CNG...Anyone regret installing???

Xiao_bai77

what to do???

can't blame them mah...

they coming from a business and commercial point of view....

like running a big company liddat....

need profits to sustain the economy of the country mah....

Well some CNG supporters with heavy mileage/ high fuel expenditure would not regret it as they currently enjoy SOME savings BUT when they try to sell their car and finds out that 8 out of 10 car dealers don't take in CNG cars while the remainng 2 dealers offer super low prices for their CNG rides.Den they would regret getting 1 in the 1st place.

===================

Ah........So that means I can get a really cheap 2nd hand CNG car then. [sly]

Well maybe, just maybe I WILL get a CNG car in the end. [lipsrsealed]

All the CNG cars I see on the road are doing wheelies wherever they go... think the extra weight proves too much for the suspension to handle...

================

Proper factory fitted CNG cars come with stronger rear suspension to cope.

Its the "aftermarket" cars that suffer from "wheelies".

ya lor...

those wheelies cars....

with tank already have this problem...

imagine going out with your family for shopping....5 people in car plus shopping bags!!!

rear tyres will pop out!!

i've heard from most taxi drivers running on CNG that it gives them a lot of problems....

they were saying that every year, they have to go back to bleed the engine or something....

plus the additional weight in the boot takes up space, and dulls driving performance....

that's what they say....

haha...

=============

So even those CNG taxis r still having problems. [:(]

Looks like I may still have to consider a diesel as my next car.

zhun boh???

200km on 15litres of petrol???

15litres of 95Oct for example@$1.78/L is about 8.5litres of petrol

fuel consumption = 200km/ 8.5L = 23.5km/L leh???

you driving Prius issit???

=============

I already say its a Optra estate Auto.

But I run on 97RON petrol. [sly]

My Fc used to b abt 10-11km/lit but nowadays Im getting a constant >13km/lit. [drivingcar]

I have not done an actual calculation on my cost but just a rough estimate based on what Im pumping & FC figures & exchange rate of SGD to RM.

If I had a more fuel efficient car, I wud prob b paying less.

Wish CNG taxis leave most drivers quite unhappy about driving one...

but i don't think it applies to Wish only lah...i think it's across the JDM CNG taxis....

problems wise, only taxi drivers can vouge for themselves lah...

==============

If your car is the one in your avatar, then I think it wud b more worthwhile to convert to CNG. :D

As for most other cars here, I think I wil still prefer petrol for the time being. [sweatdrop]

i wouldn't mind getting a CNG car if they can design the tank to be part of the car rather than an add-on....

they should do it like Mercedes liddat on their E-Class NGT...conceal it properly and not like aftermarket bolt on Yellow Tank in the boot, and didn't bother to conceal it....

=================

Oh so the NGT Merc taxis have the concealed tanks then.

I wonder if I can buy a 2nd hand Merc NGT taxi here & use it as a private car?

Wil the costs b high as I read that these taxis can b bought quite cheaply here.

=================

Oh so the NGT Merc taxis have the concealed tanks then.

I wonder if I can buy a 2nd hand Merc NGT taxi here & use it as a private car?

Wil the costs b high as I read that these taxis can b bought quite cheaply here.

the tank is not concealed into the boot of the E-Class....it's corporated into the car....designed ground up from Deutschland...

so you can't tell that there's a CNG tank in the car....only when you notice the shorter boot depth compared to petrol models....

if you're really interested in the E200NGT, go sgcarmart used car section....

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...d.y=0&AVL=2

what to do???

can't blame them mah...

they coming from a business and commercial point of view....

like running a big company liddat....

need profits to sustain the economy of the country mah....

=============

Er.....Run country like a company? [pirate]

Then when citizens get too old to work, how? Retire(dump) them to old folks homes in JB?

Citizens not making enough $$$ for the gharmen wil b sacked & pink IC taken back? [sweatdrop]

Wah u make some scary comments leh. Is it true SG gharmen run the country like running a business?

