Waylaid on the NSHW!! Travellers Beware!!

Hermitage

My friends were victims of a Highway Robbery along the NSHW! Beware all road trippers & travellers!!

They were making a weekend trip to KL last Saturday but never made it there. About 60km from KL, a van swerved right into their path and braked, my friend couldn't brake in time and thus crashed into the rear of the van, which proceeded on it's way as though nothing happened. It is believed that the rear of that van was re-inforced cos the damage was minimal while my friend's ride was quite severe.

post-47957-1248143197_thumb.jpg

Now, when this happened there were vehicles to the left of my friend's car which prevented him from swerving left to avoid the collision. These same vehicles promptly stopped by the accident site to offer "help" and about 10 persons dismounted from the said vehicles. They surrounded my friends and the accident vehicle, offering to tow the car to a workshop, settling insurance claims etc...all in the name of "helping". But I believe if my friends had allowed them to tow the car away, that would be the last they would ever see of it! [shakehead]

Luckily, my friends got help through the proper channels and managed to get the car towed back to Singapore. Even then, a few valuables were discovered to be missing from the car when they finally arrived at IDAC, Singapore. More importantly, nobody was injured and all of them made it back to Singapore alive & well.

We all thought these things can only happen to other people, never to one of us, but this incident is a sobering reminder that this type of thing can happen to anybody at anytime [sweatdrop] !

they have come out with new trick. . .

i heard before they swerve in then jammed break, step out and rob the victims. . . [knife]

now they becoming angels and "help" ar. . . [angel]

situation there getting worse. . . [thumbsdown]

My friends were victims of a Highway Robbery along the NSHW! Beware all road trippers & travellers!!

They were making a weekend trip to KL last Saturday but never made it there. About 60km from KL, a van swerved right into their path and braked, my friend couldn't brake in time and thus crashed into the rear of the van, which proceeded on it's way as though nothing happened. It is believed that the rear of that van was re-inforced cos the damage was minimal while my friend's ride was quite severe.

Now, when this happened there were vehicles to the left of my friend's car which prevented him from swerving left to avoid the collision. These same vehicles promptly stopped by the accident site to offer "help" and about 10 persons dismounted from the said vehicles. They surrounded my friends and the accident vehicle, offering to tow the car to a workshop, settling insurance claims etc...all in the name of "helping". But I believe if my friends had allowed them to tow the car away, that would be the last they would ever see of it! [shakehead]

Luckily, my friends got help through the proper channels and managed to get the car towed back to Singapore. Even then, a few valuables were discovered to be missing from the car when they finally arrived at IDAC, Singapore. More importantly, nobody was injured and all of them made it back to Singapore alive & well.

We all thought these things can only happen to other people, never to one of us, but this incident is a sobering reminder that this type of thing can happen to anybody at anytime [sweatdrop] !

thanks for sharing. Am lucky I didn't encounter this 2 weeks ago..

thats the reason why i have not driven to MY in the last 5 yrs [furious]

maybe next time have to drive a tank in there [gossip]

always like driving to malaaca, and its things like that that makes me stay alert throughout the journey.

thanks for sharing. Am lucky I didn't encounter this 2 weeks ago..

Yeah, me too! Just returned from a trip to Cameron Highlands about 3 weeks ago as well, with everything in order and everyone in one piece! Guess that in itself is a blessing already [sweatdrop] !

Think it's still OK to go up North but will really have to stay alert especially near those large towns & cities. These are the places where crooks like these lurk. Go SLOW, keep LEFT, travel below the speed limit even if it means having to be stuck behind a convoy of lorries!! At least until you're well past the danger areas. Also, try not to travel at night and whenever possible, travel in a Convoy [thumbsup]

In the meantime, Happy (and SAFE!) Driving [drivingcar]

Edited by Hermitage

Did you friend note down the van and cars registration numbers and the make? Good for others to know to pay particular attention to these vehicles.

just keep away from boleh land if possible. i used to travel there @ least once a week. now i seldom even see my passport. there, you'll either get robbed by thugs or extorted by polis.

Did you friend note down the van and cars registration numbers and the make? Good for others to know to pay particular attention to these vehicles.

i dun tink there's much help even if he took down the licence plate. If they come out with such stunts, they'd most probably have swapped their numberplate.

even if it's a legit plate, do u think they're polis will do anything? [sleeping]

when did this happened? me and my friends convoy up to sepang on friday and came back on sunday .

Saturday night mate, around 11pm or so I think. You guys were probably getting comfy in your hotels by then [sleeping]

Was thinking of driving to Kluang or Batu Pahat for a short trip over some weekends. Hope it is not so bad.

I am driving an old jalopy, I don't think they will be interested anyway.

The risk factor is ten fold when you travel at night.

I think NSH is relatively safe during daytime, minus the occasional kopi tips if you opt to speed.

Saturday night mate, around 11pm or so I think. You guys were probably getting comfy in your hotels by then [sleeping]