people being here. Uniquely singapore. And the memories are what connect people. Thats y i was worried that next time how my kids going to understand me when all that i once know were wipe off. How do i connect with them? Me and my parents, friends we have these common memroies. So it is not just abt foreigners. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 no disrespect bro, but being born here, i do know all that you mentioned above, but i feel no attachment to those things. i have been to the above places. do i feel reminiscent of them? no. am i sorry to see them go? don't know and don't really care. i don't know what it is that makes you feel nostalgic for the past, and i don't know what makes me think nothing about these icons/memories. maybe i got no good to keep memories for these things. some things even locals don't understand, even when born and bred here. Normally we associate the old places with the events that we used to do as a child. And that usually bring back fond memories, especially so if the memories includes our siblings and parents who may have pasted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yipsy1 Neutral Newbie July 28, 2009 Share July 28, 2009 And what is at the National Theatre now? Just an empty plot of land... after so many years! And the National Library? A tunnel for quicker traffic access.. but an ERP gantry at the other end of the road! Definately they could have done a better job in preserving these buildings. In the name of progress, we remove our past. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...