Roadblock by MY TP

Biglittlebean

Just sharing my experience with the MY TP last Sun.. after reading quite a number of stories on how the TP would stop SG cars even when they are not speeding, I was kind of worried that I'll be stopped and asked for kopi $ even if I do not speed.

Just came back from Malacca last Sun... driving there was pretty smooth with no problems. Did not exceed speed limit at all as just changed to this new car(Airwave) and it does not seem to be very stable at high speed. On the way back, I was stopped by 2 road blocks. During the first one, TP asked me to wind down my window. He asked me for my driving license, and I thought he is going to say that I was speeding(which I wasn't), but surprisingly, he returned my license and asked me to carry on. It was probably a normal check.

After the first road block, I saw a grey GTR speeding by... he must have been going at around 140-150kmh. After a few minutes, saw a second road block in front! The TP slowed us down... the GTR driver was asked to pull to one side while I was waved to carry on. Saw that the TP was looking at a list of car plate numbers written down.

Anyone here got stopped and 'fined' by MY TP before even though you did not speed?

Just sharing my experience with the MY TP last Sun.. after reading quite a number of stories on how the TP would stop SG cars even when they are not speeding, I was kind of worried that I'll be stopped and asked for kopi $ even if I do not speed.

Just came back from Malacca last Sun... driving there was pretty smooth with no problems. Did not exceed speed limit at all as just changed to this new car(Airwave) and it does not seem to be very stable at high speed. On the way back, I was stopped by 2 road blocks. During the first one, TP asked me to wind down my window. He asked me for my driving license, and I thought he is going to say that I was speeding(which I wasn't), but surprisingly, he returned my license and asked me to carry on. It was probably a normal check.

After the first road block, I saw a grey GTR speeding by... he must have been going at around 140-150kmh. After a few minutes, saw a second road block in front! The TP slowed us down... the GTR driver was asked to pull to one side while I was waved to carry on. Saw that the TP was looking at a list of car plate numbers written down.

Anyone here got stopped and 'fined' by MY TP before even though you did not speed?

they can fine u for anything

they can even fine u for ur sg-approved tinted window

once i was returning via 1st link at 4am

was stopped at the old customs

after they wave me to stop, they jus stand infront of my car, after abt 20 sec, they still dont want to come over, being cool, i unbuckle my seat belt and open my door, immediately they run over n close my door n tell me to stay inside,

i roll down the mirror n ask them what they want, he tell me i nvr put seat belt,300rm fine

this is one of their tatics, jus take note.

high chance they wave u on becos they are already sucking on one pig

my friend already tried this,you can try this at ur own risk

he was pulled over as usual for no offence n they fault him for his stock HID

when they ask for passport, he handed them his 11B

i think the MY TP was stunned for awhile n then discuss in low tone between themselves, then they ask him for his rank which he declared as 3SG (NS), they then ask for his unit which he say is classified and hes not obliged to say

the MY TP then wave him on n tell him not to on his HID, try at ur own risk

Edited by Ah_tee

experienced quite a few road blocks....

witnessed one road block where a civic SIR was chasing an Audi....practically tail gating and speeding towards the toll. Speed wise was like 120km per hour to 150 km per hour...

100 m down the road after the toll, audi was pulled over...

honda sir was let off...

most likely let off due to the officer at ambush in front of the toll did not get to see the no. plate of the sir...

another few cases was that i was travelling at 90 km per hour where quite a few cars sped past me at 120 to 140kmph...

those speeding cars were stopped whereas i was waved off...

so it does pay to speed...

just be careful as u are reaching the 2nd link.....

try not to speed as u are approaching there..say...10km before?

thats my opinion..

but if u really sway..

anywhere will also kena...

my friend already tried this,you can try this at ur own risk

he was pulled over as usual for no offence n they fault him for his stock HID

when they ask for passport, he handed them his 11B

i think the MY TP was stunned for awhile n then discuss in low tone between themselves, then they ask him for his rank which he declared as 3SG (NS), they then ask for his unit which he say is classified and hes not obliged to say

the MY TP then wave him on n tell him not to on his HID, try at ur own risk

I wouldn't try this. In any case, we are not supposed to reveal the 11B, nor our rank and unit to anyone outside the country. If the MY TP showed pattern and confiscated the 11B and then complain to SingaporePolice, your friend will be in trouble with Mindef. That one no amount of kopi $ will resolve.

generally, kopi session has improved. I was flagged down for kopi session as i did sped. Those S plate car tat i overtook was not asked to join in as they were not fast enuh. So I wuld say MY TP was being fair there :D . MY boleh!!!

experienced quite a few road blocks....

witnessed one road block where a civic SIR was chasing an Audi....practically tail gating and speeding towards the toll. Speed wise was like 120km per hour to 150 km per hour...

