Liverpool vs Singapore (post match review)

Sci10213

For those watched the match, comments please?

To me, some points noted:

1. Singapore football suck totally especially in 2nd half - defenders dun know how to defend, strikers dun know how to shoot... blah blah blah

2. Why have trophy? Super damn pointless... i can see that the Liverpool players like no interest and just going through motion...

3. Jersey exchange... seems like Liverpool players not that keen... some just trying to give face only and put up a show

im not a fan of soccer..love playing but not watching..

neither am i a fan of singapore's team..

but if we are so condescending towards our own team, how are foreign teams gonna take us seriously?

sure, u may say that what our team bring to the table determines the attitude of their opponents..

but if we're so pessimistic and critical towards our own team, all the more foreigners won't take us seriously..

just my humble opinion.. [sweatdrop]

Edited by Deathism

did Singapore play against Liverpool?

that was many years ago right?

Singapore played Liverpool on the night of 26th July 2009 at the National Stadium.

We shouldn't be too critical of the Spore team.

They played like Man U!

And let 5 goals in. :D

haha...so bad lah u...

but hor...man u had the trophy leh..rem?

We shouldn't be too critical of the Spore team.

They played like Man U!

And let 5 goals in. :D

When i know pool playing against sg. i see sg no up. I straight away take pool give 3 ball. Play Jalan. Cos i know singapore football cannot make it.

Also upon hearing tat Alam Shah name. I think he is a cuckoo. At least my bangala worker also call Alam Shah more dilligent his work but not behaving like gangster.

im not a fan of soccer..love playing but not watching..

neither am i a fan of singapore's team..

but if we are so condescending towards our own team, how are foreign teams gonna take us seriously?

sure, u may say that what our team bring to the table determines the attitude of their opponents..

but if we're so pessimistic and critical towards our own team, all the more foreigners won't take us seriously..

just my humble opinion.. [sweatdrop]

No worry. All the thing need to be done is to give more citizenship. Create a super team.

Its kinda sad.

I was having dinner with my friends after soccer@Fico.

Was watching the final mins of the match at a coffee shop.

I start wonder how many in the stadium actually supports our own national team even though Liverpool is ur favourite club.

SGreans simply not patriot enough.

A couple of my friends went for the match wearing liverpool jersey with the name Steven Gerard behind.

Rafa told our news he has never receive such support in away match b4.

If u think, he is probably laughing at us now.

soccer is a beautiful game.

it doesn't matter if the whole world supports you or if the whole world is against you. if you are gd you win. if you suck you lose.

you fool around in training, you will be a fool in the field.... simple as that. singapore players were definitely the fools of the day.

btw i don't support liverpool or singapore. neither do i hate them.

For those watched the match, comments please?

To me, some points noted:

1. Singapore football suck totally especially in 2nd half - defenders dun know how to defend, strikers dun know how to shoot... blah blah blah

2. Why have trophy? Super damn pointless... i can see that the Liverpool players like no interest and just going through motion...

3. Jersey exchange... seems like Liverpool players not that keen... some just trying to give face only and put up a show

Nowadays soccer is like F1, in the sense that the european market has already been milked 'dry', so to speak. The big money's now in Asia and clubs are interested to generate as much fan interest and following as possible in Asia, in order for them to market their image, merchandise, etc.

That's why the game is not so serious, and kind of 'playing for fun' only. One can only wonder why fans would shell out $ for this game... to me, it's a bit like WWF (or WWE; at least the wrestlers don't shy from the fact that it's purely for entertainment).

The Singapore team appears not to be playing up to par precisely because since it's a 'fun' game, it's more important that they do not accidentally 'hurt' their more distinguished guests with a rash tackle or things like that. Imagine if one of those million-pounds players get injured and out for the entire premiership season just because of this game in Singapore!!!

lets face it....sing is there onli bcos pool needed someone 2 play wif [lipsrsealed] ............. [laugh]

Ya lor..and Singapore team play like they are training like that...no desire to win (apart from some players) ....

Relax. Liverpool is in this part of the world as part of their sponsorship, business obligations and at the same time give their players a summer break holiday in Asia. They are certainly not going to risk breaking their legs just to please the supporters in this region. These type of vacation football matches are just warm ups to the BPL season.

Singapore team? Well, this is probably once in lifetime chance for them not only to meet up close with the players but share a tackle or two and perhaps get to exchange jerseys.

Liverpool virtually fielded two teams in the friendly - the second half they brought in their stars. Singapore did pretty well in the first half but then you are playing with seasoned pros and when the more experienced ones coming in the second half, well you can be assured goals galore and that is what the fans want! The second half goals were all tap ins - why, the Singapore defenders were all pumped by then! So in the end its a win win situation for all.