Only son will not go military vocation>?

Kelpie

Hi all,

Wanted to find out if among your siblings, all gave birth to girls except one of them only managed to have one son, can he be exempted for military vocation during NS? Hear-say that for such situation, this son will be automatically admitted to police force for NS, is this really true?

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Birth replacement rate here is about 1.8 per couple? Half that for gender and you get 0.9. Almost every boy born here is the only son. What do you think? [laugh]

DREAM ON, did not happen to me leh, maybe im not a white horse

So you're the only son of the family and in addition your parent's siblings all do not have a son?

Regards,

Birth replacement rate here is about 1.8 per couple? Half that for gender and you get 0.9. Almost every boy born here is the only son. What do you think? [laugh]

In that case, what decide who go military vocation or the police force? Just curious.

Regards,

I don't think there is such a rule..

If so, there will be very few soldiers left in SAF camps..

A bit OOT. Be a man and just serve your national service, somemore now only two years... [:p]

Hi all,

Wanted to find out if among your siblings, all gave birth to girls except one of them only managed to have one son, can he be exempted for military vocation during NS? Hear-say that for such situation, this son will be automatically admitted to police force for NS, is this really true?

Anyone know about this?

Regards,

Please .... for those only son is spoilt enough at home .... how could the only chance that their character can be moulded is deprived from them?

my friend is only son..kena air force tech..

at first, he kena commando interview, but the moment he tell the interviewer that he's the only son, they rejected him liao..

Please .... for those only son is spoilt enough at home .... how could the only chance that their character can be moulded is deprived from them?

I think almost all children are spolit these days lah.... [laugh].

Regards,

my friend is only son..kena air force tech..

at first, he kena commando interview, but the moment he tell the interviewer that he's the only son, they rejected him liao..

Yap, I heard about these "hear-say" too, like being posted to less siong unit and etc but there seem to be no basis. I even heard of parents meeting MPs to get their only Son to do NSF in Police force. Just want to know whether there are somet truth to this. Again, like what some have said here, eligable male for NS seems to be getting lesser in this fine city.

Regards,

I don't think there is such a rule..

If so, there will be very few soldiers left in SAF camps..

A bit OOT. Be a man and just serve your national service, somemore now only two years... [:p]

There are indeed lesser and lesser soldiers, it used to be 9 in a section and then 7 and I wonder when this is going less further.

Regards,

dream on...

remember during my years.. oso gone thru the interview and IQ test. only son with my sister oso went in!!

my platoon mate only child oso went in.

that was 15 years ago!!! depend on luck and ur fitness report lah..

There are indeed lesser and lesser soldiers, it used to be 9 in a section and then 7 and I wonder when this is going less further.

Regards,

Haaaaaa...

Few years down the road maybe 1 men (carrying M2O3, Sawgun, etc.) = 1 section. *kiddin'.. [laugh]

Haaaaaa...

Few years down the road maybe 1 men (carrying M2O3, Sawgun, etc.) = 1 section. *kiddin'.. [laugh]

Machiam like OMO. I think it should be possible to go for 5 and then 3 in a section. 1 is just too lonely and SAF always talk about buddy system [laugh].

Regards,

My friend is the only son in the family, got 3 elder sisters, enlisted into commando camp to be trained as commando. What do you think now?