Only son will not go military vocation>?

Kelpie

Hi all,

Wanted to find out if among your siblings, all gave birth to girls except one of them only managed to have one son, can he be exempted for military vocation during NS? Hear-say that for such situation, this son will be automatically admitted to police force for NS, is this really true?

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Only son here.

Vocation: Fire Fighter...

Hi all,

Wanted to find out if among your siblings, all gave birth to girls except one of them only managed to have one son, can he be exempted for military vocation during NS? Hear-say that for such situation, this son will be automatically admitted to police force for NS, is this really true?

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

nah... it's not true. I've a couple of friends who are the only son in the family. Two of them are even the only child in the family. But still they got posted to CDO or GDS.

Hi all,

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Sorry to disappoint but even if u "only son+only child" also will go into SAF Combat unit, handle dangerous equipments/weapons and chiong mountains

haha. . . [rolleyes]

you wish. . . i am one living example of only son+only child. . .

just finish my 1st ICT last month. . . .

dun say combat unit only. . . i kena dumped in an "elite infantry" unit. . . lan lan ready to strike . . .[lipsrsealed]

my fren same situation as me, kena dumped in Commandos. . .

i can only say. . .

TKK lor. . . [sweatdrop]

Edited by Xtravagant

Hi all,

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Hogwash!

I have 1 son and 2 daughters.

Son is currently serving NS in a military vocation.

Hi all,

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

No such thing. I'm only son too.

Hi all,

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Wah low......why worry such things? Why not just don't bear any sons then don't have to worry at all

wah... many camp mates here.

For Hornour and Glory!!! [laugh]

Alrite!! Seriously, all vocations got its risk. That is why there are procedures and SOP to mitigate the risks. I remembered my mum freaking out when I told her I need to do parachuting and she wanted me to get myself out of Hendon Camp, even wanted me to see MP! But I managed to convince her otherwise, short of telling her that it cannot be done. Nevertheless, an unforgetable and fulfilling 2.5 years if you ask me.

I also don't know how they choose people for SPF. I'm the elder son, I kenna Army combat vocation. My younger brother kenna police force. He dman lucky.

But true that police force does not mean less danger, just more relaxed training. Fail IPPT also never mind during his time. But then, have to be faced with real life situations. People call police they have to go down to handle. One time even got to investigate a dead body wrapped in black plastic bag. It was decomposed with maggots and he said the stink was unbearable, really make him wanna puke and it lingers in his nose even after he left the scene. BTW, that dead body turned out to be a dead dog....he cursed and swear to have to go thru that stink over a dead dog. haha

Alrite!! Seriously, all vocations got its risk. That is why there are procedures and SOP to mitigate the risks. I remembered my mum freaking out when I told her I need to do parachuting and she wanted me to get myself out of Hendon Camp, even wanted me to see MP! But I managed to convince her otherwise, short of telling her that it cannot be done. Nevertheless, an unforgetable and fulfilling 2.5 years if you ask me.

haha.. my mum is the reverse reaction.

going to hendon and receive tough training. good!!! thought she is worry of safety.

luckily, after 2.5years and 8 years reservist i still in 1 pc!! [thumbsup]

It is high-time that Singaporean women gets conscripted into NS.

Some woman-biased NGO like AWARE seems to only know how to fight for own little petty genders rather then fighting for their duty in NS.

Israeli women earn that right-full respect since 1948.

41.jpg

i got 4 sisters and they sent me to combat engineers. but if i had 4 brothers, they'll send me to Kamikaze squad so its better afterall.

i can see the thread evolving from if the only "son" in the family needs to serve in combat vocations to if the females should be consrcipted... [:p]