Then like that how to prepare for retrenchment? [:(]

ya lor...

those wheelies cars....

with tank already have this problem...

imagine going out with your family for shopping....5 people in car plus shopping bags!!!

rear tyres will pop out!!

============

I wonder if that the reason I see some cars rear sagging even without anybody in the back?

==============

If your car is the one in your avatar, then I think it wud b more worthwhile to convert to CNG. :D

As for most other cars here, I think I wil still prefer petrol for the time being. [sweatdrop]

nope me car is not the Citroen DS lah...

anyways, petrol cars are still the best to drive around...cos diesels are too nose heavy, and the engine noise it makes still cannot beat the sporty revvy nature of petrols....

CNG's on the other hand has a rear heavy design...plus the additional weight of the tank somewhat blunts performance of the car....

the tank is not concealed into the boot of the E-Class....it's corporated into the car....designed ground up from Deutschland...

so you can't tell that there's a CNG tank in the car....only when you notice the shorter boot depth compared to petrol models....

if you're really interested in the E200NGT, go sgcarmart used car section....

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/listing...d.y=0&AVL=2

=============

I glanced at the cars & prices. Not cheap leh?

But I dont think any r ex taxis being sold as private cars.

Im actually looking for an old (5 years) Merc NGT taxi deregistered as a taxi & being sold cheaply as a Pvt car here.

Is there a possibility of getting 1 of these cos I think it wil b much cheaper.

nope me car is not the Citroen DS lah...

anyways, petrol cars are still the best to drive around...cos diesels are too nose heavy, and the engine noise it makes still cannot beat the sporty revvy nature of petrols....

CNG's on the other hand has a rear heavy design...plus the additional weight of the tank somewhat blunts performance of the car....

================

I wouldn't mind the "disadvantages" of a good diesel if only the road tax was more friendly.

All I need is a reliable & cheap form of getting around. Diesel wil suit me fine. If I can get a good limousine using diesel at a good price, can still consider but must wait for gharmen to reduce the crazy road tax for diesel cars 1st. [dizzy]

=============

I glanced at the cars & prices. Not cheap leh?

But I dont think any r ex taxis being sold as private cars.

Im actually looking for an old (5 years) Merc NGT taxi deregistered as a taxi & being sold cheaply as a Pvt car here.

Is there a possibility of getting 1 of these cos I think it wil b much cheaper.

you must understand that COE's for taxis last only 8yrs....

so most probably taxi companies will hold the car for maximum tenure, then scrap or export the car....

they wouldn't want to deregister it here to sell it on to the private car market....

================

I wouldn't mind the "disadvantages" of a good diesel if only the road tax was more friendly.

All I need is a reliable & cheap form of getting around. Diesel wil suit me fine. If I can get a good limousine using diesel at a good price, can still consider but must wait for gharmen to reduce the crazy road tax for diesel cars 1st. [dizzy]

if you can afford a limousine (luxury car), why can't you afford the diesel tax as well???

what are you talking about???

more and more diesel cars are being registered here, ever since more diesel models came into our market....

you must understand that COE's for taxis last only 8yrs....

so most probably taxi companies will hold the car for maximum tenure, then scrap or export the car....

they wouldn't want to deregister it here to sell it on to the private car market....

=============

So not much chance of finding a cheap luxury diesel car to use for personal transport [:(] .

if you can afford a limousine (luxury car), why can't you afford the diesel tax as well???

what are you talking about???

more and more diesel cars are being registered here, ever since more diesel models came into our market....

===========

Actually what I am saying is , if I can find a cheap & good deal on a diesel car & the operating costs r same or less than a normal petrol car, I wud go for it.

I not too particular about the vibrations/noise of a good diesel car as they can b very smooth & quiet also. Maybe only slightly more than a petrol version.

The taxis here might b very noisy & vibrate a lot cos the mechs who work on them r not so good.

I bring to my own mech & do it up till very swee & nice to drive.

But I wil still wait till the RTax on diesels come down somemore. Its way too high now. My mileage I drive is quite low so I cannot recover the high RTaxes with cheap diesel.