100 m down the road after the toll, audi was pulled over...

honda sir was let off...

most likely let off due to the officer at ambush in front of the toll did not get to see the no. plate of the sir...

another few cases was that i was travelling at 90 km per hour where quite a few cars sped past me at 120 to 140kmph...

those speeding cars were stopped whereas i was waved off...

so it does pay to speed...

just be careful as u are reaching the 2nd link.....

try not to speed as u are approaching there..say...10km before?

thats my opinion..

but if u really sway..

anywhere will also kena...

The 2nd link after the toll, after exiting the main N/S HW, is a hot spot for "kopi" $$. If you are unlucky and kanna wave to the road side, they'll tell you that you are speeding at 121km/h. If you have "expensive" cars in front and behind you, most likely they will let you go.

If stopped by MY TP, just Fxxx it.... if u really did speed, the official way to pay the fine is not by paying the police there anyway.... So whatever u pay them will always go into their pocket.

Ah...yet more tales of the NSHW! Always fraught with danger and unscrupulous cops...but what would we do without it? Mook around on the crowded B roads with no where at which we can stretch the legs of our cars. We have a Love - Hate relationship with that highway, just be prepared for ANYTHING!!

No need to worry brothers. I travel to MY every weekend and till now never been fine by TP if no speeding. Just be careful at 2nd Link between the 1st toll and the 2nd toll. TP will carry out road block after the 2nd block on every Sun evening..

I was traveling back to SG on 20th Jul on NSHW (before Malacca area) when a Golf GTI and a Audi A4 zoomed pass me. Not long after Malacca exit, i saw TP road block and these 2 cars are being flagged down parked by the side. There are several M'sia registered cars too. The TP look at the list of "Potential F1 Candidates" and waved to me to carry on. [sweatdrop]

Through my past experience in 2007, this time I slowed down to 110kph few KMs before Malacca exit...

Till now, I still owed Boleh land a speeding ticket RM300 (now discounted to RM200).

to be very frank....the MY police won't stop u if you don't break the rule...they do kept a eye on sg car breaking their rules....but if you don't....they don't just stop you and say u are speeding when you are not...so to me...it is absolute fine....we break the rule....we pay a price...and a really small one compare to sg....can you get off with SGD25 equivalent in SG at 150km/hr??? I doubt we can....Convenient at a small price... [thumbsup]

absolutely agree on your point.... [thumbsup] the only thing that I am a bit mad is they will hide at those junction where light changes very fast with big potential of people beating the lights...and collect money....I was caught a few times....But what to do....it is my own fault for being impatient...still...a small price to pay for my own mistake....now I don't beat the lights anymore...and i only go 110km/hr on the NSH...My belief now...Slower a little does not matter as long as you ultimately reached the destination safely without having to pay any extra "toll".... [flowerface]

I agree with you that they won't catch you unless you did break the law.

But what I cannot stand is I still got the speeding ticket (seen in their online website) even after I paid RM$200 on the spot. (Road block)

This amounts to double fines..... so in the future, I'll just take the ticket and not give any $$$ to them.

to be very frank....the MY police won't stop u if you don't break the rule...they do kept a eye on sg car breaking their rules....but if you don't....they don't just stop you and say u are speeding when you are not...so to me...it is absolute fine....we break the rule....we pay a price...and a really small one compare to sg....can you get off with SGD25 equivalent in SG at 150km/hr??? I doubt we can....Convenient at a small price... [thumbsup]

Just face it.. If u did wrong, for sure kana fine. Same in singapore. No seatbelt, speeding, use hp.. all for sure kana fine..

From what i know, if you obey the road rules, you wont get fined! NEVER!

But in my honest opinion, i prefer MY TPs than SG's.

At least MY wont kana demerit points.. :)

Just kopi money...

Think about it....

Are they really that bad...?

The time when they stop accepting kopi money is when you all should

start to worry..

Just my 2cent kopi money tot.

i beg to differ.. They can and will catch u regardless of whether you speed a not, and I have tried twice to refuse paying (just act blur), and got away with it. In the 2 trips, once I really 110km/hr all the way, and the 2nd time, I 150km/hr all the way... Both times, i did not had to pay any fines at the exit immigration at JB. I go up to JB weekly when I m not doing long trips.

The whole point i m trying to say in my last post and this is, they are setting up roadblocks to collect $, thats all, if you really did speed, u will feel guilty and thus you would pay. But what are you paying? you are not paying the fine, but their pockets. Officially, SG cars are supposed to settle their fines at immigration b4 u leave Msia. Thus, if they really caught you officially, you were never supposed to compound ur fine on the spot with the police. The real official fine will be more than RM100, but the police themselves also will not want to make it "official". WHY? Bcos they wan to fill their own pockets.