Bike Rack

Kusje

Actually is it legal to put bike racks behind our cars? I heard one of my friends said LTA never clearly define this part, and hence it becomes a "grey" area.....so we just have to make sure the rack is secured properly and won't drop off.

Ehh... not sure on that, but i always remove the rack when not in use coz it's dangerous... i've seen some fellow cyclists commented it's illegal to leave bike rack behind the car when there's no bike

I saw in Giant Tampines a bike rack sellng for $138, brand is Aleoca. Can carry 3 bikes, I think. Is it worth to buy?

I just bought 1 yesterday for $65. Use it today. Carry 2 kids bike. Quite stable though. haha...

$65 is cheap leh! Where you buy it bro?

Serangoon north ave 1 bicycle shop. i can try take a photo if you need.

First use, very scary. Scare hook not stable and when drive, bike might fly off... haha...

Not sure if can drive from jurong to east coast....

Bought one of these cheap bike racks before. For carry kids bike still ok. If carry normal sized bikes try not to go fast. My previous rack the hook broke and the rack almost dropped off while I was driving.

Thanks for sharing.

agree... which is why it's important to check the max weight it can take to judge if it's suitable

I am using Saris 2.

Btw, my plastic knob came off, anyone knows where I can get replacement? The shop I bought does not have any replacement for the knobs.

Does anyone know where I can procure a bike rack(not roof) for my Lancer EX? Is the rack easily detachable and does anyone know the approx price of such a rack?

Also, how safe is it to park the car with a bike attached? Have there been cases of bikes or bike parts being stolen?

Thanks!

I fetch my bike with a cab or hatchback.

I secure the rack with a nylon rope tied to my spoiler (the only object I can tie to outside the car), so that if the hook give way, it won't drop off immediately.

I found that if my car goes over a hump or uneven road surface, the rack will "shake left/right", and the tension comes loose. Once, one of the bottom hook came out (unhooked itself) after going over a few humps in a MSCP.

Speed is max 60km/h even on expressway, and travel on left most lane, just to play safe. And eyes always on my rear view mirror to monitor if the rack show signs of dropping off. I does make my driving a little more stressful than usual, but when we reach our destination and mount up our bikes, we all know its worth the trouble! [:)]

agree... which is why it's important to check the max weight it can take to judge if it's suitable

Problem is some racks don't specify the max weight it can carry. The rack I had doesn't state and I can't find the info on the box also.

So I load max one mid-sized bike (for 8-12yrs old) and one kid bike on my rack. Had intended to load 2 mid-sized bikes onto the rack but decided not to, scare it can't tahan the weight.

Problem is some racks don't specify the max weight it can carry. The rack I had doesn't state and I can't find the info on the box also.

So I load max one mid-sized bike (for 8-12yrs old) and one kid bike on my rack. Had intended to load 2 mid-sized bikes onto the rack but decided not to, scare it can't tahan the weight.

Good luck man. This kind of i only buy from trusted brand.

which is y i paid a little more for a more trusted brand n available specs, and in addition, i have wheel straps to secure the wheels from spinning

I'm looking for child seat that can fit the back of bicycle.

Budget $30 or less. I saw Giant selling for $35!

Any bros have any lobang?

I'm looking for child seat that can fit the back of bicycle.

Budget $30 or less. I saw Giant selling for $35!

Any bros have any lobang?

just $5 buy new la..

Any Bros can help me out here!? I am driving a Honda Odyssey 2009 model. I actually bought a Saris Bones 3 but when installing the bike shop guy said cannot fit cos the spoiler on the hatch with the brake light is very flimsy kind and will not support the rack strap that goes over it.

In this case, anyone know which brand of bike rack can fit the Odyssey? Thanks !!

Any Bros can help me out here!? I am driving a Honda Odyssey 2009 model. I actually bought a Saris Bones 3 but when installing the bike shop guy said cannot fit cos the spoiler on the hatch with the brake light is very flimsy kind and will not support the rack strap that goes over it.

You supposed to hook it on the top opening of the hatch door, not on the spoiler. The strap may go over or under the spoiler but the hook must be on the top of the hatch door.

That is what I do too. In addition, I secure the rack with a rope tied to the spoiler, so if the strap or hook gives way, the rope will hold (at least till I drive to a safe place).